LibGuides: Government Datasets, Statistical Data &amp; Census Information: Economic & Employment

National economic, monetary, country, and regional datasets provide comprehensive insights into nations' and regions' financial health, economic performance, and developmental trends worldwide. These datasets encompass various indicators, including gross domestic product (GDP), inflation rates, employment figures, trade balances, monetary policy metrics, and regional economic disparities. They are indispensable tools for policymakers, economists, investors, and businesses seeking to understand macroeconomic dynamics, assess investment opportunities, and formulate informed strategies. By analyzing these datasets, stakeholders can identify patterns, forecast trends, and gauge the impact of policy decisions on economies at various levels—national, regional, and global. Moreover, these datasets facilitate cross-country comparisons, enabling benchmarking and best practice identification to drive sustainable growth and development. With real-time data and advanced analytical tools available, national economic and regional datasets play a crucial role in shaping economic policies, fostering international cooperation, and promoting inclusive prosperity.

Budget of the U.S. Government The Budget of the United States Government, issued by the Office of Management and Budget, is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President’s budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Census Bureau Economic Programs Census Bureau Economic Programs provides access to the U.S. Census Bureau’s Economic Census, Economic Indicators, and other economic programs by geography, sector, topic and frequency. The U.S. Census Bureau serves as the leading source of data about the people and economy of the United States. In addition to taking a census of the population every 10 years, the Census Bureau conducts censuses of economic activity and state and local governments every five years. The Census Bureau conducts more than 100 other surveys every year.
Climate Analysis Indicators Tool The Climate Analysis Indicators Tool (CAIT) is an information and analysis tool on global climate change developed by the World Resources Institute. CAIT provides a comprehensive and comparable database of greenhouse gas emissions data (including all major sources and sinks) and other climate-relevant indicators. Registration required.
Comparative Income Taxation Database "Consists of yearly data on the top marginal income tax rate for a legal individual, and includes the amount from which the top marginal rate applies, what law governs the taxation, and the source of this information (law or consulted literature). The sample included in the data set consists of 20 countries. The time period covered for each country is 1800 (or independence) to 2010. A country is considered to have adopted a modern income tax system if an independent government levies taxes yearly on comprehensive and directly assessed forms of personal income."
Congressional Budget Office The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) assists the House and Senate Budget Committees, and the Congress more generally, by preparing reports and analyses. In accordance with the CBO’s mandate to provide objective and impartial analysis, CBO’s reports contain no policy recommendations. In late January of each year, CBO reports on the economic and budget outlook, including estimates of spending and revenue levels for the next 10 years under current law. This so-called budget baseline serves as a neutral benchmark against which Members of Congress can measure the budgetary effect of proposed legislation. Each year CBO provides an independent re-estimate of the President’s budget proposals. This analysis is delivered to the Congress approximately one month after the President submits his budget. It permits the Congress to compare the President’s spending or revenue proposals to other proposals using a consistent set of economic and technical assumptions. CBO analyzes specific policy and program issues related to the budget. Such studies explore significant budgetary and economic issues in greater depth.
Economic Indicators Economic Indicators, a monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money, and Federal finance.
Economic Report of the President The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations.
Economic Research Service (USDA) The U.S. Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service conducts economic research, analyzes food and commodity markets, produces policy studies, and develops economic and statistical indicators to inform public and private decision-making on economic and policy issues involving food, farming, natural resources, and rural development.
FDIC Industry Analysis Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) Industry Analysis provides financial information on specific banks as well as analyses on the banking industry and economic trends. Use the FDIC Bank Data & Statistics databases to find information on specific banks, their branches, and the industry.
Federal Reserve Economic Research and Data The Federal Reserve, the central bank of the United States, produces a wide variety of Economic Research & Data, including Statistical Releases & Historical Data, Surveys & Reports, and the Federal Reserve Bulletin. The Federal Reserve System is made up of a Board of Governors, based in Washington, D.C., and twelve regional Reserve Banks, which each in turn gathers, analyze and interpret economic data: Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, Dallas, Kansas City, Minneapolis, New York, Philadelphia, Richmond, San Francisco, and St. Louis.
FRASER FRASER, the Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research, consists of over 40 thousand pages of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents. The goal of FRASER is to contribute to the quality of scientific economic research through the creation of a public electronic archive of economic statistical publications and data. FRASER consists of an archive of economic statistical publications and an automated system to retrieve both images and data. Within the archive is an image library of economic statistical publications and the data extracted from those publications. The FRASER database is designed to retain information linking each data point to its source publication, including the date of publication. The automated data retrieval system has been developed to allow users to select any desired subset of FRASER’s images and data. FRASER is produced by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
FRED FRED, Federal Reserve Economic Data, is a database of over 3,000 U.S. economic time series. FRED allows you to download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series. FRED is produced by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. See also GeoFRED which allows you to create, customize, and share geographical maps of data found in FRED
Gig Economy Data Hub Cornell's ILR School and the Aspen Institute Future of Work Initiative offer data on independent and gig work in the United States.
globalEDGE (Michigan State University)
Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) data Provides information regarding home mortgage lending activity.
National Agricultural Statistics Service The U.S. Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Statistics Service conducts surveys and prepares reports covering all aspects of U.S. agriculture including production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers.
National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) Housing Data In-depth economic analyses of the home building industry based on private and government data
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Contains useful economic datasets for download
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics The National Science Foundation National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) is responsible for the collection, interpretation, analysis, and dissemination of objective statistical data on research and development; the science and engineering workforce; U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D, and the condition and progress of STEM education in the United States.
Office of Management and Budget The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) assists the President in overseeing the preparation of the Federal Budget and is responsible for the administration of Executive Branch agencies. In helping to formulate the President’s spending plans, the OMB evaluates the effectiveness of agency programs, policies, and procedures, assesses competing funding demands among agencies, and sets funding priorities. OMB ensures that agency reports, rules, testimony, and proposed legislation are consistent with the President’s budget and with Administration policies.
Securities Class Action Clearinghouse Includes records of securities class action lawsuits filed after 1995. Does not include the ability to download in bulk or in Excel/CSV.
Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) Contains data on factors such as poverty, income, employment, and health insurance coverage
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis The U.S. Department of Commerce Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides regional, national and international statistics including GDP, GSP, state and personal income, balance of payments, international trade, foreign direct investment. Industry-level statistics are available, including input-output accounts and capital flow. The BEA publishes the monthly journal, Survey of Current Business.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics.
U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics The U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics established as a statistical agency in 1992, compiles, analyzes, and publishes a comprehensive set of transportation statistics.
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission Futures and options markets data
U.S. Geological Survey Minerals Yearbook The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Minerals Yearbook reviews the mineral and material industries of the United States and over 175 foreign countries. Statistical data on materials, minerals, economic and technical trends are provided for about 90 commodities.
U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook) Provides a complete historical record of all foreign assistance provided by the United States to the rest of the world.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Statistics The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Statistics include general statistics and miscellaneous reports that profile its patenting and trademark activities.

