Primary Sources: Historical U.S. Newspapers

Newspapers published in Wellsboro, Wellsville, Tioga, and the surrounding area

Transcriptions of a small number of newspaper articles published during the Civiil War.

Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection contain all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War. Newspapers played a prominent role in the conflict. They helped mobilize public opinion for, or against, the war, relayed battlefield developments to their readers, and documented political life on the homefront. Beyond military or political concerns there is much on cultural topics including travel, arts and leisure, sports and contests, and local social events.

This file includes:
Daily Times 1906-1946
Beaver Valley Times 1953, 1956

This file is mislabeled "Daily Iteam"

Newspapers published in Bloomsburg

Photos taken by the Morning Press newspaper that illustrate people and events at the Bloomsburg State Teachers College

Student newspaper from Montgomery County Community College

Student newspaper from Bryn Mawr College

Newspaper of the Baldwin School

Student newspaper from Dickinson College

This file is titled the Valley Sprit by mistake

Student newspaper from Clarion University of Pennsylvania

This newspapers was sometimes titled the Hershey Weekly or the Hershey Progressive Weekly.

Student newspaper from Lafayette College

Student newspaper from Behrend College

Includes selected articles from newspapers published in Franklin, PA and Augusta, VA

Student newspaper of Gettysburg College

Student newspapers from Penn State Harrisburg

Student newspaper from the Hazleton Campus of Pennsylvania State University

Student newspapers from Lincoln University. Use the Select a Publication search box to choose the newspaper you want to search.

Student newspaper of Kutztown University

Student newspapers from Franklin & Marshall College. Also includes the Lancaster Journal 1816-1836.

Agricultural newspaper

Student newspapers from Bucknell University, including the College Herald, the University Mirror, the Orange and Blue, and the Bucknellian.

Student newspapers of Lincoln University

Student newspapers of Lock Haven University

Student newspaper from Mansfield State Teachers College

Student-run newspaper of Allegheny College

Student newspaper of Millersville University

Student newspaper of Millersville University

German and English language newspaper

Issues of various student newspapers from Clarion University of Pennsylvania - Venango Campus

Student newspaper from Lincoln University, a Historically Black College or University.

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

Episcopal newspaper

Some years are missing.

Student newspaper from the University of Pennsylvania. This is a work in progress, so available dates may change.

Some years are missing.
This file also includes issues of the Geneva Advertiser, published in Geneva, NY, 1841-1842, 1880-1904.

Lebanese American newspaper
Arabic language newspaper

Irish American newspaper

Temperance newspaper

Anti-slavery newspaper.
Published simultaneously in New York and Philadelphia.
Although the Internet Archive includes issues between 1848 and 1864, almost all of the issues are from 1860-1864.

Jewish newspaper

Antislavery newspaper

This is only an index. The database does not include the full text of the articles.

Issues May 14, 1870-May 11, 1871 from the Internet Archive.

Many years are missing and the available issues are scattered.

Includes issues of Arrow and the earlier Arrow and Englicode, student newspapers from the Pennsylvania College for Women, now Clarion University

German language newspaper

German language newspaper

Student newspaper from Dilworth Hall Preparatory School, part of the Pennsylvania College for Women

Student newspaper from Duquesne University

German language newspaper

German language newspaper

Italian language newspaper

German language newspaper

Newspaper intended to publish articles about news and issues of the Catholic church

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

Jewish American newspapers

This file includes only a few issues.

Student from the Pennsylvania College for Women, now Chatham University

German language newspaper

Incomplete; this is an ongoing project

This file includes only 4 issues and all but one are titled Reading Eagle.

Student newspaper of the University of Scranton.

Student newspaper of Susquehanna University

Includes issues of the students newspapers, including the Institute Journal 1891-1895, the Susquehanna Journal 1895-1896, The Susquehanna 1896-1959, and the Crusader 1959-present. Some issues may be missing.

Student newspaper of Slippery Rock University

Student newspaper of Slippery Rock University

Newspapers published in Swarthmore or by Swarthmore College

Daily Collegian (1887-2010) [full page reproduction]
The Daily Collegian and its predecessors, serve as an important source for documenting student life at the Pennsylvania State University. Newspapers, and specifically, student-run newspapers, such as the Daily Collegian, often document university life better than any other source--through their pictures, their editorials, and their reports on student activities and interests. The Daily Collegian as we know it today was preceded by: • Free Lance (monthly) -- April 1887 to April 1904 • State Collegian (weekly) -- September 28, 1904 to June 10, 1911 • Penn State Collegian (weekly) -- September 28, 1911 to August 2, 1940 (also had Summer Collegian issues for some dates during this time period). The Historical Digital Collegian provides access to all words, photographs, and advertisements as well as an exact page image of the newspaper page containing the article. For those readers who prefer to see the newspaper intact, each issue can be browsed page-by-page. Thus, the Historical Digital Collegian allows researchers greater flexibility in locating articles of interest and in allowing greater access for those researchers not able to visit The University Libraries.

Engineering student newspaper from Villanova University

Includes issues of the Villanovan and the Villanova Monthly, its precursor.

Student newspaper from Villanova University

Student newspapers from Lycoming College