Web Search Tips
Database Search Tips
Catalog Search Tips
Keep it simple! Start by typing the name of a relevant thing, place, or concept.
Add relevant words if you don't see what you want after doing a simple search.
It may take several attempts to find the right words to describe your search.
Try words that a website would use to describe what you're looking for.
Not ideal: [country where bats are an omen of good luck]
Source: Google Basic Search Help
Too many results:
Start small! Begin with just one or a few search terms. Add additional terms if you have too many results.
Too few search terms - If you only have one general term in the search box, consider another word that expresses what about that term you are interested in.
Use limiters - Limiters (such as date and format) give you more targeted results.
Topic is too broad - Narrow the scope of your search. Think about the different aspects of your topic you will address and search for them separately. Then synthesize the information. You may need to narrow your topic if it is too large to cover in a short paper.
Too few results:
Is this the best database for your topic? If you are using a subject-specific database (education, psychology, etc.), try a multidisciplinary database like Academic Search Complete or a specialized search engine like Google Scholar. Be prepared to try several different databases. If you need a subject-specific database, try the Subject or Course Guides.
Use good search terms - Check spelling and brainstorm synonyms or related terms. You can use OR between synonyms (for example salary OR pay OR compensation).
Too many search terms - If you have three or more search terms, try removing one to see if your results improve.
Too many limiters - Use only limiters that are absolutely necessary.
Your topic is too narrow - What is the broader theme of your topic? Break your topic down and search for different parts separately. Then synthesize the information you find.
Looking for books, print journals, or media? Search in the FAU Libraries Catalog.
Can you use a limiter to focus your results? Use the facets on the left side of the search results page to limit by subject, author, language, etc.
Looking for a specific article? Use OneSearch or use a subject-specific database from the Databases list. If you know the journal title for an online journal article, you can also search the journal itself (see FAU's Electronic Journals).
Or if you use Google Scholar and add "Florida Atlantic University" to your Google Scholar Library Links (under "Settings") you can search for articles at FAU. If you see Find it @ FAU next to the citation, then we have it.
Looking for Class Reserves? Find Course Reserves on the FAU Libraries homepage.
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431