LibGuides: Social Work: Databases

Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Use a database to find full text articles. To access these databases, start with the FAU Libraries homepage and click on the Databases tab. You may then find a given database alphabetically, or by subject (Counseling and Social Work).

See our Citations Research Guide for information on APA and other citation styles.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference pap
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO Indexes international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Also see PsycNET.

Funded by statewide allocation.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window
Search and browse the full list of APA journals and selected EPF journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. When complete, the database will contain more than 2,000 session transcripts, 40,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material. The database currently includes approximately 71,900 pages of material.

The Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews
The Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.

MEDLINE/PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

Legal Databases

Use these databases to locate legal materials such as cases, regulations, and statutes.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is an online research platform that provides multidisciplinary periodicals, government documents, international resources, case law, and more. With HeinOnline, users can access more than 3,200 scholarly journals, all dating back to the first issue published.
In addition, there is coverage of U.S. government publications, and the archive of case law consists of federal, state, and overseas cases; international resources address many countries, regions, and international organizations.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information.

Funded by statewide allocation.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw enables students and faculty to research law-related issues. This comprehensive collection of legal content includes expert's analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, treatises and full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.

Test and Measurement Databases

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to five (5) simultaneous users.
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, this comprehensive bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. HaPI also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to four (4) simultaneous users.
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP), a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English, is now included.
PsycTests (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Last updated on Oct 15, 2024 4:01 PM