LibGuides: Government Datasets, Statistical Data &amp; Census Information: Environment

Environment datasets compile vast information about the natural world, ecosystems, and environmental factors. These datasets encompass air quality, water quality, biodiversity, climate patterns, land use, and pollution levels, among other indicators. Environmental scientists, policymakers, conservationists, and researchers rely on these datasets to monitor ecological changes, assess the impact of human activities on ecosystems, and develop strategies for environmental conservation and sustainability. By analyzing environmental datasets, stakeholders can identify environmental trends, predict ecological outcomes, and inform decision-making processes to mitigate environmental degradation and promote ecosystem resilience. Additionally, these datasets facilitate cross-disciplinary research, international collaboration on environmental issues, and the development of innovative solutions to global environmental challenges. Accessible and transparent environmental data is crucial in raising awareness about environmental issues, promoting environmental stewardship, and fostering a collective commitment to preserving our planet for future generations.

All data related to environmental accounts (Office of National Statistics) This resource and data are based in the U.K. There are 97 datasets.
Aquastat (FAO) UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) global water information system
CDC’s One-Stop Shop for Environmental Public Health Data (Center for Disease Control) Through its work in Environmental Public Health Tracking, CDC has realized that there is a need for a centralized Web site where people interested in environmental public health can readily access environmental or health data sets on the Internet. This Web site provides a reference list of nationally funded data systems that have a relationship to environmental public health. This list is not meant to be a comprehensive inventory. Rather, it highlights the major data systems with a national scope where public health and environmental data can be directly downloaded from the Internet.
Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.
Climate Data Online: Dataset Discovery (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) Click on each dataset name to expand and view more details. Information generally includes a description of each dataset, links to related tools, FTP access, and downloadable samples.
Earth Policy Institute Data Center Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, society, natural systems, climate, energy, transportation, food & agriculture, and economy & policy.
Environmental Data: Public Environmental Data (Through Yale) A collection of data resources curated through Yale University.
Environmental Data Initiative (EDI) Data sets curated from projects funded by NSF Divison of Environmental Biology.
Environmental Dataset Gateway (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) The Environmental Dataset Gateway allows access to EPA's Open Data resources. You can find metadata, information describing the characteristics of data, on geospatial and non-geospatial resources (e.g., data, Web services, or tools) through Data.gov. Data.gov is the United States government's open data website. It allows you to find data from agencies across the federal government. Data.gov allows users to search data using many fields (places, topics, etc.). EPA information and tools are linked below.
Environmental Indicators (United Nations Statistics Division) UNSD Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources.
Forest Ecology Monitoring Cooperative FEMC is a repository for data collected and used by academic, governmental and non-profit partners in the Northeast United States Region.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Data (IPCC) Provides climate, socio-economic and environmental data, both from the past and also in scenarios projected into the future.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications EPA's National Service Center for Environment publications
Natural Resources Datasets ( U.S. Department of Agriculture) Federal Statistical and Resource Agencies along with universities produce a wide range of geospatial datasets characterizing the nation’s natural resources. Major data set themes include soils, water, climate, energy, and crop and forest production. This section provides links and descriptions to key data sources in these areas.
NOAA's Ocean data With data about Tides and Currents, Nautical Charts, Harmful Algal Blooms, Sea Level Rise, and more
NOAA's Weather and Climate Data Guide by NOAA linking to datasets and climate reports (land-based stations, satallite, radal, modelling, weather balloons, marine/ocean, paleoclimatology, and severe weather).
Northeast Regional Climate Center (NRCC) The mission of the Northeast Regional Climate Center is to facilitate and enhance the collection, dissemination and use of climate data and information, as well as to monitor and assess climatic conditions and impacts in the twelve-state, northeastern region of the United States.
Universities Allied for Water Research - CUAHSI Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. is a NSF funded project to provide infrastructure for national and international research on water resources, including a data portal.
UN Water Statistics (SDG 6) United Nations agency providing data on fresh water issues around the globe.
World Resources Institute Datasets Provides datasets, maps, data visualizations, charts, and graphs on environmental issues.

Last updated on Apr 16, 2024 11:22 AM