Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Criticism and Interpretation Articles
Find articles that critically interpret various literary works! The Libraries' Indexes & Databases are rich sources of these articles that can help you with your literary assignments and those that require an analysis. The following links lead to various sources:
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts and literature.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. This resource focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subjects ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes Humanities Full Text and Humanities Index Retrospective.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews, and book reviews.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. Also provides statistics on the number of articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as the number submitted.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
This source provides many book reviews.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Search with the Times Digital Archive on Gale NewsVault.
Includes the complete run of The Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2008, including reviews, letters, poems, articles and literary criticism. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the worlds most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Includes citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion.
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together.
Each journal has online availability through various sources. Its library catalog record link will provide additional ones to the sources with information about their coverage.