National Economic Indicators datasets compile a comprehensive array of key metrics that reflect a country's economy's overall performance and trends. These datasets encompass various indicators, including Gross Domestic Product (GDP), inflation rates, unemployment figures, trade balances, industrial production indices, and consumer confidence levels. They serve as invaluable resources for policymakers, economists, investors, and businesses seeking to analyze and understand economic conditions, make informed decisions, and anticipate market movements. By examining trends and fluctuations in these indicators over time, stakeholders can identify patterns, assess the impact of policy changes, and forecast future economic developments. National Economic Indicators datasets also facilitate international comparisons, benchmarking, and trend analysis, enabling countries to learn from one another and adopt best practices. With the availability of real-time data and advanced analytical tools, these datasets play a crucial role in guiding economic policy formulation, fostering sustainable growth, and promoting prosperity.

13 and 26 Week Treasury Auction Results This page is updated on a real-time basis as soon as auction results are made available. Please press Refresh or Reload to display more current information.
Advance Gross Domestic Product by Industry The industry economic accounts, presented both in an input-output framework and as annual output by each industry, provide a detailed view of the interrelationships between U.S. producers and users and the contribution to production across industries. These accounts are used extensively by policymakers and businesses to understand industry interactions, productivity trends, and the changing structure of the U.S. economy.
Advance Monthly Sales for Retail and Food Services
Advance Report on Durable Goods -- Manufactures' Shipments, Inventories, Orders The Manufacturers’ Shipments, Inventories, and Orders (M3) survey provides broad-based, monthly statistical data on economic conditions in the domestic manufacturing sector. The survey measures current industrial activity and provides an indication of future business trends.
Aggregate Reserves of Depository Institutions and the Monetary Base (H.3) The H.3 release provides data on aggregate reserves of depository institutions, including required reserves, total reserves, reserve balances maintained, interest paid on reserve balances maintained, nonborrowed reserves, and borrowings by depository institutions from the Federal Reserve's discount window. The release also provides data on the monetary base, which includes currency in circulation and total balances maintained. The release is published weekly.
Assets and Liabilities of Commercial Banks in the United States (H.8) The H.8 release provides an estimated weekly aggregate balance sheet for all commercial banks in the United States. The release also includes separate balance sheet aggregations for several bank groups: domestically chartered commercial banks; large domestically chartered commercial banks; small domestically chartered commercial banks; and foreign-related institutions in the United States. Foreign-related institutions include U.S. branches and agencies of foreign banks as well as Edge Act and agreement corporations. Published weekly, the release is typically available to the public by 4:15 p.m. each Friday. If Friday is a federal holiday, then the data are released on Thursday.
Census Building Permits Survey This page provides data on the number of new housing units authorized by building permits. Data are available monthly, year- to- date, and annually at the national, state, selected metropolitan area, county and place levels. The data are from the Building Permits Survey.
Clean Renewable Energy Bond Rates TreasuryDirect is the first and only financial services website that lets you buy and redeem securities directly from the U.S. Department of the Treasury in paperless electronic form. You enjoy the flexibility of managing your savings portfolio online as your needs and financial circumstances change - all the time knowing your money is backed by the full faith of the U.S. government. We offer product information and research across the entire line of Treasury securities, from Series EE Savings Bonds to Treasury Notes. Our TreasuryDirect accounts offer Treasury Bills, Notes, Bonds, Inflation-Protected Securities (TIPS), Floating Rate Notes, and Series I and EE Savings Bonds in electronic form in one convenient account.
Commercial Paper Rates and Outstanding Summary Derived from data supplied by The Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation
Composite Indexes of Leading, Coincident and Lagging Indicators Our global suite of economic indicators and databases is now available in a centralized, one-stop portal. The Conference Board Data Central puts hundreds of individual indicators, encompassing dozens of countries and decades of history, at your fingertips. Access to Data Central is limited to members of The Conference Board Economy, Strategy, & Finance Center and/or holders of an individual The Conference Board Data subscription. To confirm your status and learn more about access options, please contact customer.service@conference-board.org As part of our public mission, we've made a limited amount of recent data available. These data are for internal research purposes only and not for redistribution. Please login or create an account for access
