Primary Sources: Historical U.S. Newspapers

Links to Ohio newspapers that are freely available on the Internet via Ohio Memory or Chronicling America.

Issues of newspapers, published in Ohio, that represent candidates 1840s elections.

African American newspapers.
Includes only selected articles published 1843-1920

This is an index to letters published in northwest Ohio newspapers during the Civil War. The letters are not available full text on this site.

Newspapers published in Lisbon and New Lisbon

Newspapers published in Niles and Youngstown

Newspapers published in Perrysburg and Way

Newspapers published in Ripley, Georgetown, and Mount Orab

This is only an index. There is no full text

Westlife serves various westshore suburbs of Cleveland

This LibGuide indexes letters written by WWI service members and published in North West Ohio newspapers. The full text of the letters is not included.

This database includes a small collection of newspapers. Most of the database is composed of other types of records.

Student newspaper for Bowling Green State University

Student newspaper of Bowling Green State University. This is only an index. For the full text, see the BG News listed above.

This is only an index. There is no full text. The index is comprehensive 1996-present and selective 1960's-1995.

Antislavery newspaper

The first newspaper in the Northwestern Territory

Jewish newspaper; German language newspaper

Student newspaper from Edgecliff College

Official publication of the Methodist Episcopal Church

Student newspaper of Xavier University.

Also published in Dayton. Official publication of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ

Romanian and English language newspaper

An index and digest of Cleveland newspapers, produced by the WPA.

Underground newspaper

The digest is in English.

The digest is in English.

The digest is in English.

The digest is in English.

The digest is in English.

Includes selected articles and photographs

Slovenian language newspaper

Official newspaper of the Socialist Part of Ohio and Kentucky

Searching is free. However, you must purchase the full text of the articles.

Official organ of the Communist Labor Party of Ohio. Moved to New York in 1921.

Polish language newspaper

"Official magazine of the Ohio Anti-Saloon League"

This collection includes newspapers, among other types of resources.

Photographs only from the Columbus Citizen Journal and Columbus Citizen newspapers

An index of selected articles 1960-1997 and obituaries 1931-1997 that were published in newspapers in Columbus and the surrounding area. This doesn't include the full text of the articles.

Jewish American newspaper

In addition to the Coshocton Age, this file includes one issue of the Coshocton Spy (1826) and one of the Coshocton Democrat (1840).

Some newspapers are titled Democratic Standard

Religious and antislavery newspaper

Student newspaper of Wright State University

African American newspaper

Images of newspapers printed by the Wright brothers

Includes only photographs, not full text of the articles

Copies of various student-run newspapers from Kent State University

Newspaper of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The newspaper moved to Kirtland from Independence, MO

This is only an index and does not include the full text of the articles.

This file is titled La Tribune and also includes issues of La Tribune published in Woonsocket, RI 1900-1934.

Student newspaper from Oberlin Univesity

Student newspaper of the Western College for Women, which merged with Miami University.

This file also includes newspapers from Louisiana, Virginia, Maryland, and California.

An evangelical newspaper started by Lyman Huggins Johnson in Beloit, Wisconsin and later in Toledo, Ohio. It may have continued in Boston, Massachusetts until 1917.

Includes the Courier Watchman, the Waverly Watchman, and the Atomizer. This collection is in the middle of being produced, so titles and available dates will change.

Student newspaper of Youngstown State University

Newspapers published in Hennessey, Cashion, and Dover

Newspapers published in Durant, Caddo, and Calera

Newspapers published in Guymon and other local communities

Newspapers published in McAlester and other towns in Pittsburg County, such as Krebs, Indianola, Hartshorne, Haileyville, Featherston, Caddo, and Ashland.

This file is labeled Daily Times-Democrat.

Transcribed copies of articles and/or abstracts of articles from newspapers published in Cheyenne

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

Student newspaper from Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College

African American newspaper

Some issues are titled the Perkins Journal. The Stillwater Journal is a section of the Perkins Journal.

This index to the Skidmore Standard is an ongoing project. The index was complete to 1902 in September 2015, but will include more years when completed.

Student newspaper from Oklahoma State University

Index only. There is no full text.

This is an index to a variety of Oregon newspapers and selected articles about Oregon from other newspapers. The database does not include full text of the articles.

This database includes 80,000 newspaper clippings collected and organized in the late 1930's as a WPA project. This includes only clippings of these selected articles, not the full text of the newspapers.

This file also includes The Enterprise 2001, 2005-2006, published in Mansfield, LA.

In many of the years that are included in this file, only scattered issues are available.

This mixes together a number of newspapers from Eugene

Student-run newspapers of the University of Oregon

"Published by the School of Journalism, University of Oregon; official organ of the Oregon State Editorial Association"

Student newspaper from Pacific University

This file is titled Lyon County Reporter, but contains issues of newspapers from at least 6 states.

Includes issues from 1930-1931, 1935-1936, 1942, 1944, 1950-1952, 1956, 1959, 1961, 1963, 1965-1966, 1971, 1977, 1980, 1982, 1986-1988, 1992, 1995-1996, 2003, 2005-2009.

African American newspaper

Student-run newspaper of Willamette University

Includes both the Sun and the Sheridan Sun