LibGuides: African American Literature: Critical / Interpretative Articles and Journals

Critical / Interpretative Articles

General Literature Indexes and Databases

Find articles that critically interpret various literary works! The Libraries' Indexes & Databases are rich sources of these articles that can help you with your literary assignments and those that require an analysis. The following links lead to various library sources:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content. Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. Funded by statewide allocation.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window Gale Literary Sources combines Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors, allowing users to search all databases simultaneously.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text. Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Funded by statewide allocation.

Primary Sources

Identify letters, correspondence, diaries, interviews, and other sources of primary sources.

American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window From the comprehensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, this collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window This resource knits together more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs, to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war.
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society???s holdings of slavery and abolition materials includes works published over the course of more than 100 years. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window A ProQuest website featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Focuses on historic and contemporary experiences and perspectives of African Americans, including the Black Lives Matter movement.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window This collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window Brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

Journals

Many scholarly societies publish journals and other periodicals that focus on African and African-American literature. Browse the following selected titles to see articles by issue.

African American Review
Callaloo
Journal of Black Studies
See the Library Catalog for holdings in print and availability of online versions.
Phylon
Available in print in the library stacks (Call Number E 185.5 .P5, Boca Raton Campus Library)
Research in African Literatures

Theses and Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Find theses and dissertations from the US and international universities.

WorldCat Theses and Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses @ Florida Atlantic University This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of dissertations and theses by Florida Atlantic University students.

FAU Faculty Theses and Dissertations
Theses and dissertations by current and past FAU faculty and affiliates.

Last updated on Oct 16, 2024 2:18 PM