Construction Spending The Value of Construction Put in Place Survey (VIP) provides monthly estimates of the total dollar value of construction work done in the U.S. The United States Code, Title 13, authorizes this program. The survey covers construction work done each month on new structures or improvements to existing structures for private and public sectors. Data estimates include the cost of labor and materials, cost of architectural and engineering work, overhead costs, interest and taxes paid during construction, and contractor's profits. Data collection and estimation activities begin on the first day after the reference month and continue for about three weeks. Reported data and estimates are for activity taking place during the previous calendar month. The survey has been conducted monthly since 1964.
Consumer Confidence Survey The Consumer Confidence Survey® reflects prevailing business conditions and likely developments for the months ahead. This monthly report details consumer attitudes, buying intentions, vacation plans, and consumer expectations for inflation, stock prices, and interest rates. Data are available by age, income, 9 regions, and top 8 states.
Consumer Credit (G.19) The G.19 Statistical Release, "Consumer Credit," reports outstanding credit extended to individuals for household, family, and other personal expenditures, excluding loans secured by real estate. Total consumer credit comprises two major types: revolving and nonrevolving. Revolving credit plans may be unsecured or secured by collateral and allow a consumer to borrow up to a prearranged limit and repay the debt in one or more installments. Credit card loans comprise most of revolving consumer credit measured in the G.19, but other types, such as prearranged overdraft plans, are also included. Nonrevolving credit is closed-end credit extended to consumers that is repaid on a prearranged repayment schedule and may be secured or unsecured. To borrow additional funds, the consumer must enter into an additional contract with the lender. Consumer motor vehicle and education loans comprise the majority of nonrevolving credit, but other loan types, such as boat loans, recreational vehicle loans, and personal loans, are also included.
Consumer Expenditures Survey This page provides links to CE tables that contain expenditure and income data for selected demographic and geographic characteristics by reference person or consumer unit (CU). The tables provide population means (as opposed to means of those reporting), percent shares across all items, and variance measures (standard error and coefficient of variation), and aggregate expenditure shares across selected groups.
Consumer Price Index
Daily Treasury Interest Rates Issues: Current and Archive
Daily Treasury Yield Curve Rates This par yield curve, which relates the par yield on a security to its time to maturity, is based on the closing market bid prices on the most recently auctioned Treasury securities in the over-the-counter market. The par yields are derived from input market prices, which are indicative quotations obtained by the Federal Reserve Bank of New York at approximately 3:30 PM each business day. For information on how the Treasury’s yield curve is derived, visit our Treasury Yield Curve Methodology page.
Economic Indicators
FDIC Data & Statistics Access structural and aggregated financial information & quarterly reports on FDIC-insured institutions
Federal Open Market Committee The FOMC holds eight regularly scheduled meetings during the year and other meetings as needed. Links to policy statements and minutes are in the calendars below. The minutes of regularly scheduled meetings are released three weeks after the date of the policy decision. Committee membership changes at the first regularly scheduled meeting of the year.
Financial Accounts of the United States - Z.1 The Financial Accounts of the United States includes data on transactions and levels of financial assets and liabilities, by sector and financial instrument; full balance sheets, including net worth, for households and nonprofit organizations, nonfinancial corporate businesses, and nonfinancial noncorporate businesses; Integrated Macroeconomic Accounts; and additional supplemental detail.
Foreign Exchange Rates - G.5 The H.10 weekly release contains daily rates of exchange of major currencies against the U.S. dollar. The data are noon buying rates in New York for cable transfers payable in the listed currencies. The rates have been certified by the Federal Reserve Bank of New York for customs purposes as required by section 522 of the amended Tariff Act of 1930. Release Dates provides an archive of historical H.10 releases. The H.10 release contains daily bilateral exchange rates and nominal dollar indexes from the previous week. Be advised that past releases are not revised and may not reflect subsequent revisions to the data.
Foreign Exchange Rates - H.10 The H.10 weekly release contains daily rates of exchange of major currencies against the U.S. dollar. The data are noon buying rates in New York for cable transfers payable in the listed currencies. The rates have been certified by the Federal Reserve Bank of New York for customs purposes as required by section 522 of the amended Tariff Act of 1930. Release Dates provides an archive of historical H.10 releases. The H.10 release contains daily bilateral exchange rates and nominal dollar indexes from the previous week. Be advised that past releases are not revised and may not reflect subsequent revisions to the data.
Global Business Cycle Indicators
Gross Domestic Product A comprehensive measure of U.S. economic activity. GDP measures the value of the final goods and services produced in the United States (without double counting the intermediate goods and services used up to produce them). Changes in GDP are the most popular indicator of the nation's overall economic health.
