Skip to Main Content
We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Library User Guide: Medical Residents

What Do I need To Access the Library Resources?

Remote Library Access

Residents will need their FAUNet ID and password to authenticate themselves remotely. Your FAUNet ID is your username preceding your @health.fau.edu email address. An Owl Card is also required to create an ILL account to request material not in the FAU collections. 

In Person Library Access

Residents will need their Owl Card to swipe in/out, access the graduate study lounge, and to borrow course reserves, general collection material, and check out any physical ILL material brought into the Wimberly Library. Swipe card access is also required to access the COM Hub space where the librarians are available to meet on request. 

How do I Access & Request Resources?

 

 

Where to Find: Library links are now formatted for OpenAthens access and off campus users will be prompted to log in as they access an individual resource. When off campus, users will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to go through the Libraries’ website but will still need to verify before accessing material. 

What You Need: Your FAU username and password. 

To Use: OpenAthens support page offers a "how to use" and tutorials: OpenAthens Home. 

  • Off campus users may find they have difficulties accessing articles directly via a vendor platform: look for an "institutional log in" option within the sign-in box, and choose "Florida Atlantic University" if prompted. 
  • If you have a frequently used resource, we recommend bookmarking the "Athenized" resource link from the Library Resources page, and using that to start your search. 

Troubleshooting: 

Where to Find: Duo Two Factor authentication is required to access most FAU services that require FAUNet ID and password log-in (which includes the library resources.) Users will automatically be prompted when accessing a library resource and after entering their FAUNet ID and password. Clicking "remember me for 24 hours" option will reduce the amount of sign-ins the system will require. 

What You Need: First time users will need to enroll and set up their device. Please see the below OIT link for instructions: 

To Use: 

  • . When prompted, simply choose to be sent a push if you have the app installed or be sent a passcode via text. 

Troubleshooting: 

  • The librarians do not have jurisdiction regarding DUO but may be able to lend a second pair of eyes for common installation and/or access issues. Please reach out if you would like the librarians to troubleshoot with you. 
  • For technical support reach out to OIT by placing a ticket: click HERE to submit a ticket.  

 

 

 

What: OneSearch is a tool for searching across the FAU Libraries resources.  Use it to search for journal articles, newspaper articles, books, digital collections, government documents, maps, music recordings, videos, and more. 

Where to Find: 

What You Need: FAUNet ID and password for resource access. 

To Use: Primo Onesearch allows users to search multiple resources with a general "new search" option (both access points above  default to this feature). Simply type your query in and click enter, narrow by filter on the left side. If you know what database or journal you are looking for, click the "journal finder" or "database finder" in the top blue navigation bar, then search the resource. 

 

 

 

Clicking on the “Find it @ FAU” automatically searches the entire FAU holdings to determine if full-text access to the chosen journal article or individual journal is available.

 Findit@FAU will NOT appear if you are not logged into OpenAthens. 

For example, this service is available in PubMed where the icon will appear on the top right of the screen when you click on a specific article. This is in addition to PubMed’s routine linking out to available “free articles” from PubMed Central and other services.

Where to Find: Any FAU Libraries database

What You Need: FAUNet ID and password

To Use: When off-campus, verify via a library link (save as a bookmark for easier access). Proceed with your search using a database such as Pubmed. When you encounter a citation source, click "Find it@FAU" to link to a full-text article, if available. If it if not available through FAU resources, Find it@FAU will link to an ILL request page. 

Troubleshooting: If you encounter any issues,  Submit a ticket (web browser) or reach out to Tiffany Follin (email)

 

    

 

If you require materials (books or articles) that the FAU Libraries do not have available, you can order them through Interlibrary Loan. Where a lender charges for an item, the library will pay a set amount to bring an item in (should the cost be higher the library will notify you of the total cost and ask if you wish to pay the remainder of the charge.)

You will need to register and make an account the first time you use the service. Please use your fau.edu email: non FAU emails are invalid. 

  Helpful links: 

 

Where to Find: Medical Library Page, left side within the blue navigation column. 

What You Need: Your Owl card to set up an ILL account, and your FAU email. 

To Use: 

  • Log in directly to ILL using the hyperlink located in the left navigation column; use your FAUNet ID and password to sign in/create an account. Manually fill an ILL request and click "submit request."

Special Note: Users can customize the "not needed by" dates to reflect less than the defaulted month or longer than it. Expanding the date allows the system to continue requesting the article from lending institutions and not automatically cancel the request. 

Video: 

  • Interlibrary Loan: Darth Slitherous is in need of material not at FAU. Before lashing out with the Dark side of the Force in frustration, fate (AKA a librarian) intervenes: do or do not use ILL, there is no try. 

 

UBorrow allows you to request books directly from participating libraries within the Florida state university system. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the collections of the other universities in Florida and delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan. 

 

Where to Find: Library Primo catalog

What You Need: FAUNet ID and password for account log in.

To Use: Enter your search term in the library Primo catalog. If your item is not at FAU, look for the subheading "Get it" and click "UBorrow Request." Fields are auto-filled: double check all are correct. Adjust the Preferred local pickup location. Click "send request." 

Special Note: Only books can be requested through the UBORROW system. You will be required to pick up your material at the Circulation Desk when it arrives. For campus visiting information, please refer to the FAQ page. 

Video: The video, below, has been created by the ILL department to demonstrate how to place UBorrow requests. 

  • UBorrow: Colin Sprout searches for a Harry Potter title but finds an empty spot on the shelf. What's a student to do? Accio UBorrow! ...now if only it was as easy to Accio back those 15 points he lost for House Hufflepuff. 

How Do I Access the Physical Library?

The Wimberly library, bldg. #3, houses the physical medical books in the general collection, core reserve titles accessible at the Service desk located in the lobby, the graduate study lounge, one medical librarian's office, and more! Check out the "library spaces and services" page in this guide for additional details.

  • Note: To access the Wimberly library building you will need your Owl Card to swipe in and out of the security gates located inside the entrance/exit doors. 
  • Directions: While there are several ways to get to the library from the COM, one way would be to walk from the south side of the COM building and head west towards the Breezeway. Walk through the Behavioral Science building and turn left to walk on the Breezeway (south) until you see the Jewish Life Center on your right. Turn right (west) to walk past Chick-fil-a and you will see the library on the right past the restaurant. 
  • Parking: If you are driving to the library, parking garage 1 is the most convenient parking near the Library building but tends to fill up fast in Fall and Spring during the day. If you visit after 5pm Monday-Friday, Red Lot 20 in front the the building is open to all color tags. Lot 19 has metered parking and is available to those who do not have a current parking permit with FAU. 

 

The College of Medicine, bldg. # 71, does not provide a physical library on site however the librarians offer an interactive service point in the Hub to connect with the COM community. Meetings here are arranged by request, as the librarians continue to offer their virtual offices as a primary point of contact. 

The Hennekens Hub ("the Hub") is part of the joint space that makes up the Kaufman Lounge & Hennekens Hub space. Both can be seen from the lobby through floor to ceiling glass windows. The adjacent areas are separated by a movable glass wall that is opened partially/completely as needed to accommodate and foster collaboration. Because the connecting glass panel door will sometimes be closed to form the dividing wall and separate the spaces, users who wish to use the Lounge to study and purchase beverages should use the north side door entrance, while those who wish to access the Hub space to consult with the librarians should use the south side door. Both entrances are equipped with card swipe access. 

Last updated on Oct 15, 2024 5:06 PM