LibGuides: Library User Guide: Medical Faculty &amp; Staff: Finding & Using Library Resources

Where Can I find...?

Indexes and Databases

A-Z guide for all FAU databases. Find the full list of all Medical, Nursing, and Health Sciences databases by using the subject filter option.

Electronic Journals
Search for specific journal titles within our electronic holdings.

FAU Library Catalog
Search for books and other materials using the FAU Libraries Catalog.
OneSearch
Search for books, and more, using OneSearch.

Books are also available via FAU Library's database resources listed below.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides health professionals with access to leading clinical references, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
An integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access Pediatrics includes more than 20 e-books, drug monographs, and images useable in academic lectures and presentations.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
This resource includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.
DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States and contains a listing of diagnostic criteria for every psychiatric disorder recognized by the U.S. healthcare system. DSM is used in both clinical settings (inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinic, private practice, and primary care) as well as with community populations.
Ovid Online This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to 1 or 3 simultaneous users for some content.
Includes Journals@Ovid Full Text and Books@Ovid.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
The Thieme E-Book Library is an acclaimed online collection of lavishly illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thiemes renowned Color Atlases and Flexibook series.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Guidelines can be found within the following FAU Library Databases.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides health professionals with access to leading clinical references, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
An integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access Pediatrics includes more than 20 e-books, drug monographs, and images useable in academic lectures and presentations.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

QxMD Read Introduction PP Guide

Read by QxMD

'Read by QxMD' provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. Users will need to sign into app with their FAU credentials. Once verified, QxMD can remain logged in per the user's preference.

Features:

Get full text PDFs with one tap
Keep up with the latest new research that will impact your practice
Browse through 1000s of outstanding topic reviews
Search millions of articles from PubMed and our database of outstanding topic reviews
Read your favorite journals or browse article collections.
Access full text through your university/institutional subscription or via open access publishers
Share articles with colleagues over email, Twitter and Facebook
Organize and review your personal collection of articles
Earn CME credit.

FAU core faculty have access to UTD-- please note that access cannot be extended to affiliate clinical faculty at this time due to licensing restrictions. Any clinical affiliate queries can be directed to the department email as needed: librarymed@health.fau.edu.

Check out the UpToDate support page which covers:

Access via OpenAthens
Creating an UTD account
Re-verifing every 90 days from off campus
Mobile app information

Please note: UpToDate is to be used for FAU educational purposes only. Please do not share your UpToDate or FAU credentials with anyone. Access to UpToDate is limited to FAU FULL-TIME employees and medical students, and will be monitored for unauthorized use.

UpToDate
This resource only licensed for use by Medical Students, Nursing Students and selected Faculty at this time.

Medical residents and fellows that rotate through a Baptist Health Facility regularly throughout the academic year will have access through their hospital.

Medical residents and fellows that do not rotate through either Boca Raton Regional Hospital or Bethesda Hospital East can continue to use their FAU access.

Free Resources Guide: Health & Medicine
Guide created by FAU Librarian Lauri Rebar that lists broad disciplines with subdivisions. The Health & Medical Resources page is divided into Anatomy, Associations, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, and Dictionaries, Directories, & Abbreviations.

COM Support: https://comsupport.fau.edu/

Access COM Support Center's Knowledge base, create a ticket for Tech help, access software links and downloads.

The Library is available via COM Support for tickets: simply choose the library from the department drop down and one of us will respond as soon as possible.

Why are my resource links not working for students off campus?

Off campus users need to validate their FAU status when accessing FAU resources. Any shared links should be configured with OpenAthens:
- Visit the OpenAthens Support page: https://library.fau.edu/openathens.
- Click OpenAthens Link Generator, in the left navigation column.
- Enter the URL* and click enter.

*Please note that ClinicalKey URLs require additional steps to obtain a stable link. Please reach out to the medical librarians.

What do I do if I have a project and can't access the articles remotely online?

Please let the librarians know as soon as possible with your deadline. We can schedule a time to virtually walk through your access steps, and/or obtain the articles on your behalf.

Can I schedule a library orientation/session for my need?

Absolutely! We offer sessions for any of your library needs: please let us know how we can help and the time you have available for us. The easiest way to reach us is one of the contact options available on our Contact Us page. There you will find our emails, phone numbers, virtual & physical office spaces, and even bookable calendars where you can see our availability in real time and instantly schedule the best time for *your* schedule.

Do you take purchase suggestions for my course/project?

The Medical Library takes suggestions and would love to hear them, especially if they are for your curriculum! Please keep in mind that with a limited budget and depending on vendor availability we may not be able to honor the purchase but we will make note to consider all suggestions as we are able to obtain additional resources in the future.
- Suggest an item to Purchase: Medical Library

What can I do if I don't see my question here?

The Medical Library has a more expansive FAQ page for users to access 24/7. If "after hours" please check out this page to see if the information helps; let the librarians know via email if you need assistance (librarymed@health.fau.edu)

Last updated on Sep 12, 2024 9:31 AM