Gross Domestic Product by State A comprehensive measure of the economies of each state and the District of Columbia. GDP estimates the value of the goods and services produced in a state. The data include breakdowns of industries' contributions to each state economy.
Historical Money Stock Historical data tables for the H.6 statistical release are longer available on this webpage as of Tuesday, May 1, 2012. The data contained in the historical tables will continue to be available as preformatted data packages through the Data Download Program.
Housing Vacancies and Homeownership The Housing Vacancies and Homeownership provides current information on the rental and homeowner vacancy rates, and characteristics of units available for occupancy. These data are used extensively by public and private sector organizations to evaluate the need for new housing programs and initiatives. In addition, the rental vacancy rate is a component of the index of leading economic indicators and is thereby used by the Federal Government and economic forecasters to gauge the current economic climate. Rental and homeowner vacancy rates and homeownership rates are available for the U.S., regions, states, and for the 75 largest Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs). Data for all geographies are available both quarterly and annually. Homeownership rates are also tabulated by age of householder and by family status for the U.S. and regions and by race/ethnicity of householder and by median family income for the U.S. In addition, estimates of the total housing inventory and percent distributions of vacant for-rent and for-sale-only units are available for the U.S. and regions.
Import/Export Price Indexes The International Price Program (IPP) produces Import/Export Price Indexes (MXP) containing data on changes in the prices of nonmilitary goods and services traded between the U.S. and the rest of the world.
Industrial Production and Capacity Utilization - G.17 The Federal Reserve's monthly index of industrial production and the related capacity indexes and capacity utilization rates cover manufacturing, mining, and electric and gas utilities. The industrial sector, together with construction, accounts for the bulk of the variation in national output over the course of the business cycle. The industrial detail provided by these measures helps illuminate structural developments in the economy. The production index measures real output and is expressed as a percentage of real output in a base year, currently 2017. The capacity index, which is an estimate of sustainable potential output, is also expressed as a percentage of actual output in 2017. The production indexes are computed as Fisher indexes since 1972; the weights are based on annual estimates of value added. The rate of capacity utilization equals the seasonally adjusted output index expressed as a percentage of the related capacity index.
International Transactions Transactions in goods, services, income, and investment between U.S. residents and residents of other countries each quarter. The transactions reflect U.S. trade; income on stocks, bonds, and loans and related investment; foreign aid; and more.
Labor Productivity and Costs Labor productivity is a measure of economic performance that compares the amount of goods and services produced (output) with the number of hours worked to produce those goods and services. The BLS also publishes measures of multifactor productivity.
Manufacturers’ Shipments, Inventories, & Orders The purpose of the Manufacturers' Shipments, Inventories, and Orders (M3) survey is to provide broad-based monthly statistical data on current economic conditions and indications of future production commitments in the manufacturing sector.
Manufacturing & Trade Inventories & Sales Purpose: To provide broad and timely measures of combined changes in domestic retail trade, wholesale trade and manufacturers' activities. The United States Code, Title 13, authorizes the surveys in this report and provides for voluntary responses.
Money Stock Measures - H.6 Release The H.6 release, published monthly, provides measures of the monetary aggregates (M1 and M2) and their components. M1 and M2 are progressively more inclusive measures of money: M1 is included in M2. M1 consists of the most liquid forms of money, namely currency, demand deposits, and other liquid deposits. Other liquid deposits includes ATS and NOW accounts, share draft accounts, and savings deposits. The non-M1 components of M2 are small-denomination time deposits and retail money market funds. Historical release data are available in the Board’s Data Download Program. Monthly average data are available back to January 1959. Weekly average data are available as far back as 1975, with the specific start date depending on the release item. Weekly average, nonseasonally adjusted data are available through the last week of the latest month published on the monthly H.6 statistical release. Weekly average, seasonally adjusted data are only available through the week ending February 1, 2021.
Monthly Retail Trade
Monthly Wholesale Trade To provide month-to-month trends for sales and inventories of U.S. merchant wholesalers, excluding manufacturers' sales branches and offices (MSBOs). Title 13 of the United States Code authorizes the Census Bureau to conduct this survey and provides for voluntary responses.
National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) Housing Data In-depth economic analyses of the home building industry based on private and government data
