LibGuides: Primary Sources: America (U.S.A.) History: War of 1812

The War of 1812, fought between the United States and Great Britain from 1812 to 1815, stemmed from various factors, including British impressment of American sailors, trade restrictions, and territorial disputes. Marked by notable battles like the burning of Washington, D.C., and the defense of Baltimore at Fort McHenry, the conflict showcased American resilience and patriotism. Despite initial setbacks, including the capture of Washington, the war ended in a stalemate with the signing of the Treaty of Ghent in 1814. The war solidified American independence, bolstered national unity, and set the stage for territorial expansion and heightened nationalism in the years to come.

The War of 1812 Primary Source Subject Guide compiles original documents, letters, and accounts from both American and British perspectives, shedding light on the causes, battles, and consequences of this often-overlooked conflict. Through firsthand sources, readers gain insight into the political tensions, military strategies, and cultural impacts of the War of 1812, enriching understanding of this crucial chapter in American history.

Book Sources: War of 1812

Click the title for location and availability information.

The Battle of Lake Erie; a collection of Documents by C. O. Paullin
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Collection of the official accounts, in detail, of all the battles ...
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
fought by sea and land, between the navy and army of the United States and the navy and army of Great Britain, during the years 1812, 13, 14, & 15.
Documents relating to the Invasion of Canada and the Surrender of Detroit by E.A. Cruikshank
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Document Transcriptions of the War of 1812 in the Northwest (1-3; 5 part 2; 6 part 1) by Richard C. Knopf
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Document Transcriptions of the War of 1812 in the Northwest (1-6; 9-10) by Richard C. Knopf
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Fifth series of Historical Documents
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Published under the auspices of "The Literary and Historical Society of Quebec"
Historical Documents [all relating to the war of 1812] by Literary and Historical Society of Quebec
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Journal of an American prisoner at Fort Malden and Quebec in the war of 1812 by James Reynolds
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Journal of William K. Beall., July-August, 1812 by William K. Beall
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Letters on the Late War between the United States and Great Britain by William Cobbett
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Michigan Historical Collections by Michigan Historical Commission
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Volumes 1-38
The Naval War of 1812: A Documentary History by William S. Dudley et al.
Call Number: View Online - Government Documents D 207.10/2:H 62
ISBN: 0160020425
Official Correspondence with the Department of War
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Official Letters of the Military and Naval officers of the United States by John Brannan
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Papers relating to the War of 1812 by Elisha Whittlesey
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Public papers of Daniel D. Tompkins, governor of New York, 1807-1817 by Daniel D. Tompkins
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
The Robert Lucas Journal of the War of 1812 by Robert Lucas
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Select British Documents of the War of 1812 vol. 1
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Select British Documents of the War of 1812 vol. 2
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Select British Documents of the War of 1812 vol. 3 part 1
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Select British Documents of the War of 1812 vol. 3 part 2
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
A Sermon, Preached in Boston, July 23, 1812 by William Ellery Channing
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
the day of the publick[sic] fast, appointed by the executive of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, in consequence of the declaration of war against Great Britain
War, the Work of the Lord, and the Coward Cursed by Joshua Lacy Wilson
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
War-echoes of 1812-13 by Frederick J. Hillig
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
The War of 1812 U. S. War Department Correspondence, 1812-1815 by John C. Fredriksen
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection E355 .U55 2016
ISBN: 9780786494088
Publication Date: 2016-07-30
Soldiers of war of 1812, pensions by United States. Congress. House. Committee on Invalid Pensions.
Call Number: View Online
Publication Date: 1867
Citizens in arms : the army and the militia in American society to the War of 1812 by Lawrence Delbert Cress
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection E181 .C83
ISBN: 080781508X
Publication Date: 1982-01-01

