The AccessMedicine App from McGraw-Hill Medical delivers indispensable support and invaluable point of care solutions for your clinical practice. For continued access, a user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution. Click here for more information.
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine from Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services. ClinicalKey helps clinicians rapidly access evidence-based, peer reviewed information to improve speed to accurate diagnosis and treatment, with the goal of improving patient outcomes and lowering the high cost of care. ClinicalKey’s Smart Search technology understands specific questions and pulls the most clinically relevant results from more than 1,000 reference books, 600 journals, 2,900 drug monographs, 17,000+ videos and more. Users must initially create a user name and password via the database website either on campus or remote and can then access the full database from mobile devices by requesting Remote Access. Access to your FAU email is required for confirmation. Users can access their mailbox by visiting www.myfau.fau.edu.
Tip: Search for term, then use filter option in lower left corner to choose your desired content type.
iOS | Android
The iPad edition of the Cochrane Library offers an auto-updated selection of the highest quality evidence from Cochrane Reviews published in the last month. Previous issues are archived for easy access. App is free, however please note that it does not offer full access to the database: FAU users will have to visit Cochrane through the main library page for full content access.
iOS | Android
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. The JoVE iOS app can be used to browse through and search for JoVE science videos and protocol text. Users can also add videos to their favorites list, as well as browse through suggested recommended videos based off of favorites. First time users will need to "sign up" with their FAU credentials to obtain access to JOVE videos. An activation link will be sent to your FAU email.
PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available.
Log into EZ Proxy first. If the article is available through FAU, users will be led to the article after clicking "Full Text." If the article is not available, users will be brought to the PubMed search page: users can then fill out an ILL request for that article.
Now you can read your favorite journals from work in an easy-to-use app for your iPad!
First time users will need to create an account through Ovid. For access directions, click here. Once your token is activated, you will have to renew your account access every 90 days.
Literature available through mobile friendly Trip website, there is not an available app. Free to use but registered users receive many benefits when they sign in.
Combining expert information with stunning visuals and video, MedOne provides access to Thieme’s award-winning content across multiple specialties including neurosurgery, radiology, plastic surgery and medical education. The companion MedOne app allows access to your MedOne content, which can be viewed in offline or online access mode. Easily load your e-books and e-journals on your iPhone or iPad and read when and where you want.
First time users will need to be on the campus wireless network to access the app.
'Read by QxMD' provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. Users will need to sign into app with their FAU credentials. Once verified, QxMD will remain logged in.
Mango Connect is an online self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 16 ESL classes taught in the native language. Each lesson combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions.
Download the app to get your first language in any language for free. Link your profile to FAU Libraries to gain full access to Mango content.
Medicial Spanish lessons are available in both the website and app version.
Website format available here.
Note: UpToDate is to be used for FAU educational purposes only. Please do not share your UpToDate or FAU credentials with ANYONE. Access to UpToDate is limited to FAU FULL-TIME employees and medical students, and will be monitored for unauthorized use. If you have any questions, please reach out to the medical librarians.
Users will need to create a personal account before using UTD.
Directions to create an account:
Directions to install App:
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431