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Contains useful economic datasets for download
New Residential Construction This page provides national and regional data on the number of new housing units authorized by building permits; authorized, but not started; started; under construction; and completed. The data are for new, privately-owned housing units, excluding "HUD-code" manufactured (mobile) homes. The data are from the Building Permits Survey, and from the Survey of Construction (SOC), which is partially funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Local building permit data may be found on the Building Permits Survey webpage.
New Residential Sales This page provides national and regional data on the number of new single-family houses sold and for sale. It also provides national data on median and average prices, the number of houses sold and for sale by stage of construction, and other statistics. The data are from the Survey of Construction (SOC), which is partially funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).
Personal Income Income that people get from wages and salaries, Social Security and other government benefits, dividends and interest, business ownership, and other sources. These statistics can offer clues to Americans' financial health and future consumer spending.
Personal Income by County, Metro, and Other Areas Income that people get from wages, proprietors' income, dividends, interest, rents, and government benefits. A person's income is counted in the county, metropolitan statistical area, or other areas where they live, even if they work elsewhere.
Personal Income by State The income people living in each state and the District of Columbia get from wages, proprietors' income, dividends, interest, rents, and government benefits. These statistics help assess and compare the economic well-being of state residents.
Producer Price Indexes The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services.
Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) Manufacturing, Mining, Trade, and Selected Service Industries
Quarterly Services
Real Earnings
Selected Interest Rates (Daily) - H.15 The release is posted daily Monday through Friday at 4:15pm. The release is not posted on holidays or in the event that the Board is closed.
The Small Business Economy For the past 30 years, the Office of Advocacy has produced a series of annual reports on American small businesses titled, from 1982 to 2000, The State of Small Business and from 2001 to the present, The Small Business Economy. This is a rich collection of information about small business contributions to the economy and trends over time. This year, for the first time, the Office of Advocacy offers the key data on small businesses in tabular form online in place of the paperback report. This new format will increase the accessibility of the data.
State and Local Government Series Securities (SLGS) and Savings Bond Data TreasuryDirect is the first and only financial services website that lets you buy and redeem securities directly from the U.S. Department of the Treasury in paperless electronic form. You enjoy the flexibility of managing your savings portfolio online as your needs and financial circumstances change - all the time knowing your money is backed by the full faith of the U.S. government. We offer product information and research across the entire line of Treasury securities, from Series EE Savings Bonds to Treasury Notes. Our TreasuryDirect accounts offer Treasury Bills, Notes, Bonds, Inflation-Protected Securities (TIPS), Floating Rate Notes, and Series I and EE Savings Bonds in electronic form in one convenient account.
State Employment and Unemployment
Summary of Economic Conditions (Beige Book)
Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) Contains data on factors such as poverty, income, employment, and health insurance coverage
Surveys of Consumers, University of Michigan
Travel and Tourism Measures how much tourists spend and the prices they pay for lodging, airfare, souvenirs, and other travel-related items. These statistics also provide a snapshot of employment in the travel and tourism industries.
U.S. Agricultural Export Sales Timely reporting and publishing of agricultural export sales data is key to effectively functioning markets. The U.S. Department of Agriculture is required by law to publicly release summary sales data obtained from U.S. exporters of many agricultural commodities.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis Interactive national, international, regional economic data or industry statistics.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics.
U.S. Consumer Confidence The Consumer Confidence Survey® reflects prevailing business conditions and likely developments for the months ahead. This monthly report details consumer attitudes, buying intentions, vacation plans, and consumer expectations for inflation, stock prices, and interest rates. Data are available by age, income, 9 regions, and top 8 states.
U.S. International Investment Position The accumulated value of U.S.-owned financial assets in other countries and U.S. liabilities to residents of other countries at the end of each quarter. The difference between assets and liabilities is the U.S. net international investment position.
U.S. International Trade Data The nation's international trade deficit in goods and services increased to $89.7 billion in January from $82.0 billion in December (revised), as exports decreased and imports increased. (March 8, 2022)
Value of New Construction Put in Place
Weekly Natural Gas Storage Report

