LibGuides: Social Work: Research After School

Where to find resources after graduation

This page addresses where you should look for scholarly research after you have graduated from your program. You may also find the following research guides useful:

Open Access Databases

Many journals and databases have an open access structure that allows researchers access to resources free of charge. Below is a short list of those that may apply to Social Work, including the Directory of Open Access Journals, a database that allows you to search through an index of open access journals.

MEDLINE/PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Open Access
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.

Databases beyond FAU

ERIC
ERIC is a federally supported database of education related articles.
Springer Open
Search within over 160 peer-reviewed open access journals and some open access books. Most journals are in the medicine and science but there are some articles covering the social sciences.
Taylor & Francis Health and Social Care
Taylor & Francis has made a number of journals within a variety of subjects openly available.

Last updated on Mar 31, 2025 3:58 PM