LibGuides: Primary Sources: U.S. Presidents: Monroe

James Monroe - pictures

Primary Sources: James Monroe

Avalon Project - The Monroe Doctrine
James Monroe - The Internet Archive
James Monroe First Inaugural Address
James Monroe Second Inaugural Address
The Monroe Doctrine
more...less...
"The Monroe Doctrine was articulated in President James Monroe's seventh annual message to Congress on December 2, 1823. The European powers, according to Monroe, were obligated to respect the Western Hemisphere as the United States' sphere of interest."

Book Sources: James Monroe

Click the title for location and availability information.

The Autobiography of James Monroe by Stuart Gerry Brown (Editor); William M. Ferraro
Call Number: View Online
ISBN: 0815610890
Publication Date: 2017-03-30
The Papers of James Monroe by James Monroe; Daniel Preston; Marlena C. DeLong (Editor)
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection E302 .M74 2003
ISBN: 0313319782
Publication Date: 2003-02-28
The Writings of James Monroe - Volume 1 by James Monroe
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Including a Collection of his Public and Private Papers and Correspondence now for the first time printed
The Writings of James Monroe - Volume 2 by James Monroe
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Including a Collection of his Public and Private Papers and Correspondence now for the first time printed
The Writings of James Monroe - Volume 3 by James Monroe
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Including a Collection of his Public and Private Papers and Correspondence now for the first time printed
The Writings of James Monroe - Volume 4 by James Monroe
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Including a Collection of his Public and Private Papers and Correspondence now for the first time printed
The Writings of James Monroe - Volume 5 by James Monroe
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Including a Collection of his Public and Private Papers and Correspondence now for the first time printed
The Writings of James Monroe - Volume 6 by James Monroe
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Including a Collection of his Public and Private Papers and Correspondence now for the first time printed
The Writings of James Monroe - Volume 7 by James Monroe
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Including a Collection of his Public and Private Papers and Correspondence now for the first time printed