Primary Sources: Historical U.S. Newspapers

A database that includes 80,000 newspaper clippings from the Pacific Northwest. These clippings were collected in the late 1930's as a WPA project.

Links to web sites

Student newspapers from various campuses of the University of Washington

This is only an index and does not include the full text of articles. It covers the Olympian and other regional newspapers.

Some years are missing.

This newspaper was published in Lewiston, ID and Clarkston, WA.

This file includes scattered issues and some years are missing.

Note: Ellensburg was first called Ellensburgh

Note: Ellensburg was first called Ellensburgh

Union newspaper.

There are only a few available issues.

This file includes issues of both the Pacific Farm Record and the Neppel Record, both published in Neppel, WA.

A temperance newspaper

A newspaper known for its criticism of the U.S. government interning Japanese Americans during WWII

This file is title The True Democrat and includes issues of that newspaper published in Jolliet, IL 1859-1862.

This newspaper is published in Pulllman, WA and Moscow, ID.

This file includes only a few issues.

Some years are missing

Underground newspaper

Student newspaper from South Seattle Community College

This is a file of The Sentinel, the newspaper of the South Seattle Community College.

Student newspaper of South Seattle Community College

Ku Klux Klan newspaper
This site includes only a few articles and images from the newspaper, plus an essay about the newspaper.

Published by the Industrial Workers of the World.
Preceded by the Industrial Union Bulletin, published in Chicago, Illinois.

Newspaper published at the Walla Walla Army Airbase during World War II

This file also includes issues of the Republican (Caper Girardeau, MO) published in 1909-1910.

This file is titled Lyon County Reporter, but includes issues of at least 6 newspapers from various states.

This file is mis-titled Spirit of Thanksgiving.

There are many missing years.

This file also includes issues of the Monon News (IN) for 1945-1986, with some years missing.

Selected articles from various Wisconsin newspapers

Newspapers published in Kilbourn and Kenosha

This collection of newspaper clippings is searchable as part of the site-wide search available on this website.

An index to names in many newspapers, books, and other sources. This doesn't include the full text of the article.

An evangelical newspaper started by Lyman Huggins Johnson in Beloit, Wisconsin that later moved to Toledo, Ohio. It may have then moved to Boston, Massachusetts and been published as recently as 1917.

Underground newspaper

A newspaper/newsletter for the lesbian community in La Crosse

Student newspaper from the University of Wisconsin - La Crosse

African American newspaper. Labor movement newspaper

Weekly news magazine of the Gay Peoples Union

Underground newspaper

Newspaper published by Japanese Americans who were interned at the Heart Mountain Relocation Center during World War II

Student newspapers of the University of Wyoming

Italian language newspaper