Skip to Main Content

We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Primary Sources: Historical U.S. Newspapers

Historical Newspaper Articles, Volume 1
more...less...
"Public Domain newspaper articles in the US span a period of nearly two and a half centuries. Subjects, styles, period, publisher, and length vary greatly. This collection is a sampling of twenty such articles including one from the Journal de Paris. Although some of the works on the Librivox catalog such as the Federalist Papers were published in newspapers, this is the first collection of newspaper articles.
(Summary by James Smith)."
Historical Newspaper Articles, Volume 2
more...less...
"This collection of 20 public domain newspaper articles comprises volume 2 of Historic Newspaper Articles in the LibriVox collection. Both U.S. and U.K. newspapers are represented here. The articles span from 1848 to 1920. Topics covered (e.g., the Triangle Shirt Waist Factory Fire, the troubles of ‘Typhoid Mary’, how to dress for the seashore) vary in length and tone. Although the writers display a range of diverse styles, their words give today’s readers a sense of the tenor of the times. (summary by Lee Ann Howlett)"

The Library of Congress's website, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify United States newspapers that were available in a particular place and time.

Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers

A complete list of newspapers is available at Google News Archive. That list is arranged by title of the newspaper and provides access to a browsable list of all issues available.

Google News Archive

In order to search the newspapers in Google News Archive, do a search in a Google search box that includes the term(s) for which you wish to search and include the phrase "site:news.google.com/newspapers" (without the quotation marks) in the search box. For example, to search for articles about Pearl Harbor, do the search:

site:news.google.com/newspapers "pearl harbor"

The fight for the future of America's local newspapers | Financial Times Your readers need to know they can count on you | by roydiehl | Medium Vintage Photographs of People Reading Newspapers Before the Invention of That Grossly Antisocial Device: The Smartphone ~ Vintage Everyday

19th Century Mormon Article Newspaper Index 1831-1900
Index of newspaper articles about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints or about Utah. The articles are from newspapers throughout the U.S. The articles are not available full text in this database.
African American Historical Newspapers Online (Cornell University)
Afro Black History Archives
Searchable database of African American newspapers which are also available on Google News Archive. Includes the [Baltimore] Afro-American 1902-1957, the [Baltimore] Afro-American Ledger 1906-1917, the Baltimore Afro-American 1943-2003, and the Washington Afro-American 1938-1988.
Agriculture and Rural Life Newspapers (Auburn U.)
Ancestor Hunt: Newspapers!
Scroll down the page to see a list of links to page for each state. This site has an extensive list of newspapers.
Black Abolitionist Archives: Newspapers
Newspaper clippings from a variety of newspapers. This doesn't contain the full text of the newspapers, just selected articles.
Black Quotidian: Everyday History in African-American Newspapers
Includes newspaper clippings from African American newspapers in a searchable database.
Catholic Newspapers Online
This ongoing project hopes to eventually digitize every Catholic newspaper in North America.
Charleston Museum Illustrated Newspaper Collection
Images from a variety of illustrated newspapers, published mainly in the 19th century.
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers 1836-1922
An extensive collection of newspapers, from the Library of Congress.
Civil War Newspaper Illustrations (Fort Sumter National Monument)
Civil War Newspapers (University of Texas at Tyler)
Collegiate Chronicle Student Newspaper Repository (University of Illinois)
A prototype collection of student newspapers from various universities in the United States. This collection is expected to grow as money becomes available.
DigiNole: Historical Newspapers 17th-20th centuries (Florida State University)
While the contents focuses on the southeastern U.S., there are various newspapers in this database.
Digital Library of Danish American Newspapers and Journals 1893 - (Museum of Danish America)
Includes newspapers from California, Iowa, and Nebraska.
Digitalna Knijiznica Slovenije (Slovenian Digital Library)
Click on the link to "Casopisje in Clanki" to see a list that includes newspaper titles. This list includes several Slovenian language newspapers from the U.S.
Drew Pearson's Merry-Go-Round (1932-1969) (American University)
Drew Pearson was a columnist who was published in many newspapers around the United States.
Farm, Field, and Fireside Agriculture Newspaper Collection 1841-1939 (University of Illinois)
Database of rural newspapers.
GenDisasters.com: Events That Touched Our Ancestors' Lives
Transcribed newspaper articles about train wrecks, fires, floods, shipwrecks, and other disasters. Browse by date, state, or type of disaster.
GI Movement: Underground Newspapers (University of Washington)
Anti-Vietnam War underground newspapers published in the Pacific Northwest
Historical African American Newspapers Online (Marist U.)
Links to online African American newspapers, both free and subscription sources.
Historic German-American Newspapers (AncestorHunt)
Historic Newspapers from Baylor University
This collection includes a variety of digitized newspapers. Most newspapers are represented by only a few issues.
History Unfolded: U.S. Newspapers and the Holocaust (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum)
Illustrated Police News 1876-1896
Many issues are missing
Labor Press Project: Radical and Labor Newspapers in the Pacific Northwest
Scattered newspaper clippings.
Last Seen: Finding Family After Slavery
A database of ads placed by former slaves who were trying to locate family members 1863-early 20th century.
Lewis and Clark: "We send from this place with dispatches."
Reproduces selected contemporary newspaper articles.
Luminist Archives: Periodical Archives: Dissident, Counterculture, & "Underground" Publications
Digitized issues of underground newspapers. Most of the newspapers are represented by only a few issues.
Newspaper (Library of Congress)
This site searches Library of Congress digital collections that include newspapers, such as Chronicling America, Stars and Stripes from WWI, newspapers from War Relocation Authority camps, etc.
NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (University of Florida)
Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures, 1914-1919
Northwest History Database (Washington State Universities)
A database that includes newspaper clippings
Pacific Northwest Minority, Ethnic, and Special Interest Newspapers (University of Washington)
Published late 19th century - present.
Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper and Periodical Index (University of Washington)
An index to newspapers, scrapbooks, pamphlets, etc. dealing with life in Seattle, Washington, and the Pacific Northwest. This index started as a card file in 1935.
Portuguese-American Digital Newspaper Collection
Includes newspapers from Massachusetts and California
Secession Era Editorials Project
Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I 1918-1919
Swedish-American Newspapers (Minnesota Historical Society)
Swedish-language newspapers
US NewsMap
Searches more than 11 million newspapers from 1789-1922
World War History: Newspaper Clippings 1914 to 1926
Daily records and comments as appeared in American and international newspapers

The databases listed below are part of the FAU Libraries collection and to access them will require you to log in using our FAU Net ID.

Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900 This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974-1996 This link opens in a new window
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Historical Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Historical Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window

Last updated on Sep 11, 2024 1:49 PM

Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911