Class K in the Library of Congress Classification system organizes legal subjects, offering a structured framework within the FAU Libraries for accessing legal literature. At FAU Libraries, materials within Class K – Law, including its various subclasses, are readily available to support research and study the field of law. Below are some basic K-Classification areas for a more detailed breakdown. See the Library of Congress Classification for Class K.
For instance, researchers can find resources on general principles of law, comparative law, and jurisprudence within Class K.
The following is a partial list of subject headings related to Legal Resources that can be used to locate books and other items in the FAU Libraries Catalog.
At FAU Libraries, these materials can be accessed through the FAU Libraries Catalog, online databases, and physical collections. The libraries provide a comprehensive selection of legal literature, ensuring that students, faculty, and researchers have access to diverse legal resources to support their academic and professional endeavors.
Below, you will find a sample of the Book Titles that pertain to the Law and Legal subject areas.
The Changing Role of Criminal Law in Controlling Corporate Behavior by
This report addresses the use of criminal sanctions to control corporate behavior--prosecutions both of corporations and of employees for actions taken on corporations' behalf. The authors describe the current state of the use of criminal sanctions in controlling corporate behavior, describe how the current regime developed, and offer suggestions about how the use of criminal sanctions to control corporate behavior might be improved.
Constitutional law and precedent : international perspectives on case-based reasoning by
This collection examines case-based reasoning in constitutional adjudication; that is, how courts decide on constitutional cases by referring to their own prior case law and the case law of other national, foreign, and international courts. Argumentation based on judicial authority is now fundamental to the resolution of constitutional disputes. At the same time, it is the most common form of reasoning used by courts. This volume shows not only the strengths and weaknesses of such argumentation, but also its serious methodological shortcomings. The book is comparative in nature, with individual chapters examining similar problems that different courts have resolved in different ways. The research covers three types of courts; namely the civil law constitutional courts of Germany, Italy, Poland, Lithuania, and Hungary; the common law supreme courts of the United States, Canada, and Australia; and the European international courts represented by the European Court of Human Rights and the Court of Justice of the European Union. The authors are distinguished scholars from various countries who specialise in constitutional justice issues. This book will be of interest to legal theorists and practitioners, and will be especially insightful for constitutional court judges. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
Essential Supreme Court decisions : summaries of leading cases in U.S. constitutional law by
The only reference guide to Supreme Court cases organized both topically and chronologically within chapters so that readers understand how cases fit into a historical context, the 17th edition has been updated with 20 new cases, including landmark decisions on such topics as campaign finance, Obamacare, gay marriage, the First Amendment, search and seizure, among others. Updated through the end of the 2017 Supreme Court session, this book remains an indispensable resource for undergraduate and law school students, lawyers, and everyone interested in our nation's laws and Constitution.
Florida Legal Research by
This book fulfills the need of beginning legal researchers--and experienced researchers new to Florida sources--for concise explanations of Florida's essential legal resources. It combines information about specific sources with an introduction to research methods that will enable researchers to move beyond the sources described in the text as new legal research tools emerge. This fourth edition expands the treatment of online research using WestlawNext and Lexis Advance, as well as free or low-cost providers and governmental websites. The text emphasizes sources of Florida state law and includes references to analogous federal sources, making it a compact reference for planning both state and federal law research. The chapters have been reorganized so that the process of legal research is covered at the beginning of the book, along with concrete suggestions for organizing research in different media. A chapter on looseleaf services has been replaced with a new chapter covering a variety of practice tools, including blogs. The text also provides an overview of current citation rules for Florida sources. A new co-author, Jennifer LaVia, teaches at Florida State University College of Law, bringing insights to the needs of current Florida law students. This book is part of the Legal Research Series, edited by Suzanne E. Rowe, Director of Legal Research and Writing, University of Oregon School of Law. "Barbara J. Busharis and Suzanne E. Rowe have written a fine book to teach [the] basics. It should be in every library that supports Florida research. Overall, their book is excellent. It is well-written, well-planned, and extremely useful." -- Legal Information ALERT, on the second edition"[A] concise, no-nonsense book that will both educate lawyers anew as well as remind them about what they once knew on everything from the basics to the truly obscure... [T]his book is well-written, clearly organized, and truly a gem." -- Trial Advocate Quarterly, on the second edition
An inquiry into the existence of global values : through the lens of comparative constitutional law by
The world appears to be globalising economically, technologically and even, to a halting extent, politically. This process of globalisation raises the possibility of an international legal framework, a possibility which has gained pressing relevance in the wake of the recent global economic crisis. But for any international legal framework to exist, normative agreement between countries, with very different political, economic, cultural and legal traditions, becomes necessary. This work explores the possibility of such a normative agreement through the prism of national constitutional norms. Since 1945, more than a hundred countries have adopted constitutional texts which incorporate, at least in part, a Bill of Rights. These texts reveal significant similarities; the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, for instance, had a marked influence on the drafting of the Bill of Rights for South Africa, New Zealand and Hong Kong as well as the Basic Law of Israel. Similarly, the drafts of Eastern European constitutions reflect significant borrowing from older texts. The essays in this book examine the depth of these similarities; in particular the extent to which textual borrowings point to the development of foundational values in these different national legal systems and the extent of the similarities or differences between these values and the priorities accorded to them. From these national studies the work analyses the rise of constitutionalism since the Second World War, and charts the possibility of a consensus on values which might plausibly underpin an effective and legitimate international legal order.
