LibGuides: Government Datasets, Statistical Data &amp; Census Information: Science

Science datasets encompass a vast array of information across various scientific disciplines, including biology, chemistry, physics, and environmental science. These datasets contain valuable research findings, experimental data, and observations that contribute to advancements in scientific knowledge and innovation. Key components of science datasets include genetic sequences, experimental measurements, environmental monitoring data, and astronomical observations.

Researchers and scientists utilize science datasets to investigate phenomena, test hypotheses, and develop solutions to complex scientific challenges. Access to these datasets facilitates collaboration, accelerates research progress, and enables the development of evidence-based policies and practices. Additionally, science datasets serve as invaluable resources for educators, students, and science enthusiasts seeking to explore the wonders of the natural world and understand fundamental scientific principles.

By optimizing access to science datasets, we empower individuals and organizations to harness the power of data-driven discovery, drive scientific breakthroughs, and address pressing global issues facing humanity and the planet.

Climate in the United States (usafacts.org) The United States has experienced a wide variety of extreme weather over the last 125 years, impacting people, communities, and geographies. Track monthly data on how counties experience severe weather, including precipitation and temperature.
Data.Gov (Science) 133,751 datasets for "science" were found.
data.world (Science Datasets) There are 501 science datasets available on data.world.
Earth Data (NASA) he Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program provides full and open access to NASA’s collection of Earth science data for understanding and protecting our home planet. Begin your Earthdata exploration by clicking on any of the discipline icons above.
NASA Datasets DATA.NASA.GOV is NASA's clearinghouse site for open data provided to the public. Tens of thousands of datasets are available for you. The majority of dataset pages on data.nasa.gov only hold metadata for each dataset. It is common for the actual data to be stored on other NASA archive sites. Data.nasa.gov will have the metadata and links to the data as it exists in those many other locations. Some datasets on data.nasa.gov are harvested from other NASA data archives, and others only exist on data.nasa.gov. This slideshow created for SpaceApps Hackathon participants explains the more expansive NASA data universe and has some suggestions for finding NASA data.
NIST Chemistry Webbook This site provides chemical data for a wide variety of chemical substances. The database can be searched via chemical name, molecular formula, molecular structure, CAS registry number and chemical reaction.
NMRShiftDB "NMRShiftDB is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Last not least, it features peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users."
NOAA Datasets There are hundreds of NOAA datasets on the Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) platforms; the list below is updated on a quarterly basis. The datasets are organized by the NOAA Line Office and programmatic area that generated the original dataset. Within each section, the datasets are listed alphabetically and links are included to the original NOAA dataset location, as well as links to the specific CSP(s) landing page(s) to the right of the dataset.
Planetary Data System (NASA) Datasets from NASA dealing with space.
Sigma Aldrich Catalog Sigma Aldrich provides some spectra and chemical information for many of their chemical products. MSDS are also available.
Society for Science "Research at Home: Large Data Sets" Uncover vast reservoirs of data for your at-home research project, ripe for exploration and analysis in innovative ways. Discover intriguing datasets tailored to your interests, explore how fellow students have leveraged large datasets in their research endeavors, and delve into cutting-edge scientific studies powered by the wealth of big data.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS Spectra from Japan's National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)

Last updated on Dec 18, 2024 11:56 AM