Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for multidisciplinary publications. To limit your search to reviews, type the title, playwright, cast member, or production company in the search box. Next, under "Limit Your Search," find "Document Type," and select "Entertainment Review" from the drop-down box.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search news sources by play title, playwright, production company, or cast member. To limit your search, use the "Advanced Options" to select and add the index term "Reviews & Criticism."
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for multidisciplinary publications. To limit your search to reviews, type the title, playwright, cast member, or production company in the Advanced Search search box. Limit your search by "Document Type" and select "Review" and/or the specific type of review (Dance, Opera, Performance, Theater).
Historical Performance Reviews
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Offers full-page and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. Includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Offers full-page and article images with searchable articles back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Provides the full-text back file, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential Black newspaper.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London). The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Image: FAU Department of Theatre & Dance