Online Sources on War of 1812

1812 History (Canadian Heritage) Search the 1812 History Collection
America at War: War of 1812 Documents (Louisiana Digital Library) Especially emphasizing the Battle of New Orleans.
British American Diplomacy: War of 1812 and Related Documents (Yale University) British-American Diplomacy War of 1812 and Associated Documents
Chauncey Hosford War of 1812 Papers ( Connecticut State Library) During the War of 1812, Chauncey Hosford (1784-1855) enlisted as a first lieutenant in Capt. Elizur Warner's Company of the United States Infantry Thirty-seventh Regiment on April 30, 1813. His prior military service included a commission as ensign in the Third Company of the Fourteenth Regiment of Connecticut Militia as of April 28, 1810. The Thirty-seventh Regiment was stationed at Fort Griswold in New London. Hosford was assigned to the recruiting service and spent much of the time in his home town of Canaan in Litchfield County recruiting men from the area. Most of this collection of 101 items reflects his recruiting activities. Included is correspondence, orders, weekly recruiting returns that list the names and towns of recruits, and receipts for recruiting expenses. Also included is a muster roll for Capt. Elizur Warner's Company. Hosford was born on September 19, 1784 in Canaan to Jeremiah Hosford, Jr. and his wife Hannah. He was known to have attended Morris Academy in South Farms (Litchfield) from 1804 to 1807. He married Mary Curtis on November 19, 1806. They had four sons: Julius (1807-1887), Hiram (1809-1812), Orville (1810-1840), and Samuel (1819-1875). Hosford served as a Representative to the General Assembly in 1837 and 1838; as a Commissioner of turnpike roads, bridges, ferries in 1832; and at various time in local offices of Justice of the Peace, Sheriff for Litchfield County, Deputy Sheriff, and Assessor. He died on October 19, 1855. The Chauncey Hosford War of 1812 Papers was donated to the Connecticut State Library by David A. Gibbs and researched by Rosemary Pereira in 2012 and is part of the David Arthur Gibbs Collection of Hosford and Gibbs Family Papers. David A. Gibbs is the great-great-great-grandson of Chauncey Hosford.
Collection of the official accounts, in detail, of all the battles fought by sea and land, between the navy and army of the United States and the navy and army of Great Britain, during the years 1812, 13, 14, & 15. (Hathi Trust) ollection of the official accounts, in detail, of all the battles fought by sea and land, between the navy and army of the United States and the navy and army of Great Britain, during the years 1812, 13, 14, & 15.(Hathi Trust)
The Defense and Burning of Washington in 1814: Naval Documents of the War of 1812 Naval Documents of the War of 1812
DocsTeach: War of 1812 Historical Era or Document Type from the War of 1812
The Documentary History of the Campaign upon the Niagara Frontier Links from the Internet Archive. Other versions may also be available.
Enemy Nearly All 'Round Us: Annapolis and the War of 1812 With the war also came suffering and tragedy, as the United States was thrust into a conflict for which it was barely prepared. Its hastily-organized armies were routed by the British, who had the most powerful army and navy in the world. On August 24, 1814, the county was dealt the ultimate defeat, when the national capital was captured and burned. For Marylanders, the war came in February 1813, when the British sailed into the Chesapeake Bay and began a campaign to terrorize the coast. In Annapolis, the next two years were a time of anxious watching and waiting. Annapolis was never attacked during the war, but its residents expected to be at any moment. Contemporary records tell of a city, in the spring and summer of 1814, deserted by its inhabitants, including the governor himself. The British fleet was clearly visible out in the Bay and was closely watched by people like William Barney, standing on the dome with his “excellent glass.” While the residents of the town watched the activities of the fleet with anxiety, the local enslaved population saw an opportunity for escape. Twenty-one slaves, including 20 belonging to Maria Margaret Ogle, rowed out to HMS Menelaus and other ships anchored off of Annapolis. In the end, some 700 Maryland slaves escaped to freedom, including 21 from Annapolis.
Guide to the War of 1812 (Library of Congress) The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with the War of 1812, including manuscripts, broadsides, pictures, and government documents. This guide compiles links to digital materials related to the War of 1812 that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on the War of 1812 and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers.
HathiTrust Digital Library: Personal Narratives of the War of 1812 " United States History War of 1812 Personal narratives." Freely accessible