National Employment datasets compile extensive information on labor market dynamics, including employment rates, unemployment rates, workforce participation rates, job vacancies, job turnover, and wage trends. These datasets are crucial for policymakers, economists, businesses, and job seekers alike, offering insights into the health and trends of the labor market. Analysis of national employment data allows stakeholders to assess the overall strength of the economy, identify shifts in employment patterns across industries and regions, and gauge the effectiveness of labor market policies. Moreover, employment datasets enable forecasting of future labor market trends, informing workforce development strategies and education initiatives. By examining demographic breakdowns and socioeconomic characteristics within the labor force, these datasets also highlight disparities and inequalities, guiding efforts to promote inclusive growth and address systemic barriers to employment. Overall, national employment datasets serve as vital tools for understanding, monitoring, and shaping labor market dynamics to foster economic prosperity and social well-being.

Business Employment Dynamics Business Employment Dynamics is a set of statistics generated from the Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages program. These quarterly data series consist of gross job gains and gross job losses statistics from 1992 forward. These data help to provide a picture of the dynamic state of the labor market.
College Enrollment and Work Activity of High School Graduates
County Employment and Wages
Employer Costs for Employee Compensation
Employment Cost Trends The National Compensation Survey produces quarterly indexes measuring change over time in labor costs, Employment Cost Index (ECI), and quarterly data measuring level of average costs per hour worked, Employer Costs for Employee Compensation (ECEC).
Employment Experience of Youths
The Employment Situation
Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey The Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey (JOLTS) program produces data on job openings, hires, and separations.
Mass Layoff Statistics The Mass Layoff Statistics (MLS) program collects reports on mass layoff actions that result in workers being separated from their jobs. Monthly mass layoff numbers are from establishments that have at least 50 initial claims for unemployment insurance (UI) filed against them during a 5-week period. Extended mass layoff numbers (issued quarterly) are from a subset of such establishments—where private sector nonfarm employers indicate that 50 or more workers were separated from their jobs for at least 31 days.
Metropolitan Area Employment & Unemployment Economic News Release
Office of Unemployment Insurance We are soliciting comments on the content and organization of the data on our website and any suggestions you have about improving the accessibility to the data. We are also interested in your feedback on any data you would like summarized, e.g., benefits across all programs, that would eliminate the need for users to gather data from several reports and calculate the sum. Your input is important to us in improving the utility of our website as a tool for our customers. Please email us with your questions and suggestions.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics.
Unemployment Insurance Weekly Claims Data The Unemployment Insurance weekly claims data are used in current economic analysis of unemployment trends in the nation, and in each state. Initial claims measure emerging unemployment and continued weeks claimed measure the number of persons claiming unemployment benefits.
Usual Weekly Earnings of Wage and Salary Workers

