Skip to Main Content
We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

African American Literature

Find Books Beyond FAU

The WorldCat database allows you to search a combined catalog of most of the libraries in North America, and many in other parts of the world. Items not owned by FAU may be ordered through the Interlibrary Loan service.

Florida Open Academic Library

Explore over one million curated Florida digital collections and archives in the Florida Open Academic Library! This is "a statewide searchable database that includes an inventory of digital archives and collections held by public postsecondary education institutions." 

Enter any subject, author, keyword, call number, ISSN, ISBN, or other identifier within its basic search box, and select "Search." An Advanced Search option is also available.

ILL

ILLiad books

UBorrow

UBorrow

UBorrow is a loan service that allows FAU students, faculty, and staff to directly request materials from participating libraries within Florida's state University/College library system. Currently, you can only request books via UBorrow.

How to Use UBorrow

  • When searching the FAU Library Catalog, click on the blue UBorrow link towards the top right corner of the search results page.

  • This will take you to the State University/College Libraries catalog, showing all the available items within Florida's university/college system.

  • If you want an item, click on the UBorrow icon below the book title, then provide your Owl Card number, and select where you want to pick up your book.

  • You will receive an email in a few days letting you know that your book is ready for you to pick up at the Service Desk at the library.

Need more information?  See the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) pages about UBorrow.

Google Scholar

Need help using Google Scholar? Check here

Some articles listed in Google Scholar are available from FAU in Full Text.

If FAU does not have access to full text of the article, please use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article for your use.  

Google Scholar Search

Search Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Books (previously known as Google BookSearch and Google Print) is a service from Google, Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database.

If you find a book through Google Books and need to request it through Interlibrary Loan, click on the link below to go to the interlibrary loan homepage.

Last updated on Jul 17, 2024 4:34 PM