Primary Sources: U.S. Presidents

"This Cleveland Memory Project highlights items found in the James A. Garfield Collection at the Hiram College Archives.
The James A. Garfield Collection at the Hiram College Archives contains primary and secondary sources regarding the life and death of President Garfield and his family."

"The papers of U.S. president, army officer, lawyer, and educator James A. Garfield (1831-1881) consist of approximately 80,000 items (200,083 images), most of which were digitized from 177 reels of previously produced microfilm. Spanning the years 1775-1889, with the bulk dating from 1850 to 1881, the collection contains correspondence, diaries, speeches, records of Garfield's Civil War military service, legal records, genealogical material, college notebooks, tributes, printed matter, scrapbooks, and other material relating primarily to Garfield's career and death. Subjects include Ohio and national politics, the disputed election of 1876, tariff and national finance, Credit Mobilier of America, and the Fitz-John Porter court-martial. Other topics include education, Hiram College, the Disciples of Christ, and the Salish (Flathead) Indians. The collection also includes correspondence between Garfield and his wife Lucretia ("Crete") Rudolph Garfield; papers (1881-1889) of Garfield's daughter Mary ("Mollie") Garfield Stanley-Brown; and Garfield family correspondence."

"The papers of Mollie Garfield (later Mary Garfield Stanley-Brown) regarding her father, President James Garfield in the Archives of American Art were digitized in 2006. The papers have been scanned in their entirety, and total 66 images."