U.S. Foreign Trade datasets provide comprehensive information on the import and export activities of the United States, encompassing trade volumes, values, and commodities exchanged with international partners. These datasets offer valuable insights into the dynamics of global commerce, including trends in trade balances, tariffs, and trade agreements. Analysts, policymakers, businesses, and researchers rely on these datasets to assess the competitiveness of U.S. industries, identify emerging markets, and track shifts in global supply chains. By examining trade data by country, product category, and trade route, stakeholders can uncover patterns, forecast market trends, and inform trade policy decisions. Moreover, U.S. Foreign Trade datasets facilitate international comparisons, enabling benchmarking against other economies and evaluating the effectiveness of trade policies. Accessible and transparent trade data fosters accountability and supports informed decision-making, ultimately contributing to the promotion of economic growth and prosperity both domestically and globally.

Country and Product Trade Data (U.S. Census Bureau) Foreign Trade Data
Data.gov (Exports) 10 datasets found for "exports"
Data.gov (Imports) 27 datasets found
Data.gov (International Trade Administration - Dataset) 56 datasets found - if not seeing what you like do more searching with this site.
Exports from U.S. Metropolitan Areas TradeStats Express-National and State Trade Data Report Index
The Foreign Assistance Dashboard USAID data--Explains where U.S. foreign aid is invested in over 100 countries.
Foreign Investor's Spending New Foreign Direct Investment in the United States
International Trade Data (U.S. Census Bureau) This publication is intended to serve as a guide to the various sources of foreign trade statistics and to inform users of the content and general arrangement of the data. The foreign trade statistics program is unique among the Census Bureau's economic statistics programs in that the information is not collected from forms sent to respondents soliciting responses as in the case of surveys. Rather, the information is compiled from automated forms and reports filed initially with the U.S. Customs Service or, in some cases, directly with the Census Bureau, for virtually all shipments leaving (exports) or entering (imports) the United States. Furthermore, exports to Canada are compiled from Canadian import data.
NAICS Definitions and Concordance The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. NAICS was developed under the auspices of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. It was developed jointly by the U.S. Economic Classification Policy Committee (ECPC), Statistics Canada, and Mexico's Instituto Nacional de Estadistica y Geografia, to allow for a high level of comparability in business statistics among the North American countries. This official U.S. Government Web site provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools. Additional information on the background and development of NAICS is available in the History section of this Web site.
A Profile of U.S. Exporting Companies ABS - U.S. Exporting Firms by Demographics: 2022 Tables (Employer Businesses)
Trade Data and Analysis (International Trade Administration) The International Trade Administration, as well as other organizations, publishes a variety of trade-related statistics and tools for public use. New: Country Reports - The Country Reports prepared by Industry & Analysis present international trade and other macroeconomic statistics for more than 230+ trading partners on an annual basis. Data is updated twice yearly, in February and in June, to account for annual updates and revisions. Monthly Infographic – Interactive dashboard with an overview of U.S. goods and services trade statistics. Includes top sectors and trading partners. Updated monthly. Partner Trade Tables (Year-to-Date) – Ranked listing of top U.S. goods export and import partner markets with percent change. Updated monthly. TradeStats Express (Year-to-Date)– Interactive dashboards that present Year-to-Date national and state goods trade by partner and product. Updated monthly. Manufacturing Industry Tracker – Dynamic web tool that tracks key economic indicators across 21 sectors of manufacturing. Updated monthly.
TradeStats Express - National and State Trade Data Product profiles along with national and state-level trade data with charts and graphs.
U.S. Agricultural Export Sales Each week, U.S. exporters are required to report to USDA’s Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) any sales transaction entered into with a buyer outside the United States for the following commodities, regardless of quantity:
U.S. International Investment Position The accumulated value of U.S.-owned financial assets in other countries and U.S. liabilities to residents of other countries at the end of each quarter. The difference between assets and liabilities is the U.S. net international investment position.
U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services International Trade Data
U.S. International Transactions
USA Trade Online (Available only on Boca Campus Library, Government Documents Office, LY 109) The definitive source for U.S. Foreign Trade statistics, using harmonized codes reports on over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. Also contains data for individual ports within the United States.

International Economics datasets encompass a broad range of economic indicators and data points that pertain to global economic interactions, trade relations, financial flows, and market dynamics. These datasets compile information on international trade, foreign direct investment (FDI), exchange rates, balance of payments, foreign exchange reserves, and global economic growth projections. They serve as critical resources for economists, policymakers, investors, and multinational corporations, offering insights into the interconnectedness and interdependencies of national economies. By analyzing international economics datasets, stakeholders can assess the impact of global events and policy decisions on economies worldwide, identify opportunities for market expansion, and manage risks associated with international trade and investment. Moreover, these datasets enable cross-country comparisons, benchmarking, and trend analysis, facilitating evidence-based policy formulation and fostering international cooperation. Access to accurate and comprehensive international economics datasets promotes transparency, enhances market efficiency, and promotes sustainable economic development on a global scale.

