LibGuides: Theatre & Dance: Finding Resources

Below you will find several walk throughs on how to:

Navigate OneSearch- Onesearch is the library's general search engine, it is a good place to begin your research because it pulls together all the resources the library has to offer on a topic. It will return many results for each search since it pulls from the library catalog, the statewide catalog, and every database that the library subscribes to. However, you may have trouble narrowing down your search in using this method.
Use a Database- Database searching is a good way to get more specific results in your search. Since databases pull from smaller samples of Journals. However, you may need to search across several databases to find all the information resources you are searching for.
Locate Books and other Resources in the library catalog- The library catalog is the best way to find the books the library has to offer. But please note if you are searching in the library catalog, it will not return journal articles to you. The catalog only contains books, videos, and other physical items the library has to offer, as well as streaming videos.
Understand where to look for Journals- You can search for a specific journal in the Journal's tab in the big blue box on the library's homepage. However, this may not be the best way to search for information if you are not sure the specific journal or journal article you are wanting to find.

There is no right or wrong way to find information or information resources. There is only the way that works best for you. By exploring each of the four categories you will begin to understand the tools that work best for you.

Navigating OneSearch

Below you will find a video walk-through of how to use OneSearch. OneSearch is a good starting place to begin your research, especially if you are just exploring what is available.

Finding a Database

Below is a video walk-through of how to find a database at the library. Searching within a database is very similar to searching for information in OneSearch. (Please see video above for more information on searching using OneSearch.) Below, you will also find a selection of databases that you may find useful to your search. Please note that this is not a comprehensive list but rather a starting point for your research. In other pages of this guide you will also find database suggestions based around the topic of the page.

Theatre and Art specific databases:

Artstor This link opens in a new window If accessing without an Artstor account, click on 'Home', top left, in order to leave the Registration page. To make use of all Artstor functionality, you will need to register. Use the Register hyperlink on the top right of the home page. The Artstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. The collections cover many subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Funded by the Department of Theatre and Dance. If using Chrome for your browser, you will need the latest version in order to watch content from this platform. Working with organizations such as the BBC, the Royal Shakespeare Company and BroadwayHD, content includes a range of online performances. Also includes access to thousands of essays, interviews and masterclasses from theatre-makers and scholars to enhance studies.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window This collection includes videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 180 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window Delivers biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works. Covers authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. Funded by statewide allocation.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Funded by statewide allocation.
North American Theatre Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies.
Ringling Collection This link opens in a new window Open Access The Ringling Collection is comprised of cabinet cards, postcards and photographs of 19th Century American and British actors and actresses. There are more than 6,000 images in this digital collection depicting more than 3,000 actors and actresses. The Collection is important not simply for its pictures of the idols of a bygone era, but for its depictions of clothing, hair styles and other indicators of the period's social mores and attitudes. The original collection is housed in the Belknap Collection for the Performing Arts in the Smathers Libraries' Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window Contains 1,530 plays by 223 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.

General Databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text. Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.

Locating Books and other Resources

Below is a video and example of how to find books and other resources in the library catalog. For lists and suggestions of books, scores, plays & playbills, and more please see the other pages in this research guide.

Shelf surfing is a good way to find books that are not easily found in the catalog. Knowing where to look for books on your topic is key to finding the books on the shelf. Below are a select group of call numbers sorted by subject. Books on Theatre and Dance are often listed under the following call numbers:

Costume. Dress. Fashion

Call Number: GT500 - GT2370

Drama

Call Number: PN1600 - PN3307

Acting

Call Number: PN2061 - PN2071

The Stage and Accessories

Call Number: PN2085 - PN2096

Dance Philosophy (theory)

Call Number: GV1588

General Works

Call Number: GV1590 - GV1594

Dance Criticism, Appreciation

Call Number: GV1600

Theatrical Dancing

Call Number: GV1781 - GV1795

SUBJECT HEADINGS

You can also search the library catalog by using subject headings. Subject headings can be a word, group of words, or phrase used to describe what the book is about. The following is a partial list of subject headings related to Theatre and Dance that can be used when searching for books and other items in the FAU Libraries Catalog.

Choreography--Philosophy
Dance--Aesthetics
Dance--Biography
Dance--Philosophy
Movement Analysis
Movement Notation
Acting
Drama--Technique
Drama--Collections
Musical Theatre
Musical Theatre--Production and Direction
Musicals--United States--History and Criticism

Using Journals

A scholarly (or academic) journals is one that is written by experts in the field. To publish in an academic journal requires authors to submit their articles for peer-review. Peer-review is rigorous process in which an author's research paper undergoes scrutiny from other experts in the same field. Reviewers assess the paper for originality, validity, and significance. One such example is the Journal of Dramatic Theory & Criticism (listed below).

A popular journal is one that is written for the general public. All articles are edited by an editor but it does not contain a peer-review process. One such is example is National Geographic, while it is a quality source of information, it does not meet the criteria for a scholarly source.

Need additional help? Click here

Dance research (online) Dance Research: The Journal of the Society for Dance Research is essential reading for those involved in the study and practice of dance. Dance Research is edited and published in Britain with the assistance of a distinguished group of editorial consultants based in Europe and the USA. The journal provides an international forum for the presentation and discussion of contemporary dance research and contains a section of comprehensive book and journal reviews.
Research in Dance Education Research in Dance Education aims to inform, stimulate lively and critical debate and promote the development of high quality research and practice in dance education. The journal is relevant to dance academics, teachers and learners.
American Journal of Dance Therapy The American Journal of Dance Therapy is a platform for reporting the latest findings in dance/movement therapy theory, research, and clinical practice. The official journal of the American Dance Therapy Association (ADTA). Offers original contributions, case material, reviews, and studies from leading educators and practitioners in the field. Examines new populations, changing goals, innovative techniques, and new methods of training. Addresses current professional issues, outcome research, and assessment tools. Serves as a resource for administrators, psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, and creative arts therapists.
Theatre Journal (online) For over five decades, Theatre Journal's broad array of scholarly articles and reviews has earned it an international reputation as one of the most authoritative and useful publications of theatre studies available today. Drawing contributions from noted practitioners and scholars, Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. Recent special issues include "Re-Thinking the Real," "Ancient Theatre," "Dance," and "Theatre and Activism." Theatre Journal is published in cooperation with the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE).
Educational Theatre Journal (online) This journal ran by this title between 1949 and 1978. In 1979 it became Theatre Journal.