Primary Sources: U.S. Presidents

This resource enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.

Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) and Series II (1758-1900).

Access is limited to six (6) simultaneous users.
Covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present providing indexing and bibliographic references for the contents of 1,700 journals.

Funded by statewide allocation.

From the comprehensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, this collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.

American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society???s holdings of slavery and abolition materials includes works published over the course of more than 100 years. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.

Open Access
Search through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.

A ProQuest website featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Focuses on historic and contemporary experiences and perspectives of African Americans, including the Black Lives Matter movement.

Open Access
This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Open Access
This product includes the American history and cultural collections of the Library of Congress, now in one location. In addition there is international coverage relating to history and culture, as well as current international government, law, and politics.

Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s is a full-text database of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's previously classified files on prominent radicals and radical organizations from 1956 to 1971. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society.

Gale Primary Sources combines Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online (modules 1-4), The Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, allowing users to search all databases simultaneously. These primary source collections include digitized monographs, personal diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and maps.

The Gilded Age brings primary documents and scholarly commentary together into a searchable collection that is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history.

In CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition, you can find the entire collection of the acclaimed Historic Documents print editions. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

The Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines website makes it possible for you to discover the lively news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.

Contains historical images and texts from Arcadia Publishing's series of local history books, covering thousands of towns and cultural groups in all 50 states. All of the images and texts have been indexed, enabling users to explore the depth of a town's history or to compare the histories of various towns, cultures, ethnic groups, architectural features, and more.

The NAACP Papers collection consists of 6 modules containing internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. These documents chart the NAACP's work, with a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972; this covers the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, and beyond.

Brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present, brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. This edition includes the Women's Commission Reports.