Atlas of Economic Complexity Run by Harvard's Growth Lab. This website contains trade data for 250 countries and territories organized by 20 categories of goods and 5 categories of services. See About the data for the sources from which the data is derived.
AMECO Annual Macro-Economic Database Contains economic data for EU member states, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand).
Bank for International Settlements Statistics Bank for International Settlements (BIS) Statistics includes data on various elements of the global financial system. BIS is an international organization which fosters international monetary and financial cooperation and serves as a bank for central banks. The BIS acts as a forum to promote discussion and facilitate decision-making processes among central banks and within the international financial community; as a center for economic and monetary research; as a prime counter party for central banks in their financial transactions; and as an agent or trustee in connection with international financial operations.
Doing Business Doing Business, produced by the World Bank, provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. The Doing Business indicators are comparable across 175 economies. They indicate the regulatory costs of business and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity, and growth.
Eurostat Eurostat, the statistical agency for the EU, provides monthly, quarterly, and annual data from 1960 onwards, including general statistics, regional statistics, economy and finance, population and social conditions, industry, services and transport, and intra- extra-EU trade statistics.
globalEDGE (Michigan State University)
Global Development Finance Online GDF Online provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank’s Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
Human Development Report The Human Development Report, produced by the United Nations Development Programme, contains statistics relating to the social, demographic, environmental, health, education, and economic development of people and countries throughout the world. The Human Development Index is the most widely recognized index within the report, but the report also contains the Gender-related Development Index, the Gender Empowerment Measure, and the Human Poverty Index.
IMF Data and Statistics International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data & Statistics provides access to a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
International Monetary Fund Access to current and archived data such as World Economic Outlook and Primary Commodity Prices (includes Oil and Natural Gas).
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online The Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online, produced by the United Nations Statistics Division, presents current monthly economic statistics for most of the countries and areas of the world. In addition, each month a selection of tables is presented showing annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic long-term trends and developments.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window Partially funded by the FAU College of Business. Online access to all the books, reports, annuals, working papers, loose-leaf binders, periodicals and databases produced by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

OECD.Stat Includes data on a large number of topics/themes.
OECD - Explorer.StatData Includes data on a large number of topics/themes. (New Platform which replaces OECD Stats for new information starting March 2024)
Pacific Institute The Pacific Institute conducts interdisciplinary research on environmental protection, economic development, and social equality. Biannually, the Institute publishes The World’s Water which provides information on many aspects of global freshwater supply starting from 1998.
UNECE Statistical Database The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe Statistical Database presents a structured set of economic indicators for countries of the UNECE region. Emphasis has been placed on making the data ready for international comparison and immediate analytical use. Access is free but registrations is required.
UN National Accounts United Nations National Accounts, maintained by the United Nations Statistics Division, is the product of a global cooperation effort between the UNSD, international statistical agencies, and the national statistical services of more than 200 countries and is in accordance with the request of the UN Statistical Commission that the most recent available data on national accounts of as many countries and areas as possible be published and disseminated regularly. The National Accounts Main Aggregates Database contains a complete and consistent set of time series from 1970 onwards of main national accounts aggregates for all UN Members States and all other countries and areas in the world. It is maintained and updated on the basis of annual collections of the official annual national accounts statistics supplemented by estimates of national accounts statistics for those years and countries for which the official statistics has incomplete or inconsistent information. In addition, to the values of national accounts statistics, it contains analytical indicators and ratios derived from the main national accounts aggregates related to economic structure and development.
World Bank World Databank The World Bank provides access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the world. The World Databank includes access to such datasets as World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, and more. Additional data, statistics, and related information may be located through the World Bank Data gateway. It also various indices and metrics/surveys such as the Global Financial Inclusion (Global Findex) Database.

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window Open Access The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. These databases are used by teams to prepare Country Assistance Strategies, poverty assessments, research studies, and other forms of economic and sector work. Included are World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Africa Development Indicators, and Global Economic Monitor.

World Investment Report (UNCTAD) World Investment Report (annual) covers trends and analysis in foreign direct investment

Florida Economics datasets provide detailed information on the economic performance, trends, and indicators specific to Florida. These datasets encompass various financial metrics, including employment rates, labor force participation, industry output, tourism statistics, real estate trends, and regional economic development data. Stakeholders such as policymakers, economists, businesses, and investors utilize these datasets to assess the health of Florida's economy, identify growth opportunities, and make informed decisions regarding investment, policy, and resource allocation. Analysis of Florida Economics datasets allows for identifying sectoral strengths and weaknesses, evaluating regional disparities, and monitoring economic resilience in the face of external shocks such as natural disasters or economic downturns. By providing timely and accurate data on Florida's economic landscape, these datasets play a crucial role in supporting financial planning, fostering business development, and promoting sustainable growth and prosperity throughout the state.

Last updated on Apr 16, 2024 11:22 AM