LibGuides: Library User Guide: Clinical Affiliate Faculty: Finding & Using Library Resources

Where Can I Find...?

Indexes and Databases
A-Z guide for all FAU databases. Find the full list of all Medical, Nursing, and Health Sciences databases by using the subject filter option

Electronic Journals
Search for specific journal titles within our electronic holdings.

FAU Library Catalog
Search for books and other materials using the FAU Libraries Catalog.
OneSearch
Search for books, and more, using OneSearch.

Books are also available via FAU Library's database resources listed below.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides health professionals with access to leading clinical references, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
An integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access Pediatrics includes more than 20 e-books, drug monographs, and images useable in academic lectures and presentations.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
This resource includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
The Thieme E-Book Library is an acclaimed online collection of lavishly illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thiemes renowned Color Atlases and Flexibook series.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Point of Care Tutorials are available for the following databases:

AccessMedicine/ AccessPedatrics
ClinicalKey

Please note that while UpToDate is shown in the guide, access to UTD is not extended at this time due to licensing restrictions.

Clinical Point-of-Care Databases
by Michelle Keba Knecht Last Updated Jan 3, 2024 43 views this year

ClinicalKey
Clinical Key offers free Internet Point of Care CME credit for self-directed, structured, online learning.

CME credit is provided by the Cleveland Clinic Center for Continuing Education. Physicians may earn 0.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ for each search conducted through Clinical Key.

For more information and to create your Clinical Key personal account, click the "CME" link at the top of the Clinical Key page.
Read by QxMD
Turn on CME Tracking to automatically track your reading and receive credit.
more...less...
Read by QxMD is free to access and full text articles can be obtained through verification of your FAU account.

Guidelines can be found within the following FAU Library Databases.

General Resources can be found here:

National Library of Medicine's Health Services/Technology Assessment Text

Evidence Reports, Protocols, Consensus Reports, & Preventive Medicine Recommendations.
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
ECRI Institute's Guidelines Trust
ERCI's public website fills the void left by the defunded National Guideline Clearinghouse. Create your account to browse.
CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines (Canada)
The CMA Infobase is a public database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines (CPGs). Maintained by the Canadian Medical Association, it currently includes over 1200 CPGs developed or endorsed by an authorative medical or health organization in Canada.

Specific Organizations can be found here:

American Academy of Pediatrics - Policy
AAP Policy brings together a constellation of policy documents from the American Academy of Pediatrics. Policy Statements, Clinical Reports, Clinical Practice Guidelines, Technical Reports, Affirmations of Value, and Parent Pages can now be found in one convenient location.
American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists
Clinical Practice Guidelines
American College of Cardiology
Practice Guidelines & Quality Standards
Guidelines and Quality Standards is a comprehensive collection of all ACC evidence-based clinical documents developed by consensus of leaders in the field of cardiovascular medicine.
American College of Chest Physicians
Evidence Based Clinical Practice Guidelines
American College of Physicians
Clinical Practice Guidelines
ACP develops three different types of clinical recommendations: Clinical Practice Guidelines, Clinical Guidance Statements, and Best Practice Advice.
American Diabetes Association
Clinical Practice Recommendations
American Heart Association
Statements & Guidelines
Infectious Disease Society of America
Practice Guidelines
The IDSA Practice Guidelines are available as PDA files, with links for easy browsing and for the iPhone and iPad.
National Heart Lung and Blood Institute
Clinical Practice Guidelines
American Academy of Neurology
The American Academy of Neurology (AAN) develops clinical practice guidelines to assist its members in clinical decision making related to the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis of neurologic disorders. Each guideline makes specific practice recommendations based upon a rigorous and comprehensive evaluation of all available scientific data.

QxMD Read Introduction PP Guide

Read by QxMD

'Read by QxMD' provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. Users will need to sign into app with their FAU credentials. Once verified, QxMD can remain logged in per user preference.

Features:

Get full text PDFs with one tap
Keep up with the latest new research that will impact your practice
Browse through 1000s of outstanding topic reviews
Search millions of articles from PubMed and our database of outstanding topic reviews
Read your favorite journals or browse article collections.
Access full text through your university/institutional subscription or via open access publishers
Share articles with colleagues over email, Twitter and Facebook
Organize and review your personal collection of articles
Earn CME credit.

Free Resources Guide: Health & Medicine

Due to vendor licenses and budget the COM Library cannot extend UpToDate access to Clinical Affiliates at this time. For alternative resources, please see the below list:

Drug Information: AccessMedine, AccessPediatrics, ClinicalKey
Calculators: ClinicalKey, JAMAevidence,
Drug Interactions/information: AccessMedicine, AccessPediatrics, ClinicalKey,
Patient Education: AccessMedicine, AccessPediatrics, ClinicalKey

How can I...

Find general library resources?
Find Core Books and Curriculum Resources?

Where: The Library Resources page can be accessed via the medical library page but can also be bookmarked for easier access.

https://library.fau.edu/medical/resources

How To Use:

Use the center blue box to look up keyword(s) ~or~
Use a drop down to narrow by type, need (clinical practice or research), or tools.
Click "apply."
All results will bring back the medical resources the library provides that matches your query.
All blue boxes were designed to be a comprehensive source of information on that resource: what it is, where to access it, how to access it if there are special instructions, and any features that will help users quickly determine what the resource provides (such as cases, drug information, 2 Minute Medicine, etc.)

Note: this is a stand alone resource compiled and provided by the medical librarians to bridge the user with our most frequently used resources. It is not a comprehensive source of all FAU libraries resources. For comprehensive resources, please search for the following keywords:

All FAU Libraries Databases
All Medical Databases
All Electronic Journals
Onesearch

Where: The Core Books can be searched by key word via the Library Resources page, but the Core Books & Study Tools page provides the lists as well as other curriculum resources.

Core Books & Study Tools

Last updated on Sep 12, 2024 9:31 AM