Primary Sources: America (U.S.A.) History

The Primary Sources: America (U.S.A.) History Subject Guide at Florida Atlantic University (FAU) is an extensive resource designed to assist researchers in delving into American history through original documents and materials. This guide provides access to a broad range of primary sources that chronicle the nation's evolution from its earliest indigenous inhabitants to its status as a global superpower in the 21st century. Primary sources are defined as original records created during the time under study, offering an unfiltered, firsthand view of historical events. These materials include letters, diaries, official records, photographs, newspaper articles, speeches, interviews, and archaeological findings. By providing access to these authentic voices from the past, the guide enables researchers to gain deeper insights into the experiences, perspectives, and decision-making processes that shaped American history.

To help users navigate the extensive landscape of primary sources, the guide offers practical strategies for locating and evaluating materials. Researchers are encouraged to use the FAU Library Catalog, combining their research interests with specific resource types. For example, search for "Civil War - sources" or "Women's suffrage - diaries" to find relevant primary documents. The guide also suggests using the terms "sources" for topics and "archives" for people and organizations to ensure comprehensive search results. Covering the entire span of American history, the subject guide provides context for major historical periods and events, including the flourishing of diverse indigenous cultures, European colonization and the establishment of the thirteen British colonies, the American Revolution, and the founding of the United States, westward expansion and the concept of manifest destiny, the Civil War and its aftermath, industrialization and the Progressive Era, the World Wars and the Cold War, the civil rights movement, and recent challenges such as the Great Recession and the COVID-19 pandemic. The guide allows researchers to trace the evolution of American society, politics, and culture over time by offering access to primary sources from these various eras.

The guide includes links to digital collections and databases that contain a wealth of primary source materials. These resources offer eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, and genealogical records. For instance, the American History Commons provides access to books, newspapers, and periodicals that offer views of American history and culture during the 19th century. To support comprehensive research, the guide also directs users to special collections and archives that may contain rare or unique materials. These collections often house manuscripts, correspondence, and other documents that provide invaluable insights into specific historical figures or events. Recognizing the importance of government records in understanding American history, the guide includes information on accessing official publications. These documents offer crucial insights into policy decisions, legislative processes, and the workings of government throughout the nation's history.

The guide also emphasizes the importance of special collections and archives in primary source research. These unique collections often contain rare and one-of-a-kind materials that provide valuable insights into historical events and figures. Researchers can find brief descriptive information on special collections, locate manuscript collections using the library's discovery search, and find books in special collections using the library catalog. Digital collections are also available, providing searchable databases of selected items from various library collections.

Attention users: If you encounter a broken link using this guide, please email me. Include the following information: the name of the guide, the specific page where the link is located, and the name of the broken link. Your feedback helps ensure that the links remain functional and practical. Thank you so much for your help in maintaining the quality of this resource.

Important Note: The primary source print materials and web pages featured in this guide may contain content that could be upsetting or challenging to view. The materials presented here may reflect outdated, biased, offensive, and potentially violent views or opinions of individuals from when they were initially created. Additionally, some materials may pertain to violent or graphic events and are preserved for their historical significance. It's important to remember that these materials reflect the language and culture of the time they were written or created. Viewer discretion is advised.