Primary Sources: Historical U.S. Newspapers

This is only an index. It does not include full text articles. Among many other other kinds of resources, this database indexes newspaper articles published in California.

Searchable database of English and Spanish language newspapers published in Arizona, California, Texas, and Mexico. Includes newspapers from Los Angeles, Berkeley, and San Francisco.

Portuguese language newspapers. Includes newspapers from California and Massachusetts.

Official newspaper of District No. 1 of the Oilfield, Gas Well & Refinery Workers of America.

Black Panther weekly newspaper.
This site has digitized only the front and back covers of the newspaper.

A small selection of newspapers about the Free Speech Movement. Articles are included from Dec. 1964-March 1965.

Newspaper of the Chico Army Air Field, unit of the 21st Bomb Wing

Student newspaper for California State University, Fresno

This file is titled Lyon County Reporter, but contains issues of more than 6 newspapers from various states.

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

African American newspaper
Includes photographs published in the California Eagle

Spanish-language Hispanic American newspaper

"Defensor de los mexicanos en Estados Unidos."

"California's Fighting Newspaper"
Underground newspaper

Spanish language newspaper

Includes only images.

Includes only images

Published half in Spanish and half in English until 1855

Searching is free, but you have to pay to read the full article. Ask a librarian about BGSU's limited access to some LA Times full text.

Images only

African American newspaper

Student newspapers from the University of Southern California. Includes El Rodeo and the Daily Trojan.

"Official publication of the Manzanar Relocation Center Administration and newspaper of Manzanar Community Enterprises."
Japanese and English language newspaper

Newspaper published by Japanese Americans who were interned at the Manzanar War Relocation Camp during World War II

Student newspaper of East Los Angeles College

"Published at the Tule Lake Relocation Center established by the War Relocation Authority"
English and Japanese language newspaper

"Published at the Tule Lake Relocation Center established by the War Location Authority"
Japanese and English language newspaper

"Published at the Tule Lake Relocation Center established by the War Relocation Authority"
English and Japanese language newspaper

"Published at the Tule Lake Relocation Center established by the War Relocation Authority"
English and Japanese language newspaper

Student newspaper of California State University at Northridge

Student newspaper from Stanford University

"Made up from the Daily Bee."

Student newspapers from the University of California at San Diego. Doesn't include the UCSD Guardian, but includes such titles as Black Voices, Ujima, The People's Voice, etc.

Student newspaper from the University of California at San Diego

Chinese-language newspaper

African American newspaper

Hindi language newspaper

Portuguese language newspaper

This database includes scattered issues of a number of newspapers.

English and Japanese language newspaper

Japanese American newspaper

Includes images only

Published by the Passenger Department Southern Pacific Company

Student newspaper from the University of California, San Francisco

Italian language newspaper

Official organ of the Communist Party of the U.S.A., Section of Communist International

This file also includes newspapers from Louisiana, Virginia, Maryland, and Ohio.

Student newspapers from California Polytechnic State University at San Luis Obispo

This is only an index. It does not include full text newspaper articles. This index also includes a number of other resources, in addition to newspapers.

This file includes:
Union Democrat 1855-1856 (only 2 issues)
Daily Union Democrat 1962-1981

Includes Torrance Press and Torrance Herald

Published at the Tule Lake internment camp established by the War Relocation Authority

"Published at the Tule Lake Relocation Center established by the War Relocation Authority"

Newspaper published by Japanese Americans interned at the Tule Lake War Relocation Camp during World War II.

Includes the Whittier Daily News, the Whittier Register, and the Whittier News

In addition to other resources, this database indexes articles from the Colorado Springs Gazette and other local newspapers. The full text of some articles is available.

Student newspapers from Colorado College, including Tiger and Catalyst

Italian language newspaper
Many issues missing

This file includes:
Eaton Herald 1906-1908
North Weld Herald 1994-1995

Newspapers from Estes Park, provided by the Estes Park History Rescue Project. There are quite a few issues of the newspapers that are missing.

Newspaper published by Japanese Americans who were interned at the Granada War Relocation Center during World War II. This Center was frequently called Camp Amache. The file also includes issues of other newspapers published at the Camp, including Amache Hi and the Granada Christian Church News.

Some issues are titled "The Forum," some are titled "San Miguel Forum" and some are titled "San Miguel Basin Forum."

Some issues have the title San Miguel Basin Forum.

Also includes the Salida Mail, the Salida Record, and the Chafee County Record.

Newspapers from Branford and other local newspapers

This file also includes issues of the Sunday Herald published in Baltimore, MD in 1881, 1884, 1888, and 1890-1898; and issues of the Sunday Herald published in Norwalk, CT in 1972.

This site contains student newspapers of various titles, all from Fairfield University.

Searching and abstracts are free. The full text of the article is pay only.

Some issues say "Wallingford Edition" at the top of the front page.

Student newspaper of Yale University

Newspapers from North Haven.

This file also includes issues of the Sunday Herald published in Baltimore, MD in 1881, 1884, 1888, and 1890-1898; also issues of the Sunday Herald published in Bridgewater, CT in 1949-1963.