Remote Library Access
In Person Library Access
To access the library resources via OpenAthens, you will need a FAU NetID and password. New Clinical Faculty should receive their FAUNet ID along with instructions on setting up a FAU account & password once paperwork is complete: this process can sometimes be lengthy and we appreciate your patience. Please reach out to your librarian if you are in need of articles, or assistance with a resource, during this time.
Where to Find:
Where to Find: Library links are now formatted for OpenAthens access and off campus users will be prompted to log in as they access an individual resource. When off campus, users will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to go through the Libraries’ website but will still need to verify before accessing material.
What You Need: Your FAU username and password.
The FAU Libraries provided support page offers a how to page (OpenAthens How To Use) and a tutorial page (OpenAthens Tutorials).
Where to Find: Duo Two Factor authentication is required to access most FAU services that require FAUNet ID and password log-in (which includes the library resources.) Users will automatically be prompted when accessing a library resource and after entering their FAUNet ID and password. Clicking "remember me for 24 hours" option will reduce the amount of sign-ins the system will require.
What You Need: First time users will need to enroll and set up their device. Please see the below OIT link for instructions:
Duo Mobile works with Duo Security's two-factor authentication service to make logins more secure. Florida Atlantic University now requires two-factor authentication which prevents anyone but you from logging in, even if that person happens to know your password. Once you have enrolled, you will be able to deny access to your accounts (on your Duo-enrolled device) if someone tries to sign in as you. Duo Mobile enables the "push" notification option (alternative options are call or text passcodes.)
Where to Find: Owl Cards are available on request via the Owl Card Service Center. This is considered an advanced access option for Clinical affiliates as they do not need an Owl Card unless they wish to create an ILL account or frequently access the physical library.
What You Need:
Fill in the request form with the required information. If you do not wish to visit the physical library you do not have to request a physical card-- choose the FAU Library number option. Please see the Owl Card tab in the navigation menu of this guide for additional details regarding the Owl Card as well as benefits to having a physical card.
What: OneSearch is a tool for searching across the FAU Libraries resources. Use it to search for journal articles, newspaper articles, books, digital collections, government documents, maps, music recordings, videos, and more.
Where to Find:
What You Need: FAUNet ID and password for resource access.
To Use: Primo Onesearch allows users to search multiple resources with a general "new search" option (both access points above default to this feature). Simply type your query in and click enter, narrow by filter on the left side. If you know what database or journal you are looking for, click the "journal finder" or "database finder" in the top blue navigation bar, then search the resource.
Clicking on the “Find it @ FAU” automatically searches the entire FAU holdings to determine if full-text access to the chosen journal article or individual journal is available.
Findit@FAU will NOT appear if you are not logged into OpenAthens.
For example, this service is available in PubMed where the icon will appear on the top right of the screen when you click on a specific article. This is in addition to PubMed’s routine linking out to available “free articles” from PubMed Central and other services.
Where to Find: Any FAU Libraries database
What You Need: FAUNet ID and password
To Use: When off-campus, verify via a library link (save as a bookmark for easier access). Proceed with your search using a database such as Pubmed. When you encounter a citation source, click "Find it@FAU" to link to a full-text article, if available. If it if not available through FAU resources, Find it@FAU will link to an ILL request page.
Troubleshooting: If you encounter any issues, Submit a ticket (web browser) or reach out to Tiffany Follin (email)
If you require materials (books or articles) that the FAU Libraries do not have available, you can order them through Interlibrary Loan. Where a lender charges for an item, the library will pay a set amount to bring an item in (should the cost be higher the library will notify you of the total cost and ask if you wish to pay the remainder of the charge.)
You will need to register and make an account the first time you use the service. Please use your fau.edu email: non FAU emails are invalid.
Where to Find: Medical Library Page, left side within the blue navigation column.
What You Need: Your Owl card to set up an ILL account, and your FAU email.
Special Note: Users can customize the "not needed by" dates to reflect less than the defaulted month or longer than it. Expanding the date allows the system to continue requesting the article from lending institutions and not automatically cancel the request.
Video: The video, below, has been created by the ILL department to demonstrate how to place ILL requests.
UBorrow allows you to request books directly from participating libraries within the Florida state university system. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the collections of the other universities in Florida and delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.
Where to Find: Library Primo catalog
What You Need: FAUNet ID and password for account log in.
To Use: Enter your search term in the library Primo catalog. If your item is not at FAU, look for the subheading "Get it" and click "UBorrow Request." Fields are auto-filled: double check all are correct. Adjust the Preferred local pickup location. Click "send request."
Special Note: Only books can be requested through the UBORROW system. You will be required to pick up your material at the Circulation Desk when it arrives. For campus visiting information, please refer to the FAQ page.
New affiliates will need to activate their FAUNet ID, create a password, and establish DUO mobile for authentication. Please see the box above "How Do I Access & Request Resources?" for additional information.
Established affiliates may find that they cannot access the library, or perhaps can no longer have access when they once did.
The Wimberly library, bldg. #3, houses the physical medical books in the general collection, core reserve titles accessible at the Service desk located in the lobby, the graduate study lounge for students & residents, one medical librarian's office, and more!
The College of Medicine, bldg. # 71, does not provide a physical library on site however the librarians offer an interactive service point in the Hub to connect with the COM community. Meetings here are arranged by request, as the librarians continue to offer their virtual offices as a primary point of contact.
The Hennekens Hub ("the Hub") is part of the joint space that makes up the Kaufman Lounge & Hennekens Hub space. Both can be seen from the lobby through floor to ceiling glass windows. The adjacent areas are separated by a movable glass wall that is opened partially/completely as needed to accommodate and foster collaboration. Because the connecting glass panel door will sometimes be closed to form the dividing wall and separate the spaces, users who wish to use the Lounge to study and purchase beverages should use the north side door entrance, while those who wish to access the Hub space to consult with the librarians should use the south side door. Both entrances are equipped with card swipe access.
All FAU visitors will need a parking permit for their time on campus. If you are working with the COM on a specific lecture or project, please consult your contact to see if there is a courtesy tag for your use. The library does not provide courtesy passes.
The link in this box provides visitors a way to purchase temporary permits in advance that allow parking in any blue lot. Information on metered lots are provided.
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431