Skip to Main Content
This summer, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Just for You
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 180 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more!
Criticism and Interpretive Articles
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. This resource focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subjects ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content.
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Search the Library for Books and Titles
- Literature (General): PN1 - 6790
- African Literature: PL8009.5 - 8014
- American Literature: PS1 - 3626
- Black Literature (General): PN841
- English Literature: PR1 - 9680
- German Literature: PT1 - 4897
- Greek Literature: PA3005 - 4505
- French Literature: PQ1 - 3999
- Italian Literature: PQ4001 - 5999
- Roman Literature: PA6000 - 6971
- Spanish Literature: PQ6001-8929
- Individual Authors: PS700-3576
- Poetry: PN1010 - 1525, PN6099 - 6110 (Poetry Collections)
- Drama: PN1600 - 1693
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by M. C. Howatson
The third edition of The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature is the complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage. It not only presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth andliterature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds. With an extensive web of cross-references and a useful chronological table and location maps (all of which have been brought fully up to date), this volume traces thedevelopment of literary forms and the classical allusions which have become embedded in our Western culture.Extensively revised and updated since the second edition was published in 1989, the Companion acknowledges changes in the focus of scholarship over the last twenty years, through the incorporation of a far larger number of thematic entries such as medicine, friendship, science, freedom (concept of),and sexuality. These topical entries provide an excellent starting point to the exploration of their subjects in classical literature; after all, for many aspects of classical society the literature we have inherited is the primary (and sometimes the only) source material. Additions and changes havebeen made taking into account the advice of teachers and lecturers in Classics, ensuring that current educational needs are catered for.In addition to newly covered topics, the Companion still plays to its traditional strengths, with extensive biographies of classical literary figures from Aeschylus to Zeno; entries on a multitude of literary styles from biography and rhetoric to lyric poetry and epic, encompassing everything inbetween; and character entries and plot summaries for the major figures and myths in the classical canon. It is the ideal guide for students in Classics, and for all who are passionate about the vast and varied literary tradition bequeathed to us from the classical world.
Call Number: PA31 .O93 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism by Martin Coyle (Editor); Peter Garside (Editor); Malcolm Kelsall (Editor); John Peck (Editor)
This Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive guide yet both to the nature and content of literature, and to literary criticism. In ninety essays by leading international critics and scholars, the volume covers both traditional topics such as literature and history, poetry, drama and the novel, and also newer topics such as the production and reception of literature. Current critical ideas are clearly and provocatively discussed, while the volume's arrangement reflects in a dynamic way the rich diversity of contemporary thinking about literature. Each essay seeks to provide the reader with a clear sense of the full significance of its subject as well as guidance on further reading. An essential work of reference, The Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism is a stimulating guide to the central preoccupations of contemporary critical thinking about literature. Special Features * Clearly written by scholars and critics of international standing for readers at all levels in many disciplines * In-depth essays covering all aspects, traditional and new, of literary studies past and present * Useful cross-references within the text, with full bibliographical references and suggestions for further reading * Single index of authors, terms, topics
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required)
Publication Date: 2002-09-11
Find full, online works of literature through the following links!
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Includes other indexes and databases like Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers, LitFinder, and Twayne's Authors.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose,180 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Classics Archive This link opens in a new window
Works of classical literature.
African American / African Diaspora Literature
See the African American Literature Research Guide for sources that focus on works by Black, African American and other writers of the African Diaspora.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora This link opens in a new window
Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora is a comprehensive collection of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora, offering short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon. It features over 11,707 short stories and more than 82,061 pages.
North, Central and South American Literature
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
A collection of prose, poetry, memoirs, essays, plays, and other materials by Latin American women writers.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
Brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry and fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Some items included have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family This link opens in a new window
Brings together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
ARTFL This link opens in a new window
Consists of nearly 2600 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Titles include many classics, sacred texts, books in world languages, and literature in the public domain.
Writing and Citing
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of America
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
The Elements of Style by William Strunk; E. White; William Strunk
You know the authors' names. You recognize the title. You've probably used this book yourself. This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered.This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.
Call Number: PE1408 .S772 2000b
Publication Date: 1999-07-23
Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium, the Dictionary is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Writing Essays about Literature by Kelley Griffith
Widely used in introductory literature courses as a style guide or as a supplement to anthologies, this text provides students with valuable guidelines for interpreting literature and writing essays. The text includes full-length selections as well as student essays.
Call Number: PN83 .G72 2006
Publication Date: 2005-05-23