The History Of Francis Scott Key Francis Scott Key have lately seen in the newspapers that the noted flag which waved over Fort McHenry in the bombardment of Baltimore: is in his possession, and is to be sent to the Centennial.
Isaac Hull Papers, 1791-1862 Isaac Hull (1773-1843) served as lieutenant on USS Constitution throughout the Quasi-War with France and commanded USS Argus during the Barbary Wars. He assumed command of USS Constitution in June 1810 and won the first American frigate victory of the War of 1812 when he defeated HMS Guerriere on August 19, 1812. After the war, Hull commanded the Pacific and Mediterranean Squadrons, as well as the Boston and Washington Navy Yards
Library of Congress: Images: War of 1812 Search list of the Library of Congress on the War of 1812.
March of the Pittsburgh Blues Copybook, ca. 1812-1813 Contains a copybook that was hand-copied from Charles Pentland's original journal, which documents the military activities of the Pittsburgh Blues between September 10, 1812 and September 10, 1813.
Nova Scotian Observer at the Burning of Washington, August 1814 On 24 August 1814 during the War of 1812, after defeating the Americans at the Battle of Bladensburg, a British force led by Major General Robert Ross occupied Washington City and set fire to many public buildings, including the White House and the Capitol. Dr. John Fox, a native of Cornwallis Township, Nova Scotia, was Assistant Surgeon on HMS Majestic. The Majestic joined the squadron of Admiral Sir Alexander Cochran in Chesapeake Bay for the attack on Washington, D.C. The letter presented here was donated to the Nova Scotia Archives in 1983 by a descendant of Dr. Fox. The description of Washington burning is at the bottom of page 2 in both the original and the transcript. At the top of page 3, Fox recounts how British soldiers entered the White House and stole some of President Madison's clothing (and perhaps his underwear) before the official residence was torched.
Official letters of the military and naval officers of the United States, during the war with Great Britain in the years 1812, 13, 14, & 15 : with some additional letters and documents (Hathi Trust) Official letters of the military and naval officers of the United States, during the war with Great Britain in the years 1812, 13, 14, & 15 : with some additional letters and documents elucidating the history of that period / collected and arranged by John Brannan
Papers of the War Department: 1784 to 1800 Offers access to 55,000 documents of the early War Department, many long thought irretrievable but now reconstructed through a multi-year research effort. Covers the history of the Early Republic, from the handling of Indian affairs, pensions and procurement to the nature of the first American citizens’ relationship with their new Federal government.
Personal Journals of the War of 1812 For some of the participants in the War of 1812 the conflict was the defining moment of their lives, and they were well aware of it. A number of young soldiers penned brief diaries and journals that show how the war began for them as an adventure, but ended in many cases with injury, imprisonment and grief. For women, too, the war was a trial, a test of their fortitude and resourcefulness, but it was also a window onto a wider world. Their journals in turn have become our window onto a war that took place two centuries ago.
Primary Documents (American Battlefield Trust) The War of 1812 is one of the least studied wars in American history. Sometimes referred to as the “Second War of Independence,” the War of 1812 was the first large scale test of the American republic on the world stage. With the British Navy impressing American sailors, and the British government aiding Native American tribes in their attacks on American citizens on the frontier, Congress, for the first time in our nation’s history, declared war on a foreign nation: Great Britain. The War of 1812 brought the United States onto the world's stage and was followed by a half-decade now called the "Era of Good Feelings."
more...less...
Documents made available through the American Battlefield Trust - a non-profit dedicated to the preservation of "America’s hallowed battlegrounds"
Also provides links to additional resources.
Treaty of Ghent (Library of Congress) The Treaty of Ghent ended the War of 1812 between the United States and Great Britain. Peace negotiations began in Ghent, Belgium, starting in August of 1814. After four months of talks, the treaty was signed on December 24, 1814. The Senate unanimously ratified the Treaty of Ghent on February 16, 1815.
USS Constitution's Battle Record
more...less...
