Primary Sources: U.S. Presidents

"Will our children (in the 21st century) enjoy a better quality of life?"

"The Clifford H. (Baldy) Baldowski Editorial Cartoons at the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies contains 6,740 pen and ink drawings and 2,460 velox. The digital database contains approximately 2,600 cartoons from the collection. Clifford H. Baldowski, known by the pen-name "Baldy," depicted the local, national, and international news of his day in the editorial pages of the Augusta Chronicle, Miami Herald, and Atlanta Constitution. His work is a rich source of information for those studying political reorganization in Georgia and the growth of Atlanta as well as the Civil Rights Movement, the Cold War, the Vietnam conflict, Middle East tensions, and Watergate."

THURSDAY, JANUARY 20, 1977

The Library/Research section of the site contains online access to selected documents, oral history transcripts, and photos from the Carter Presidency. Additional information on other available materials, related websites, etc. is also provided.

"The Carter White House allowed the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) to conduct exit interviews with departing staff. In addition, the NARA staff interviewed a number of members of the Carter and Smith (Rosalynn Carter’s family) families between 1978 and 1980.

The Jimmy Carter Library has worked to augment this collection by acquiring interview tapes, notes, and transcripts from other sources. The National Park Service conducted interviews between 1985 and 1990 with friends and family members of the Carters in Plains, GA, and has allowed the Library to have copies of those interviews. The White Burkett Miller Center of the University of Virginia conducted a series of lengthy oral history interviews in the early 1980’s, and has made those available through the Library."

A collection of pdf documents at the Carter Library related to the Panama Canal Treaties. Part of a lesson plan on treaty ratification.