Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Film, Drama and Theatre
The FAU Libraries provides access to many movies, documentaries, interviews, and other works featuring African-American authors and of those in the African diaspora. The libraries have the following:
- Movies, Documentaries and Interviews: available as DVDs or through streaming video.
- Scripts and Screenplays: available through some of the selected sources. The Library Catalog shows what is the collections while some of the online sources may have some.
- Don't You Want to Be Free? (Script by Langston Hughes; Available in Black Drama - Second Edition)
- Fences (Movie; Available in Digital Campus - Swank)
- For Colored Girls Who Have Had Considered Suicide / When the Rainbow Is Enuf (Script by Ntozake Shange; Available in Black Drama - Second Edition)
- George Washington and Black Folk (Script by W.E.B. DuBois; Available in Black Drama - Second Edition)
- The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Movie; Available in Digital Campus - Swank)
- Langston (Script by Ossie B. Davis; Available in Black Drama - Second Edition)
- Malcolm X; based on Alex Haley's The Autobiography of Malcolm X (Movie, DVD; Available at Boca Raton Campus Library Media Center).
- Moonlight (Movie; Available in Digital Campus - Swank)
- Roots (Movie, DVDs; Available in Jupiter Campus Library)
List updated 3/30/2022.
Black Drama - Second Edition This link opens in a new window
The second edition of Black Drama contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online brings together over 40 multidisciplinary video collections from Alexander Street Press, covering art and architecture, diversity, health sciences, history, music and performing arts, psychology and counseling, sciences and engineering, and social sciences. See separate collection titles and the mulitmedia platform -Alexander Street Press- within our A-Z Database List.
Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary source collections and streaming media. Subject matter spans across the curriculum —in literature; music; women's history; black history; psychological counseling and therapy; social and cultural history; drama, medical, theatre, film, and the performing arts; religion; sociology; and other emerging areas. See separate collection titles and the video platform -Academic Video Online- within our A-Z Database List.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
California Newsreel This link opens in a new window
Contains films produced by California Newsreel, a non-profit company focusing on racial justice. Topics include African American life, history, and culture. Contains both documentary and feature films.
Current Affairs in Video This link opens in a new window
Current Affairs in Video features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical issues of the day.
Digital Campus (Swank) This link opens in a new window
Digital Campus (Swank) does not support Internet Explorer and some earlier versions of Firefox and Chrome.
Digital Campus by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc. allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside of the classroom. Providing digital access to course-related films allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time. Faculty who wish to request a movie may fill out the Digital Campus Movie Request Form. We now have access to numerous documentaries and the top 200 films on Digital Campus.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of videos in a variety of subject areas such as nursing, business, science, and film studies, and from a number of producers including California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation (MEF), Symptom Media, and more.
March of Time This link opens in a new window
The March of Time, Time Inc.'s 1935-1967 controversial film series, is now available online in a single, cross- searchable collection. These videos have been restored to their original luster by HBO Archives, allowing viewers to experience these historic films as audiences did in earlier decades.
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990????Present includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. All the films were shown at major festivals, including some 50 award winning short films.
North American Theatre Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of PBS. Some of the films and series included are American Experience, Empires, Freedom, Frontline, Great Performances, NOVA, and the films of Ken Burns, Michael Wood, and more.
Last updated on Mar 21, 2023 3:57 PM