International Law for Energy and the Environment by
This completely revised edition of Energy Law and the Environment has greatly expanded its scope to explore how international law engages with multinational companies regarding energy sources, ownership of those resources, and state sovereignty. Written for all the players in the energy sector, lawyers and non-lawyers alike, this second edition has been aptly renamed International Law for Energy and the Environment. It considers issues of energy sector regulation related to economics and protection of intellectual property associated with development of technologies for mitigating environmentally damaging emissions. The book is divided into three sections that build upon each other. Section I addresses the interrelationship between international law, environmental law, and the energy sector. It covers regulatory theory within an economic context; the regulation of multinational companies with regard to international regulation and state rules; and trade, competition, and environmental law in the energy sector. Section II examines the regulation of the various energy sectors--oil, gas, and nuclear--and how international law affects them and their ownership, risk, and liability. Section III considers some of the main energy producer/user jurisdictions where energy companies operate, including more developed systems around the world, such as the United States, the European Union, the United Kingdom, Norway, and Australia as well as two major emerging economies, namely, India and China. The final chapter reviews the material presented in the book, drawing conclusions about the current state of environmental regulation in the energy sector and identifying potential future developments.
Making modern Florida : how the spirit of reform shaped a new state constitution by
"Adkins portrays a major turning point in the development of modern Florida and has done a great job of bringing to life so many of the people who achieved this massive rewrite of our constitution."--Talbot D'Alemberte, former president of the American Bar Association and author of The Florida State Constitution "Deftly captures the story of the politics and powerful personalities who created a more modern government structure for Florida."--Neil Skene, former editor and president of Congressional Quarterly, Inc. Mid-twentieth-century Florida was a state in flux. Its explosive growth could be seen in rapidly burgeoning cities and suburbs, the development of the Kennedy Space Center during the space race, and the impending construction of Walt Disney World. Florida's antiquated 1885 constitution was no match for the dramatic changes that took place in the makeup of the state during this time. Many people recognized the shortcomings of the old constitution and worked to overhaul it. However, a small group of rural legislators known as the "Pork Chop Gang" controlled the state and thwarted several attempts to modernize the constitution. But through court-imposed redistribution of legislators and the hard work of state leaders, the constitution was modernized and the executive branch was reorganized. In Making Modern Florida, Mary Adkins goes behind the scenes to examine the history and impact of the 1966-68 revision of the Florida state constitution. With storytelling flair, Adkins uses interviews and detailed analysis of speeches and transcripts to vividly capture the moves, gambits, and backroom moments necessary to create and introduce a new state constitution. This carefully researched account brings to light the constitutional debates and political processes in the growth to maturity of what is now the nation's third largest state.
Philosophical Foundations of Constitutional Law by
Constitutional law has been and remains an area of intense philosophical interest, and yet the debate has taken place in a variety of different fields with very little to connect them. In a collection of essays bringing together scholars from several constitutional systems and disciplines, Philosophical Foundations of Constitutional Law unites the debate in a study of the philosophical issues at the very foundations of the idea of a constitution: why one might be necessary; what problems it must address; what problems constitutions usually address; and some of the issues raised by the administration of a constitutional regime. Although these issues of institutional design are of abiding importance, many of them have taken on new significance in the last few years as law-makers have been forced to return to first principles in order to justify novel practices and arrangements in their constitutional orders. Thus, questions of constitutional "revolutions", challenges to the demands of the rule of law, and the separation of powers have taken on new and pressing importance. The essays in this volume address these questions, filling the gap in the philosophical analysis of constitutional law. The volume will provoke specialists in philosophy, politics, and law to develop new philosophically grounded analyses of constitutional law, and will be a valuable resource for graduate students in law, politics and philosophy.
Sustainability and corporate governance : a guide to law and practice by
Sustainability and Corporate Governance is the first extensive and targeted guide for directors and their legal advisors on creating a governance framework for corporations that integrates all the recognized principles of sustainability now being discussed in boardrooms all over the world. The book provides a step-by-step approach on integrating sustainability principles into the activities of the board of directors including detailed guidance on legal, regulatory and business aspects of organizing and operating board committees and designing the sustainability management unit. Essential topics covered include: * Elements of an effective framework for implementation of sustainability governance, including required policies, procedures and committee charters * Organization of the governing board to effectively address sustainability issues and implement sustainability strategies * Best practices and processes to engage company stakeholders Corporate board members and attorneys will appreciate the book's practical forms and checklists, complete coverage of all facets of sustainability governance, summaries of relevant international and national guidelines and instruments, and a curated list of samples and case studies from companies all around the world.
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911