"In this compilation of original documents "Old Ironsides" and her crew speak for themselves once again, not as they did two hundred years ago with canister and grape, but with their words. They describe the actions and victories of their ship as they witnessed them, and as they reported them back to their superiors or friends ashore. In some instances the losing commander describes what he faced in opposing Constitution. "Old Ironsides" has a perfect battle record, having never been defeated or boarded. This is her story in the words of the men who helped her gain and preserve that record."
War of 1812 (Archives of Ontario) The exhibit also provides an opportunity for the Archives of Ontario to shed light on invaluable documents from its rich collections, many of which have never been published and are made widely available to the public for the first time. Correspondence and diaries contemporary to the war tell the story in the words of those who lived through it. A broad variety of documentary art, illustrations drawn from the work of artists and later photographers has been selected to help bring these contemporary words to life, and sound bites recreate a flavour of the times.
War of 1812 (USS Constitution Museum) The USS Constitution Museum's War of 1812 collection includes printed pamphlets, rare books, certificates, broadsides, and manuscript correspondence, logs, and journals. Together the works document USS Constitution's role in the War of 1812, as well as other political and military aspects of the conflict.
War of 1812 - Maryland Historical Society Collection Overview: The young United States declared war on Great Britain on June 18, 1812, a mere 29 years after the Revolutionary War had formally ended. In the decade preceding the declaration of war, the United States had endured numerous abuses and violations of its national sovereignty at the hands of the British, particularly on the high seas where Britain restricted American trade with continental Europe and impressed thousands of American sailors into the Royal Navy to fight Napoleon's France. Although the heaviest fighting occurred along the U.S.-Canada border, the Chesapeake Bay became a critical theater of the war when Great Britain drew upon its naval might to impose a blockade on the east coast in February of 1813.
War of 1812 Bicentennial The War of 1812 Bicentennial takes place between 2012 and 2015. This site celebrates the war's 200th anniversary through 200 War of 1812 images including illustrations, photographs, and maps, several historical works relating to the War of 1812 including newspaper articles and books, an easy-to-read and slightly irreverant history of the War of 1812, links to news articles of interest and a list of upcoming War of 1812 special events, and more.
The War of 1812 in the Collections of the Lilly Library (Indiana Univ. Bloomington) When it started the War of 1812, the United States was still a very young nation. The revolution had ended only thirty years earlier, and the relationship between the federal government and the states was under intense negotiation. The country consisted of seventeen states, but it was growing fast. The Louisiana Purchase of 1803 added vast territories, and westward expansion created tensions with native Americans.
War of 1812 mss., 1776-1879 (Indiana University) War of 1812 mss., 1776-1879
War of 1812: A Commemoration of the Great State of Delaware's Role in the War of 1812 A Commemoration of the Great State of Delaware's Role in the War of 1812.
War of 1812: Items from the Collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society The Massachusetts Historical Society has a rich collection of materials relating to the War of 1812, as it was the first major military conflict that the United States was involved in after the Society's founding in 1791.
War of 1812: Selected Images from the Collections of the Library of Congress The Prints and Photographs Division holds many images relating to the War of 1812 and its participants. This selected list focuses on items that were created during the war and its immediate aftermath. Original drawings and prints made before 1830 help convey how people of that era saw the war. The list is subdivided by nationality, as this may have affected the allegiance of the maker and the nature of the depiction. Suggestions for locating additional images appear after the select list, and a more inclusive list of images relating to the War of 1812 is available upon request [view Ask a Librarian contact information].

Videos on The War of 1812

First Invasion: The War of 1812 - Foreman, Gary L - 2004 - Available Online

The War of 1812 This documentary shows how the glories of war become enshrined in history. How failures are quickly forgotten and how inconvenient truths are ignored forever. With stunning reenactments, evocative animation and the incisive commentary of key experts, The War of 1812 presents the strange and awkward conflict that shaped the destiny of a continent. This WNED PBS production premiered in October 2011.

HC First Invasion: The War of 1812