Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Literature in the Collection
African American / Black / African Diaspora Literature. Find available titles and read online.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora This link opens in a new window
Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora is a comprehensive collection of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora, offering short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon. It features over 11,707 short stories and more than 82,061 pages.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the published works of numerous historically important black leaders and features unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. Subjects include segregation, poverty, education, religion, civil rights, and more.
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time.
Search for titles available in the FAU Libraries!
African American Literature by Keith Gilyard; Anissa Janine Wardi
African-American Literature is a thematically arranged, comprehensive survey of African-American Literature. The unique thematic organization of the anthology allows for a concise and coherent assessment of African-American literature. The thematic approach gives students a better sense of the intertextuality that binds a literary tradition together rather than a chronological approach that organizes material strictly on the basis of an author's birth date.
Call Number: PS508.N3 A58 2004 (Jupiter Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2004-01-21
African American Writers and Classical Tradition by William W. Cook; James Tatum
Constraints on freedom, education, and individual dignity have always been fundamental in determining who is able to write, when, and where. Considering the singular experience of the African American writer, William W. Cook and James Tatum here argue that African American literature did not develop apart from canonical Western literary traditions but instead grew out of those literatures, even as it adapted and transformed the cultural traditions and religions of Africa and the African diaspora along the way. Tracing the interaction between African American writers and the literatures of ancient Greece and Rome, from the time of slavery and its aftermath to the civil rights era and on into the present, the authors offer a sustained and lively discussion of the life and work of Phillis Wheatley, Frederick Douglass, Ralph Ellison, and Rita Dove, among other highly acclaimed poets, novelists, and scholars. Assembling this brilliant and diverse group of African American writers at a moment when our understanding of classical literature is ripe for change, the authors paint an unforgettable portrait of our own reception of "classic" writing, especially as it was inflected by American racial politics.
Call Number: PS153.N5 C665 2010 (Boca Raton Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Diasporic Africa by Michael A. Gomez (Editor)
Diasporic Africa presents the most recent research on the history and experiences of people of African descent outside of the African continent. By incorporating Europe and North Africa as well as North America, Latin America, and the Caribbean, this reader shifts the discourse on the African diaspora away from its focus solely on the Americas, underscoring the fact that much of the movement of people of African descent took place in Old World contexts. This broader view allows for a more comprehensive approach to the study of the African diaspora. The volume provides an overview of African diaspora studies and features as a major concern a rigorous interrogation of "identity." Other primary themes include contributions to western civilization, from religion, music, and sports to agricultural production and medicine, as well as the way in which our understanding of the African diaspora fits into larger studies of transnational phenomena.
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required); Print (DT16.5 .D54 2006, Boca Raton Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Freedom Narratives of African American Women by Janaka Bowman Lewis
While narratives of enslavement have become more central to conversations about African American women's writing, this book first discusses the genre of narratives of freedom and then examines women's relationships to the community as they seek to illustrate a collective free identity. I argue that these texts represent a sense of civil rights that emerges prior even to the ideas of racial uplift that reached a height for women in the late nineteenth century and moved into the twentieth century. Under the umbrella of freedom narratives, this book also reads black women's narratives of education, individual progress, marriage and family, labor, and intellectual commitments to see how they both reflect and produce national and community rebuilding projects. I argue that black women define freedom through all of the means listed above, but what is most significant for the purposes of their writing is freedom to choose their paths and to tell their own stories, in their own words and on their own terms.
Call Number: PS153.N5 L457 2017 (Boca Raton Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2017-12-30
Giant Steps by Kevin Young
Standing at the crossroads of American literature and the current African American renaissance, Giant Steps presents a vibrant and wonderfully diverse collection of young black writing. Through generous selections of award-winning poetry, fiction, and nonfiction by writers born after 1960, this groundbreaking anthology welcomes readers into the future of African American writing. Taking its spirit and title from the John Coltrane composition released in 1960, Giant Steps offers an extraordinary window into post-civil rights literature. From Edwidge Danticat and Colson Whitehead to Rebecca Walker and Hilton Als, these authors are not "emerging" but have already arrived. They are National Book Award finalists and winners of the National Poetry Series and the Pushcart Prize. They have been featured in The New Yorker, Time, and Newsweek as our brightest stars; they have been heard through National Public Radio, Rhino Records, and Oprah's Book Club. Previously unpublished works by Danzy Senna, Philippe Wamba, and Elizabeth Alexander run alongside contemporary classics. They are popular and prophetic, literary and experimental. Together with a useful bibliography of current writing and a discography of influential music from soul to jazz to hip-hop, Giant Steps celebrates the complexities of race while paying tribute to the personal and collective histories that are forging this new generation. The writers found in Giant Steps are not "emerging" but have already arrived. From Best American Poetry and O. Henry Award winners to National Book Award finalists and Oprah's Book Club members, the thirty-five authors selected here are some of the best and the brightest writing today. The book features the full diversity of the African American experience, discussing everything from slavery to sexuality, growing up poor, gay, biracial, or all three. There are stories about the American Revolution, slave insurrections, and the year 1979; there are poems about loss and Sam Cooke; essays about sharecropping and the New South. New and unpublished writing by Danzy Senna, Colson Whitehead, and Darieck Scott is collected alongside work by such favorites as Edwidge Danticat, Kevin Powell, Hilton Als, and Randall Keenan. The writers in Giant Steps are at the heart of what's happening in contemporary culture, and this anthology welcomes readers to the future and powerful present of African American writing.The writers found in Giant Steps are not "emerging" but have already arrived. From Best American Poetry and O. Henry Award winners to National Book Award finalists and Oprah's Book Club members, the thirty-five authors selected here are some of the best and the brightest writing today. The book features the full diversity of the African American experience, discussing everything from slavery to sexuality, growing up poor, gay, biracial, or all three. There are stories about the American Revolution, slave insurrections, and the year 1979; there are poems about loss and Sam Cooke; essays about sharecropping and the New South. New and unpublished writing by Danzy Senna, Colson Whitehead, and Darieck Scott is collected alongside work by such favorites as Edwidge Danticat, Kevin Powell, Hilton Als, and Randall Keenan. The writers in Giant Steps are at the heart of what's happening in contemporary culture, and this anthology welcomes readers to the future and powerful present of African American writing.
