Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
The following online library sources can help you find scripts, plays and other works of literature:
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time.
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Future releases will also feature journals, reference works, and interviews with key writers.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
A collection of prose, poetry, memoirs, essays, plays, and other materials by Latin American women writers.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Some items included have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 180 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Delivers biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works. Covers authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Funded by statewide allocation.
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more!
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new window
FAU Libraries does not subscribe to all titles offered through this site. Oxford Scholarly Editions Online is a cross-searchable collection of major works in humanities. Collections available to FAU include Renaissance Drama, Renaissance Poetry, Renaissance Prose, and Renaissance Shakespeare.
Criticism and Interpretation
Modern American Poetry Site
The anthology contains poems by hundreds of different modern and contemporary poets. It is organized by author, and each author page includes available works, interviews, and general or contexual criticism.
Selected Anthologies and Books
The Book of Songs by Shi, Jing
The oldest collection of poetry in world literature.
Call Number: PL2997.S452 W3 1960 (Boca Raton and Jupiter Campus Libraries)
Orlando Furioso by Lodovico Ariosto; David R. Slavitt (Translator); Charles Ross (Introduction by)
The appearance of David R. Slavittâe(tm)s translation of Orlando Furioso (âeoeMad Orlandoâe), one of the great literary achievements of the Italian Renaissance, is a publishing event. With this lively new verse translation, Slavitt introduces readers to Ariostoâe(tm)s now neglected masterpieceâe"a poem whose impact on Western literature can scarcely be exaggerated. It was a major influence on Spenserâe(tm)s Faerie Queene. William Shakespeare borrowed one of its plots. Voltaire called it the equal of the Iliad, the Odyssey, and Don Quixote combined. More recently, Italo Calvino drew inspiration from it. Borges was a fan. Now, through translations of generous selections from this longest of all major European poems, Slavitt brings the poem to life in ways previous translators have not.At the heart of Ariostoâe(tm)s romance are Orlandoâe(tm)s unrequited love for the pagan princess Angelica and his jealous rage when she elopes. The action takes place against a besieged Paris, as Charlemagne and his Christian paladins defend the city against the Saracen king. The poem, however, obeys no geography or rules but its own, as the story moves by whim from Japan to the Hebrides to the moon; it includes such imaginary creatures as the hippogriff and a sea monster called the orc.Orlando Furioso is Danteâe(tm)s medieval universe turned upside down and made comic. Characterized by satire, parody, and irony, the poem celebrates a new humanistic Renaissance conception of man in an utterly fantastical world. Slavittâe(tm)s translation captures the energy, comedy, and great fun of Ariostoâe(tm)s Italian.
Call Number: PQ4582.E5 A3813 2009 (Jupiter Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2009-11-15
Poetry by Michael Meyer
Publication Date: 2003-10-15
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Claribel Alegria is universally recognized as the major living poet of El Salvador. Casting Off extends the themes Alegria explored in Sorrow: the loss of a loved one, solitude, and reflections on the past.
Quiet Fire by Juliana Chang
This landmark anthology provide the first historical survey of Asian American poetry. The poems were selected to reflect both the high quality and wide range of Asian American poetic discourse. The anthology begins with writings from the 1890s by Sadakichi Harmann and Yone Noguchi and includes poems by Jun Fujita (1923), Bunishi Kagawa (1930), Hisaye Yamamoto (1940), Diana Change 91946) , and others. Earlly work by well-known writers Joy Kogawa, Jessica Hagedorn, and Lawson Inada are also represented. Essays by Fay Chiang, Eric Chock, Alan Chong Lau, Kimiko Hahn, and Gerry Shikatani give an overview of regional Asian American poetry scenes from the 1970s through the 1990s, and the editor provides a complete bibliography of published volumes of Asian American poetry. An important source book, Quiet Fire makes a significant contribution to the remapping of American poetry and Asian American literature.
Call Number: PS591.A76 Q75 1996
Publication Date: 1998-07-08
American Hybrid by Cole Swensen; David St. John (Editor)
This spirited anthology of contemporary American poetry focuseson the new poem -- the hybrid -- a synthesis of traditional andexperimental styles. As Cole Swensen argues in the introduction to this comprehensivenew anthology, the long-acknowledged "fundamental division" betweenexperimental and traditional is disappearing in American poetry infavor of hybrid approaches that blend trends from accessiblelyricism to linguistic exploration. The focus in AmericanHybrid is on the blend; the more than seventy poets featuredhere -- including Jorie Graham, Albert Goldbarth, and Lyn Hejinian-- have found new and often unique ways to reconfigure theinnumerable and sometimes conflicting voices of the past thirtyyears. The editors have crafted short introductory essays on eachof the poets in the anthology, providing biographical backgroundsand positioning them within the current of contemporary poetry.This new anthology is essential reading for those who care aboutthe present moment -- and the future -- of American verse.
Call Number: PN6101 .P525 2004
Publication Date: 2009-03-30