Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Just for You
Find Works of Literature: African American, Black, and African Diaspora Authors
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. This resource includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
This edition of Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 200 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Black Studies in Video brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience, covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Criticism and Interpretive Articles
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. This resource focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subjects ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Search the Library for Books and Titles
- African Literature: PL8009.5 - 8014
- Black Literature (General): PN841
- Literature (General): PN1 - 6790
- American Literature: PS1 - 3626
- Individual Authors: PS700-3576
The Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature by F. Abiola Irele; Simon Gikandi
Featuring new perspectives on African and Caribbean literature, this History explores the scope of the literature (variety of languages, regions and genres); nature of composition; and complex relationship with African social and geo-political history. It comprehensively covers the field of African literature, defined by creative expression in Africa as well as the black diaspora. This major history of African literature will be an essential resource for specialists and students.
Call Number: PN841 .I4 2004 (Boca Raton and Jupiter Campus Libraries)
Publication Date: 2004-03-11
Authors and Themes
African / African American / African Diaspora Authors: A Selected List
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together.
- Chinua Achebe (Nigerian; Author and Poet)
- Octavia V. Rogers Albert (African-American; Author and Biographer)
- Ta-Nehisi Coates (African-American; Author and Journalist)
- Edwidge Danticat (Haitian-American; Author)
- Frederick Douglass (African-American' Author, Abolitionist and Orator)
- W. E. B. Du Bois (African-American; Author and Activist)
- Bernardine Evaristo (British; Author)
- Zora Neale Hurston (African-American; Author and Anthropologist)
- Derek Walcott (St. Lucian; Poet and Playwright)
- Phillis Wheatley (African-American; Author and Poet)
Themes and Subjects
- Colonialization; Post-colonialization
- Colorism; racism
- Community; family
- Gender relations; sexuality
- Folklore; myth; spirituals
- History; memory; oral tradition
- Identity; Self-identity; the body
- Liberation; self-determination
- Nationalism; displacement; assimilation
- Slavery; subjugation
Encyclopedias and Anthologies
The Cambridge History of African American Literature by Maryemma Graham (Editor); Jerry W. Ward (Editor)
The first major twenty-first century history of four hundred years of black writing, The Cambridge History of African American Literature presents a comprehensive overview of the literary traditions, oral and print, of African-descended peoples in the United States. Expert contributors, drawn from the United States and beyond, emphasise the dual nature of each text discussed as a work of art created by an individual and as a response to unfolding events in American cultural, political, and social history. Unprecedented in scope, sophistication and accessibility, the volume draws together current scholarship in the field. It also looks ahead to suggest new approaches, new areas of study, and as yet undervalued writers and works. The Cambridge History of African American Literature is a major achievement both as a work of reference and as a compelling narrative and will remain essential reading for scholars and students in years to come.
Call Number: PS153.N5 G685 2011 (Boca Raton Campus Library)
Publication Date: 2011-02-03
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers [Two Volumes] by Yolanda Williams Page (Editor)
African American women writers published extensively during the Harlem Renaissance and have been extraordinarily prolific since the 1970s. This book surveys the world of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars. The "Encyclopedia" covers established contemporary authors such as Toni Morrison and Gloria Naylor, along with a range of neglected and emerging figures. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and provides a brief biography, a discussion of major works, a survey of the author's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. Literature students will value this book for its exploration of African American literature, while social studies students will appreciate its examination of social issues through literature. African American women writers have made an enormous contribution to our culture. Many of these authors wrote during the Harlem Renaissance, a particularly vital time in African American arts and letters, while others have been especially active since the 1970s, an era in which works by African American women are adapted into films and are widely read in book clubs. Literature by African American women is important for its aesthetic qualities, and it also illuminates the social issues which these authors have confronted. This book conveniently surveys the lives and works of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 African American women novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars. Some of these figures, such as Toni Morrison and Gloria Naylor, are among the most popular authors writing today, while others have been largely neglected or are recently emerging. Each entry provides a biography, a discussion of major works, a survey of the writer's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. The "Encyclopedia" closes with a selected, general bibliography. Students and general readers will welcome this guide to the rich achievement of African American women. Literature students will value its exploration of the works of these writers, while social studies students will appreciate its examination of the social issues these women confront in their works.
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required)
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
In the Life by Joseph Beam (Editor); James Earl Hardy (Introduction by)
Literary Nonfiction. Fiction. Poetry. Essays. African American Studies. LGBT Studies. In IN THE LIFE, 29 black authors explore what it means to be doubly different—both black and gay—in modern America. These stories, verses, works of art and theater pieces voice the concerns and aspirations of an often silent minority. They can be poignant, erotic, resolute, or angry, but always reflect the affirming power of coming together to build a strong black gay community. In the introduction to the original 1986 edition, editor Joseph Beam wrote, "The bottom line is this: We are Black men who are proudly gay. What we offer is our lives, our love, our visions...We are coming home with our heads held up high." This twentieth anniversary edition includes a new introduction by James Earl Hardy.
Call Number: PS509.H57 I5 2008
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Masterpieces of African-American Literature by Frank N. Magill
A unique and vital guide that summarizes, explains and evaluates the greatest works of African-American literature -- including articles on writings from James Baldwin, W. E. B. DuBois, Langston Hughes, Malcolm X, Toni Morrison and many more.
Call Number: PS153.N5 M264 1992 (Boca Raton Campus Library)
Publication Date: 1992-12-08
Last updated on Oct 7, 2022 3:15 PM