Call Number: PS508.N3 G53 2000
Publication Date: 2000-02-16
Afro-American Writing by Richard A. Long (Editor); Eugenia W. Collier (Editor)
The dynamic course of Afro-American literature from oppression through protest to liberation is depicted in the anthology. Long and Collier have added contemporary writers, introductions, and head notes to make this the most comprehensive, up-to-date anthology available. From Phillis Wheatley to Alice Walker and Gwendolyn Brooks, from Booker T. Washington to Martin Luther King and Amiri Baraka, the Afro-American writers are represented here.
Call Number: PS508.N3 A37 1985
Publication Date: 1990-10-01
Collected Black Women's Poetry by Joan R. Sherman (Editor)
These four volumes collect the poetic works of eleven African-American women writing in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Volume 1 presents two collections by Mary E. Tucker Lambert--Loew's Bridge, A Broadway Idyl, a poet's-eye view of lower Manhattan just fter the Civil War, and Poems--and Infelicia, a dramatic work by the notorious Adah Isaacs Menken. Volumes 2, 3, and 4 contain works by nine other poets, all of which were were published between 1895 and 1910, a particularlybrutal era for blacks. But, surprisingly, only one of these women (Lizelia Moorer) protests the treatment of her race during this period of social upheaval and injustice. The remaining poets all conformed to the ethos of most black writers of the time, "whitewashing" their art while educating anduplifting their people. Their themes are traditional--love, nature, death, Christian idealism and morality, and family--and are for the most part couched in conventional forms and language. As interesting for the subjects that they address as for those that they ignore, these selections offer aunique smapling of poetic voices that, until now, have gone largely unheard.
Call Number: PS591.N4 C57 1988
Publication Date: 1988-04-14
The Oxford Anthology of African-American Poetry by Hilary Herbold (Editor); Arnold Rampersad (Editor)
For over two centuries, black poets have created verse that captures the sorrows, joys, and triumphs of the African-American experience. Reflecting their variety of visions and styles, The Oxford Anthology of African-American Poetry aims to offer nothing less than a definitive literary portrait of a people. Here are poems by writers as different as Paul Laurence Dunbar and W.E.B. Du Bois; Countee Cullen and Langston Hughes; Gwendolyn Brooks and Amiri Baraka; Rita Dove and Harryette Mullen; Yusef Komunyakaa and Nathaniel Mackey. Acclaimed as a biographer and editor, Arnold Rampersad groups these poems as meditations on key issues in black culture, including the idea of Africa; the South; slavery; protest and resistance; the black man, woman, and child; sexuality and love; music and religion; spirituality; death and transcendence. With their often starkly contrasting visions and styles, these poets illuminate some of the more controversial and intimate aspects of the black American experience. Poetry here is not only or mainly a vehicle of protest but also an exploration of the complex and tender subtleties of black culture. One section offers tributes to celebrated leaders such as Sojourner Truth and Malcolm X, but many more reflect the heroism compelled by everyday black life. The variety of poetic forms and language captures the brilliant essence of English as mastered by black Americans dedicated to the art of poetry. Loving and yet also honest and unsparing, The Oxford Anthology of African-American Poetry is for readers who treasure both poetry and the genius of black America.
Call Number: PS591.N4 O97 2006 and eBook
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
The Poems 1921-1940 (LH1) by Langston Hughes; Arnold Rampersad (Editor)
Volume 1 includes the complete texts of four books of verse by Hughes, including his first book, The Weary Blues (1926), and his second, Fine Clothes to the Jew (1927), as well as other poems published by him during and after the Harlem Renaissance. The Weary Blues announced the arrival of a rare voice in American poetry. A literary descendant of Walt Whitman ("I, too, sing America," Hughes wrote), he chanted the joys and sorrows of black America in unprecedented language. A gifted lyricist, he offered rhythms and cadences that epitomized the particularities of African American creativity, especially jazz and the blues. His second volume, steeped in the blues and controversial because of its frankness, confirmed Hughes as a poet of uncompromising integrity. Then in the 1930s came Dear Lovely Death (1931) and the radical A New Song (1938). Poems such as "Good Morning Revolution" and "Let America Be America Again" made his pen one of the most forceful in America during the Great Depression.
Call Number: PS3515 .U274 2001 Holdings: v.1-v.16
Publication Date: 2001-06-18
Last updated on Oct 7, 2022 3:15 PM