LibGuides: Government Datasets, Statistical Data &amp; Census Information: Government Datasets, Statistical Data & Information

Welcome to the Government Datasets and Statistical Data Information Guide. This comprehensive resource aims to assist researchers and casual users by providing access to raw data collected or generated by various U.S. Government agencies and select International Agencies across a diverse range of topics.

To start, let's clarify some key concepts:

Data Set (or Dataset): A dataset is a structured collection of data points or observations. A dataset typically corresponds to one or more database tables in tabular data. In such tables, each column represents a specific variable or attribute, while each row corresponds to a particular record or observation within the dataset. Datasets can encompass various information, ranging from demographic statistics to economic indicators.

Data Collection involves gathering and compiling data from various sources or through specific methods. This process is fundamental to research and analysis, laying the groundwork for generating insights and conclusions. Data collection methods can include surveys, experiments, observations, administrative records, and more. By meticulously collecting relevant information, researchers can address specific research questions or objectives with accuracy and rigor.

Statistical Data Analysis: Statistical data analysis is a systematic procedure involving applying various statistical operations to quantify, analyze, and interpret data. It is a form of quantitative research that seeks to uncover patterns, relationships, and trends within the data. Statistical analysis enables researchers to make informed decisions and draw meaningful conclusions based on empirical evidence. This process typically involves descriptive statistics to summarize data characteristics and inferential statistics to make predictions or inferences about populations based on sample data.

Quantitative Data: Quantitative data encompasses numerical information that can be measured and analyzed using statistical methods. This data type includes surveys, observational, experimental, and other forms of quantitative research. Quantitative data provides valuable insights into various fields by quantifying phenomena and relationships, including social sciences, economics, health, and more.

This guide aims to facilitate access to government datasets and statistical data, empowering users to explore, analyze, and draw insights from a wealth of information. Whether you're a researcher, student, policymaker, or curious individual, this resource is a gateway to valuable data sources for informed decision-making and exploration.

Note: This guide provides a starting point for research using datasets and statistics. It's dynamic so that links may change over time. If you find a broken link, please email govinfo@fau.edu so it can be fixed. Suggestions for free datasets are welcome in the same email. Thank you for helping improve this resource.

Need data right now? These sources can get you large, clean datasets quickly!

2023 Ultimate Guide: 90+ Free Datasets for Data Science Data science projects start with quality data. You’ve heard it before: garbage in, garbage out. Fortunately, there’s a wealth of free datasets online, from governmental and economic data to narrower topics like MLB stats and video game sales. Whether you’re putting together a data science project to land a job or just want to brush up on your SQL or data analyst skills, we’ve selected some of our favorite sources of free data and useful datasets you can use for your next project.
Crime Data Explorer The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy with the result of a safer nation. Use the CDE to discover available data through visualizations, download data in .csv format, and other large data files.
Data.gov Public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Dataset Repositories (U.S. Library of Congress) atasets are listed here as potential sources for data science or machine learning projects. Time series are available for most economic, business, census, and demographic statistics. For additional sources of datasets, see also the Business Reference Services guide on Data sets (BeOnline). The Library of Congress makes these two datasets freely available to researcher and analysts. By the People Data Sets Transcription data was created from completed By the People campaigns is available here in bulk as zipped .csv files. Web Archive Datasets The Library of Congress Web Archives provides users with derivative datasets for users to download, re-use and explore.
Datasets By Kaggle Kaggle is like a treasure trove of data for data scientists and enthusiasts. It’s a place where you can find datasets for all sorts of projects, from machine learning to natural language processing to image recognition. And it’s not just about the data — Kaggle also has a lively community of people who are always happy to share their knowledge and help others learn.
Data USA Data USA puts public US Government data in your hands. Instead of searching through multiple data sources that are often incomplete and difficult to access, our platform provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge.
Environmental Justice Data Catalog (NASA) NASA Earth science data are available without restriction and are an invaluable resource for exploring Earth’s natural processes. When combined with socioeconomic data about race, ethnicity, poverty, and health, these observations can help better identify vulnerable populations and support environmental justice. Environmental justice refers to the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people, regardless of race, color, national origin, or income, in the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies.
Eurostat Our mission is to provide high-quality statistics and data on Europe.
Nasdaq Data Link Nasdaq Data Link is used by analysts from the world’s top hedge funds, asset managers, and investment banks. Yes, you can find any financial and market-related datasets on this platform. This platform consists of both free and paid datasets in various formats. This platform helps many organizations solve their business problems and boost them with the help of data.
NOAA's Weather and Climate Data Guide by NOAA linking to datasets and climate reports (land-based stations, satallite, radal, modelling, weather balloons, marine/ocean, paleoclimatology, and severe weather).
Open Data By World Health Organization WHO is the best platform to get free data related to world health statistics in any particular domain. You can easily use this data to build exceptional resume projects. You can have datasets of 194 countries in the world and can access thousands of dataset repositories for free.
OpenFEMA Data Sets This page is intended to be a one stop shop for OpenFEMA—FEMA’s data delivery platform which provides datasets to the public in open, industry standard, machine-readable formats. Datasets are available in multiple formats, including downloadable files and through an easily digestible Application Programming Interface (API). Each page includes information about the specific dataset, links to downloadable files, a data dictionary describing each field, and an endpoint link (if applicable for those datasets available via the API).
ResearchDataGov ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies.
UCI Machine Learning Repository Large, open-access datasets designed for machine learning projects. Allows searching by number of rows and columns.
UNCIEF Open Data UNICEF is a global organization that mainly focuses on children, women, maternal health, education, and more. You can easily tell what kind of diverse datasets you will be getting from this platform. It is the world’s leading source of data on children and women and maintains databases of hundreds of international valid and comparable indicators.
USA Facts Our nation, in numbers GOVERNMENT DATA TO DRIVE FACT-BASED DISCUSSION

Attribution

This Library Guide was developed using a template from SUNY Geneseo, originally created by Bonnie Swoger and Justina Elmore. It is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Any part of it may be used as long as credit is included. Derivative works can be licensed under Creative Commons to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.

Last updated on Apr 16, 2024 11:22 AM