LibGuides: Government Datasets, Statistical Data &amp; Census Information: Art & Music

Art, music, and humanities datasets offer a treasure trove of information, spanning creative works, historical records, and cultural artifacts. These datasets provide valuable insights into human expression and cultural evolution, enabling researchers, artists, and enthusiasts to explore and analyze diverse aspects of creativity and society. Key components include information about artworks, musical compositions, literary works, and cultural practices.

Researchers utilize these datasets to study artistic trends, analyze cultural shifts, and explore the intersections between creativity and society. Access to these resources fosters interdisciplinary collaborations, supports evidence-based research, and enhances cultural preservation efforts. Additionally, these datasets serve as invaluable resources for educators and students seeking to deepen their understanding of human expression and creativity. By optimizing access to art, music, and humanities datasets, we empower individuals and organizations to unlock new insights, inspire innovation, and promote a deeper appreciation for the rich tapestry of human culture.

Artnome Artnome has numerous links to large open research datasets on art collections. This includes the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), The Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Tate Collection, Carnegie Museum of Art, Nationalmuseum Stockholm, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, and Yale Center for British Arts.
Arts and Culture ( U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis) The Arts and Cultural Production Satellite Account released today by the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) shows that arts and cultural economic activity.
CompMusic Music datasets created by CompMusic at Universitat Pompeu Fabra. Datasets are on topics such as Indian Art Music, Turkish Makam Music, and Beijing Opera.
Data.Gov (Arts & Music) The ARts and Cultural Production Satellite Account highlights the economic impact of music groups, museums, photography, and more, Sixteen datasets pertaining to the arts.
Data.Gov (Music Datasets) Ten datasets were found in the area of music.
data.world (Art Datasets) There are 63 art datasets available on data. World.
Data.world (Music Datasets) There are 67 music datasets available on data.world.
Getty Provenance Index (GPI) The Getty Provenance Index provides access to archival inventories, sales catalogs, and dealer stock books. There is also a database of collectors’ files, a database on payments to artists, and a database containing descriptions and provenances of paintings created before 1900, which were held in Great Britain and the United States from 1500 to 1990.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art You can download, share, modify, and distribute the data for any purpose, including commercial and noncommercial use, free of charge.
Music Datasets: 1950-2019 (Kaggle) This dataset provides a list of lyrics from 1950 to 2019 describing music metadata as sadness, danceability, loudness, acoustics, etc. The authors also give some information as lyrics, which can be used for natural language processing.
National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture The National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC) is a repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations, and sharing those data with researchers, policymakers, people in the arts and culture field, and the general public.
National Endowment for the Arts Publicly Available Data Sources - a list of publicly accessible data sources that include arts-related variables
National Gallery of Art Open Access at the National Gallery of Art. Our open data program is a natural extension of the National Gallery’s mission: to welcome all people to explore and experience art, creativity, and our shared humanity. We aim to make as much data as possible available to as many people as possible, in support of research, teaching, and personal enrichment. We believe that increased access to factual data about works of art fuels knowledge, scholarship, and innovation, inspiring uses that transform the way we discover and understand the world of art.
The New York Philharmonic Open Data In support of open data, the Shelby White & Leon Levy Digital Archives Metadata Dataset and The Complete New York Philharmonic Subscribers Dataset has been made open to the public.
Public Art Archive Increase visibility for your collection and contribute to making public art more public! The Public Art Archive provides free and low-cost resources for the public art field.

Humanities

Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America This archive has free access to original historical linguistic data from 400 indigenous languages. You do need to register if you want to download files.
British Library Datasets Includes ZIP files of the British National Bibliography, as well as Open RDF/XML data on the British National Bibliography, British Library Integrated Catalogue (Books), and British Library printed music. Finally, there are numerous history datasets (i.e., Black History Month, Magna Carta, Women’s rights, etc.), literature datasets (datasets focused on famous authors), music datasets (i.e., History of Music), and other datasets (i.e., National parks, Theology, etc.).
Caselaw Access Project (CAP) Created by Harvard University’s Library Innovation Lab, the Caselaw Access Project (CAP) has 360 years of United States caselaw, and access to API and Bulk Data Service.
Digital Humanities Toychest A collection of digital humanities resources curated by Alan Liu. Includes collections and datasets.
Early English Books Online A collection of fully searchable and SGML/XML-encoded texts corresponding with the Early English Books online. Data created by partnership with ProQuest and more than 150 libraries.
Early Novels Database (END) The END project generates high-quality metadata about novels published between 1660 and 1850 in order to make early works of fiction more available to both traditional and computational modes of humanistic study.
EarlyPrint A collaborative effort by Northwestern University and Washington University in St. Louis to transform the early English print record, from 1473 to the early 1700s, into a linguistically annotated and deeply searchable text corpus.
GDELT: A Global Database of Society GDELT monitors print, broadcast, and web news media in over 100 languages from across every country in the world to keep continually updated on breaking developments everywhere on the planet.
HTRC Derived Datasets Metadata representing the curated collection of HathiTrust volumes. Datasets include NovelTM Datasets for English-Language Fiction, 1700-2009, Word Frequencies in English-Language Literature, 1700-1922, and Geographic Locations in English-Language Literature, 1701-2011.
HumanitiesData.com A collection of publicly available humanities datasets.
Journal of Open Humanities Data This peer-reviewed journal describes humanities research objects with high potential for reuse. These might include curated resources like (annotated) linguistic corpora, ontologies, and lexicons, as well as databases, maps, atlases, linked data objects, and other datasets created with qualitative, quantitative, or computational methods.
Library of Congress Web Archive Datasets Derivative datasets of the Library of Congress Web Archives. Includes, but is not limited to, datasets on the United States Elections Web Archive, the American Folklife Center’s Web Cultures Web Archive, and the Webcomics Web Archive.
Melanie Walsh Collection of Datasets A growing repository of datasets related to culture and the humanities. Notable datasets include one on African American Literature, Colonial South Asian Literature, txtLAB’s Multilingual Novels, U.S. Inaugural Addresses, Refugee Arrivals to the U.S. from 2005-2015, etc.
Natural Language Processing (NLP) Datasets List of natural language processing datasets which can be found on GitHub.
Oxford Text Archive (OTA) A repository of full-text literary and linguistic resources. Includes thousands of texts in more than 25 languages.
Philosophy Data Project A data project focused on using modern data analysis techniques to great texts in the history of philosophy. Current corpus has over 50 texts and 30 authors.
TalkBank TalkBank is the world’s largest open access integrated repository for spoken language data. It provides language corpora and other audio resources to support researchers in Psychology, Linguistics, Education, Computer Science, and Speech Pathology.
UCLA Phonetics Lab Archive This archive possesses recordings from more than 200 languages.
World-Historical Dataverse Created by the World History Center at the University of Pittsburgh, the World-Historical Dataverse possesses links to many datasets connected to history all over the world.

Last updated on Apr 16, 2024 11:22 AM