LibGuides: Government Datasets, Statistical Data &amp; Census Information: Criminal Justice & Law

Criminal justice and law datasets compile a wealth of information crucial for understanding legal systems, crime trends, and justice outcomes. These datasets encompass data on crime rates, law enforcement activities, court proceedings, and incarceration statistics. Researchers, policymakers, and legal professionals utilize these datasets to analyze patterns in criminal behavior, evaluate the effectiveness of justice policies, and inform evidence-based decision-making.

Access to criminal justice and law datasets facilitates transparency in legal proceedings, promotes accountability within the justice system, and supports efforts to address systemic issues such as racial disparities and recidivism. Additionally, these datasets serve as valuable resources for educators, students, and advocacy groups seeking to understand and advocate for reforms in criminal justice practices.

By optimizing access to criminal justice and law datasets, we empower stakeholders to drive positive change, enhance public safety, and promote fairness and equity within the legal system.

Arrest Data Analysis Tool This dynamic data analysis tool allows you to generate tables and graphs of arrests for the 30-year period from 1980 forward. You can view national arrest estimates, customized either by age and sex or by age group and race, for many different offenses. This tool also enables you to view local arrests.
BJS - Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center Information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.
Bureau of Justice Assistance Includes National Youth Gang Survey Analysis - analysis and findings from the ongoing National Youth Gang Surveys of law enforcement. Numerous charts and descriptions are provided as a resource for understanding gang problems
Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool Provides crime data by institution or groups of institutions. Group data available as downloaded data files.
Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Data Sets This is a small but growing collection of data sets related to juvenile offending, victimization, and the juvenile justice system.
Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Datasets An online resource for researchers that is intended as an aid to investigations of juvenile offending, victimization, and contact with the juvenile justice system. It both publicizes data sources that users may find valuable and provides information intended to help with the practical aspects of obtaining and analyzing data.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 6.2 billion data sets from more than 70 source organizations. The over two billion time series in Data-Planet provides immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary. Data-Planet includes statistics related to crime and capital punishment.
Data.gov (Crime) 356 datasets found pertaining to "Crime".
Data.gov (Criminal Justice) 703 datasets found for "Criminal Justice"
Data.Gov (Incarceration) 154 datasets found for "incarceration"
Data.world (Crime) There are 259 crime datasets available on data.world.
Data Sets On and Related to Violence Against Women A list was developed by the National Resource Center on Domestic Violence (NRCDV) in collaboration with the National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC) to serve as a resource for advocates and others concerned about safety and justice for women and their children.
Dealth Penalty Information Center Offers analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment.
FBI Uniform Crime Reports Uniform Crime Reports - The Uniform Crime Reports (from the FBI) are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
Federal Bureau of Investigation Crime Data Explorer The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy with the result of a safer nation. Use the CDE to discover available data through visualizations, download data in .csv format, and other large data files.
Hall of Justice A searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research.
Law Enforcement, Bureau of Justice Statistics Provides summary findings, statistical publications, csv files and data sets (variety of formats,e.g. SPSS, SAS, tab delimited) for following topics: local police; sheriff's offices; federal, tribal & campus law enforcement; forensics; police-public contact; arrest related deaths and community policing.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator-initiated research projects to users for secondary statistical analysis.
National Crime Victimization Survey NCVS is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data on the frequency, characteristics, and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 90,000 households, comprising nearly 160,000 persons (From the Bureau of Justice Statistics website).
National Juvenile Court Data Archive (NCJJ) NCJJ houses records of cases handled by courts with juvenile jurisdiction. Data may be printed in table form or downloaded as a CSV file.
New York Criminal Justice Statistics Contains data on crime and victimization, arrests, dispositions, law enforcement personnel, and more.
Office of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention -- Statistical Briefing Book Provides access to data analysis tools and data sets for a wide range of juvenile justice statistics.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Contains statistics for Criminal Justice Characteristics, Public Opinion, "Crime, Victims," "Arrests, Seizures," "Courts, Prosecution, Sentencing," and "Parole, Jails, Prisons, Death Penalty."
U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics Collects, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
U.S Bureau of Prisons Focus is on unpublished, operationally-oriented materials developed by correctional agencies.
United Nations - Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Some of the statistics available include: -InfoNation -International statistics on crime and criminal justice -RAS online database -UNODC crime and criminal justice statistics -Studies on Drugs and Crime -World Drug Report
US Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) Includes statistics on violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products.
US Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) - Statistics
US Federal Courts- Statistics and Reports Information related to the work of the U.S. courts.
US National Institute of Justice (NIJ) Works with international researchers, other U.S. government agencies, and foreign governments to assist with its mission to add value to federal, state and local criminal justice.
US Sentencing Commission- Annual Reports and Sourcebooks of Federal Sentencing Statistics Data from documents submitted by the courts in each case in which a defendant is sentenced.
US State Department
World Prison Brief An online database provides free access to information on prison systems worldwide.

Last updated on Apr 16, 2024 11:22 AM