Primary Sources: Historical U.S. Newspapers

Newspapers published in Acadia, Crowley, Church Point, and Rayne

Newspapers published in Ferriday, and Vidalia

Newspapers published in Springhill and Minden. This database also includes other resources.

Note: This is a pilot project that digitized representative pages from the earliest examples of newspapers from each of Louisiana's 64 parishes. It is not meant to be an extensive run of any single newspaper.

This site includes only scattered issues.

Civilian Conservation Corps newspaper

This file also includes The Enterprise 1985, published in Boardman, OR.

This file also includes the Era, from New Orleans, 1863-1865. There are also newspapers from Virginia, Maryland, Ohio and California in this file.

French language newspaper

German language newspaper

German language newspaper

German language newspaper

German language newspaper

This file also include the Bee, from New Orleans, 1831-1835. There are also newspapers from Virginia, Maryland, Ohio, and California in this file.

French language newspaper

French language newspaper. Some years missing.

French language newspaper. Some years missing.

French language newspaper

French language newspaper

French language newspaper

The title is actually Le Courrier de la Louisiane.
French language newspaper

Includes some issues of Le Courier de la Louisiane, the French language version of the newspaper.

English and French language newspaper

German language newspaper

German language newspaper

German language newspaper

"Journal officiel de Diocese de la Nouvelle-Orleans." French and English language newspaper

This site, titled "Lost Friends" is a searchable database of advertisements from people who are looking for friends and family separated when they were slaves.

German language newspaper

Student newspapers of the Louisiana State University Medical Center. This went by various titles: The Tiger, Journal of the LSU School of Medicine, and Tiger Rag.

This is only an index to the articles in the Times-Picayune. You must pay to get a copy of the full text article.

African American newspaper
Only scattered issues