LibGuides: Library User Guide: Medical Residents: Finding & Using Library Resources

Where Can I Find...?

Indexes and Databases

A-Z guide for all FAU databases. Find the full list of all Medical, Nursing, and Health Sciences databases by using the subject filter option.

Electronic Journals
Search for specific journal titles within our electronic holdings.

FAU Library Catalog
Search for books and other materials using the FAU Libraries Catalog.
OneSearch
Search for books, and more, using OneSearch.

Books are also available via FAU Library's database resources listed below.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides health professionals with access to leading clinical references, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
An integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access Pediatrics includes more than 20 e-books, drug monographs, and images useable in academic lectures and presentations.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
This resource includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.
DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States and contains a listing of diagnostic criteria for every psychiatric disorder recognized by the U.S. healthcare system. DSM is used in both clinical settings (inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinic, private practice, and primary care) as well as with community populations.
Ovid Online This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to 1 or 3 simultaneous users for some content.
Includes Journals@Ovid Full Text and Books@Ovid.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
The Thieme E-Book Library is an acclaimed online collection of lavishly illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thiemes renowned Color Atlases and Flexibook series.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Guidelines can be found within the following FAU Library Databases.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides health professionals with access to leading clinical references, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
An integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access Pediatrics includes more than 20 e-books, drug monographs, and images useable in academic lectures and presentations.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

QxMD Read Introduction PP Guide

Read by QxMD

'Read by QxMD' provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. Users will need to sign into app with their FAU credentials. Once verified, QxMD can remain logged in per the user's preference.

Features:

Get full text PDFs with one tap
Keep up with the latest new research that will impact your practice
Browse through 1000s of outstanding topic reviews
Search millions of articles from PubMed and our database of outstanding topic reviews
Read your favorite journals or browse article collections.
Access full text through your university/institutional subscription or via open access publishers
Share articles with colleagues over email, Twitter and Facebook
Organize and review your personal collection of articles
Earn CME credit.

For education purposes only, UptoDate access is limited to College of Medicine students and a designated subset of College of Medicine clinical faculty. Medical residents can access UptoDate via the Baptist healthcare systems when they engage in clinical training. Contact the Baptist Librarians for assistance: Library@BaptistHealth.net

Alternative FAU resources:

•Drug Information: AccessMedine, AccessPediatrics, ClinicalKey

•Calculators: ClinicalKey, JAMAevidence,

•Drug Interactions/information: AccessMedicine, AccessPediatrics, ClinicalKey,

•Patient Education: AccessMedicine, AccessPediatrics, ClinicalKey

Free Resources Guide: Health & Medicine

COM Support: https://comsupport.fau.edu/

Access COM Support Center's Knowledge base, create a ticket for Tech help, access software links and downloads.

New! The Library is now available via COM Support for tickets as well! Simply choose the library from the department drop down and one of us will respond as soon as possible.

Are There Resources the Library Recommends for Residents?

FAU Libraries maintains an annual subscription to BMJ Case Reports, and are provided a fellowship code which waives the author submission fee for FAU residents, affiliate faculty, faculty, and students. Please contact Tiffany Follin, or the medical department, for the code.

Instructions for Authors regarding writing and submission are available HERE.

Tiffany Follin: tfollin@health.fau.edu
Department Email: librarymed@fau.edu

BMJ Case Reports

FAU libraries no longer offers DynaMed, however ACP members are able to access Dynamed Plus via the ACP.

Please see the below link for more information:

https://www.acponline.org/clinical-information/clinical-resources-products/dynamed-plus-a-free-benefit-for-acp-members

AMA members are eligible for 18 months of complimentary full access, while JAMA subscribers are eligible for 9 months complimentary full access. To sign in or create an account, see the below link:

https://offers.jamanetwork.com/

Citi Program

Cochrane Podcasts are 5-minute reviews of recent Cochrane-Reviews, delivered by the author. Podcasts are available via the website's complete catalog or through iTunes.

Mango Connect

iOS| Android

Download the app to get your first language in any language for free. Link your profile to FAU Libraries to gain full access to Mango content.

Medicial Spanish lessons are available in both the website and app version.

Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Creating an account is not required; click on 'Use Mango As A Guest' to navigate the site. Creating an account allows you to save your study time results.
Mango Languages is a self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 16 ESL classes taught in the native language. Each lesson combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions.
Please note: Mango allows for users to be designated as "instructor," which provides access to guides, lesson plans, and student workbooks; the linking of lessons via Canvas; assessment; and the tracking of student progress. If you are an FAU faculty member or instructor, and would like to be added to Mango as instructor, please contact eresources@fau.edu with your request.

Mayo Clinic Proceedings is available through ClinicalKey.

From off campus, sign into ClinicalKey with your FAUNetID.
In the search bar, use the drop down to change "All types" to "Journals", and type in "mayo clinic proceedings."
Your results will contain a gray box: choose to view the current edition or all journal volumes.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.

Access to NEJM Resident 360 website is free to all learners, however, access to the Rotational Prep content now requires subscription to NEJM Knowledge+ which the library does not provide.

For information on purchasing an individual subscription, visit NEJM Knowledge+.

undefined

SPSS is provided by the university via the apps store: University apps store.

If needed, additional support can be found here on the University Instructions and Guides page.

Evidence based, peer-reviewed, bi-weekly publication evaluating pharmaceutical drugs. CME credits are available: earn up to 52 credits per year.

https://secure.medicalletter.org/subTML

Do You Have Video Tutorials?

Medical Library Playlist

YouTube channel offering videos on various topics from how to access a resource to conducting a search using a specific database.

How Do I use...?

FAU Clinical Databases

Point of Care Tutorials are available for the following databases:

AccessMedicine/AccessPediatrics
ClinicalKey
UpToDate

Clinical Point-of-Care Databases
by Michelle Keba Knecht Last Updated Jan 3, 2024 43 views this year

Last updated on Oct 15, 2024 5:06 PM