Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know.
Supplies information to designers and interpreters on specialized techniques for use in costumes for theatre, film and TV. Also included are charts detailing the effects of dry cleaning and laundering on adhesives, coatings, colorings, and metallisers.
Presents drawing instruction with detailed break downs of various types of characters. Hats, props, fabrics, and choice of medium are all thoroughly covered to ensure your ability to develop convincing life-like characters.
A comprehensive survey of the technical and design aspects of play production, including scene design and construction, lighting, sound, costume, and makeup. Safety precautions for the backstage crew appear throughout.
Streaming films from Kanopy's "Film & Media Collection." Includes documentaries, foreign films, and classic movies. Films are streamed through a Netflix-like website and can be watched anywhere, anytime, in any setting.
Contains contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world. Encompasses a wide variety of subject areas, including art and architecture, and Classical, Medieval, and Renaissance studies.
Online access to digital images of books published between 1701 and 1800. Collection includes ancient and contemporary history, accounts of voyages and discoveries, historical biographies and memoirs, genealogical collections, gazetteers, works on church antiquities, and tourist guides of Britain.
To search Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online simultaneously, see the Artemis Primary Sources database.
The New York Public Library's image database.
Offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Materials represent the fine and decorative arts, the performing arts, and more.
Collection includes cabinet cards, postcards, and photographs of 19th-Century American and British actors and actresses. Contains depictions of clothing, hair styles, and other indicators of the period's social mores and attitudes.