Demographics - Socio Statistics - Government Datasets, Statistical Data & Census Information

Demographic-socio datasets encapsulate a wealth of information about human populations, covering a broad spectrum of socio-economic indicators, demographic characteristics, and behavioral patterns. These datasets serve as invaluable resources for researchers, policymakers, businesses, and stakeholders seeking insights into population dynamics, societal trends, and disparities. They encompass diverse data points such as age, gender, income, education, employment, housing, health, and cultural preferences. By analyzing and interpreting these datasets, users can uncover correlations, identify emerging trends, and make informed decisions in areas ranging from public health to urban planning to marketing strategies. Furthermore, demographic-socio datasets play a pivotal role in addressing societal challenges, informing policy formulation, and driving evidence-based interventions to foster inclusive growth and improve communities' well-being. With advancements in data collection methods and technology, these datasets continue to evolve, offering ever-expanding opportunities for exploration, analysis, and impactful decision-making.

2020 Census Downloadable Files 2020 census data available for users who want to download the set of detailed tables for all of the geographies within a state and run their own analysis and rankings. Also see other Census Data organized by Decade.
American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).
Child Welfare These resources provide State and national statistics on child and family well-being indicators, such as health, child care, education, income, and marriage.
Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source (CEDDS) Historical, current and projected socioeconomic data for the United States, regions, and counties. Find info on population by age and race, employment by industry, earnings of employees by industry, personal income by source, households by income bracket and retail sales by kind of business. (1970-2050).
Current Population Survey (CPS) Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States
Data.gov Public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Disability Statistics Major statistical data sources on disability
DoD PERSONNEL AND MILITARY CASUALTY STATISTICS Military casualty data and Active Duty military/civilian personnel statistics by rank/grade, service totals, service by Region/Country.
Enron e-mail corpus Database of over 600,000 emails generated by 158 employees of the Enron Corporation and acquired by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission during its investigation after the company's collapse. 34.6 KiB download
Florida Data At Your Fingertips BEBR Produces Florida’s Official State And Local Population Estimates And Projections. These estimates and projections are used for distributing state revenue-sharing dollars to cities and counties in Florida and for budgeting, planning, and policy analysis by state and local government agencies, businesses, researchers, the media, and members of the general public.
General Social Survey The NSFH was designed to provide a broad range of information on family life to serve as a resource for research across disciplinary perspectives. A considerable amount of life-history information was collected, including: the respondent's family living arrangements in childhood, departures and returns to the parental home, and histories of marriage, cohabitation, education, fertility, and employment. The design permits the detailed description of past and current living arrangements and other characteristics and experiences, as well as the analysis of the consequences of earlier patterns on current states, marital and parenting relationships, kin contact, and economic and psychological well-being. Interviews were conducted in 1987-88, 1992-94, and 2001-2003.
HUD Data Sets The Housing and Urban Development's Office of Policy Development and Research offers several data sets, including ones in a machine-readable format.
Human Development Report (UNDP) Data related to development: literacy, health, poverty, income inequality, climate change, crime, population, and more.
IPUMS Online Data Analysis System IPUMS-International is an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples. The data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facillitate comparative research. IPUMS-International makes these data available to qualified researchers free of charge through a web dissemination system.
Kids Count Data Book Assesses child well-being nationally via 16 key indicators 1990-present
Links to World Statistics Click on "International Statistical Links" to retrieve an A-Z country list with national statistical bureau links attached.
Mexican Migration Project Gathers social and economic information on Mexican-US migration.
Minnesota Population Center Search, customize and download datasets for national and international variables.
National Center for Children in Poverty The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.
National Centre for Social Research Data and research studies cover all areas of social policy in the UK.
National Survey of Families and Households The NSFH was designed to provide a broad range of information on family life to serve as a resource for research across disciplinary perspectives. A considerable amount of life-history information was collected, including: the respondent's family living arrangements in childhood, departures and returns to the parental home, and histories of marriage, cohabitation, education, fertility, and employment. The design permits the detailed description of past and current living arrangements and other characteristics and experiences, as well as the analysis of the consequences of earlier patterns on current states, marital and parenting relationships, kin contact, and economic and psychological well-being. Interviews were conducted in 1987-88, 1992-94, and 2001-2003.
Office of Immigration Statistics Compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).
Oxford Poverty & Human Development Initiative Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.
PovcalNet PovcalNet is an interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world, including the $1 a day poverty measures.
Property Taxes By State A property tax is a municipal tax levied by counties, cities, or special tax districts on most types of real estate - including homes, businesses, and parcels of land. The amount of property tax owed depends on the appraised fair market value of the property, as determined by the property tax assessor. Because the calculations used to determine property taxes vary widely from county to county, the best way to compare property taxes on a large scale is by using aggregate data. On Tax-Rates.org, our data allows you to compare property taxes across states and counties by median property tax in dollars, median property tax as percentage of home value, and several other benchmarks. You can use the property tax map above to view the relative yearly property tax burden across the United States, measured as percentage of home value. To estimate your yearly property tax in any county based on these statistics, you can use our property tax calculator. To find more detailed property tax statistics for your area, find your county in the list on your state's page.
State Economic Development Sites Information from state & local governments concerning the business environment and incentives for locating in a given area. (GEB 3213)
State Tax Rates Report on various state taxes, such as corporate and personal income taxes, from the Federation of Tax Administrators. (GEB 3213)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012) Broad array of statistics from the nation which ceased publication in 2012 but is continued by ProQuest database.
U.S. Census - Explore Census Data tool Provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing, and businesses.
U.S. State Rankings U.S. News & World Report
United Nations Data Provides access to 34 databases on many topics including trade, tourism, population, economics, and health
United Nations Development Programme UNDP is the United Nations' global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life.
World Bank A compilation of international development indicators and socio-economic data.
World Data Atlas Wide variety of statistics on topics including population, economics, education, environment, human rights, and much more
World Development Report Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.
The World Factbook The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Last updated on Dec 18, 2024 11:56 AM