Skip to Main Content

We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Primary Sources: Historical U.S. Newspapers

Delaware Newspapers

ACollection: Chronicling America: Delaware Newspapers
Lewes: Cape Gazette 1993-
Lewes: Cape Gazette 2001-2009
Newark: Newark Post 1910-1954,1985-2011
Newark: Review 1882-2012
Student newspaper of the University of Delaware
New Castle: Digital Archives of the New Castle Public Library 1938-2015
Various newspapers
Rehobeth Beach: Cape Gazette 2001-2009
Wilmington: Delaware Gazette 1785-1786, 1789-1790
Wilmington: Star-News 1949-1958, 1961-1967, 1970-2007
Wilmington: Star 1915-1916, 1924, 1927-1928, 1935
This file also includes issues of The Star published in Crawfordsville, IN in 1904.
Wilmington: Sunday Morning Star 1881-1950
Wilmington: Sunday Star 1950-1953
This file also includes issues of the Sunday Star published in Crawfordsville, IN 1898-1899, 1901-1903.
Wilmington: Wilmington Sunday Star 1953-1954

District of Columbia Newspapers

A Collection: Chronicling America: District of Columbia Newspapers
A Collection: Civil War Washington: Newspapers 1864-1865
Newspapers published by D.C. hospitals during the Civil War. Currently includes issues of the Armory Square Hospital Gazette, the Cripple, and the Soldiers' Journal (Feb 2013)
District of Collumbia: Eagle 1925-2015
Student newspaper from American University
District of Columbia: American Spectator 1830-1831
District of Columbia: Daily Morning Chronicle 1868
District of Columbia: Evening Star 1852-1855, 1890
District of Columbia: Evening Star 1929, 1938, 1949, 1961-1962
District of Columbia: Extra Globe 1835, 1838-1841
District of Columbia: Globe 1833
District of Columbia: Hoya 1920-1930, 1959-1980
Student newspaper of Georgetown University
District of Columbia: Machinist 1946-1994
Newspaper of the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
District of Columbia: National Era 1847-1860
District of Columbia: National Era 1847-1860
African American newspaper
District of Columbia: National Intelligencer 1823-1837
District of Columbia: National Intelligencer 1842
District of Columbia: National Intelligencer 1842-1843
This site includes only a few issues of this newspaper.
National Tribune, 1877-1917
Monthly newspaper for Union veterans and their families
District of Columbia: New National Era 1870-1874
African American newspaper
Published by Frederick Douglass
This site includes only scattered issues of this newspaper
District of Columbia: Tower 1922-2013
Student newspaper of the Catholic University of America
District of Columbia: Washington Afro-American 1938-1939, 1949-1988
African American newspaper
District of Columbia: Washington Afro-American Red Star Edition 1975
African American newspaper
District of Columbia: Washington Daiy News 1934
District of Columbia: Washington Tribune 1936-1946
African American newspaper
District of Columbia: Wisconsin Kourier 1924-1925
Ku Klux Klan newspaper

Last updated on Sep 11, 2024 1:49 PM

Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911