LibGuides: Florida Statutes and Laws of Florida: Florida Statues

Florida Statutes

Florida Statutes (Fla.Stat.) - This link will take you to the Florida State Page of Florida Statute and begins with the 1997 Statutes. Near the top of the screen, you will find a drop-down box, and you can select any year since 1997 to further your research. This page will offer Florida Statues from 1997 - 2022.
Florida Statutes (FSU College of Law) (1945-1996) This collection comprises digitized legal collections, historical statutes, and other legal documents.
LexisNexis® Florida Annotated Statutes This link will take you into the catalog record; once in the record, you can click on the link it provides you. This will allow you to access the Nexis Uni database and set it up to search Florida Statutes in the platform.

Westlaw This link opens in a new window Westlaw enables students and faculty to research law-related issues. This comprehensive collection of legal content includes expert's analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, treatises and full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.

Revisions & Compilations

Revisions and Compilations of Florida Statutes -- "The laws of general application of the territory of Florida and the State of Florida have either been compiled unofficially or revised under authority of law and adopted as official statutes in the following publications:"

Thompson's Digest, 1847 compilation Available in Google Books
Bush's Digest, 1872 compilation Available in Google Books
McClellan's Digest, 1881 compilation Available in Google Books
General Statutes, 1906 (G.S.) revision enacted as law Available in HathiTrust
Compiled Laws, 1914 annotated; unofficial compilation Available in HathiTrust
Revised General Statutes, 1920 (R.G.S.) revision enacted as law Available in Google Books

Other Revisions & Compilations are out there, but we do not have them here at FAU or could find them online. If any from the list below is required for your research needs, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Permanent, cumulative supplement to Compiled general laws of Florida, 1940 - beginning of the continuous revision system

Revised Statutes, 1892 (R.S.) - revision enacted as law
Compiled General Laws, 1927 (C.G.L.) - unofficial compilation
Permanent, cumulative supplement to Compiled general laws of Florida, 1940 - beginning of the continuous revision system
Florida Statutes, 1941 (F.S. 1941) - the adoption of the official 1940 revision
Florida Statutes, 1949 (F.S. 1949) - consolidation of 1941 statutes & supplements printed during 1943, 1945, & 1947
Florida Statutes, 1951+ - biennial, 1951-1999; annual 2000+

Citations for Attorney General Opinions

A Consolidated Index to Opinions Issued & Published in the Biennial Reports of the Attorney General of Florida from 1895-1960, and a Citator to Sections of the Florida Constitution & Florida Statutes Cited This resource is through the State Library and Archives of Florida - Florida Public Documents Collection.
Index to Report of the Attorney General's Opinions, 1961-1975, and A Citator to Sections of the Florida Constitution and Florida Statutes Cited This resource is through the State Library and Archives of Florida - Florida Public Documents Collection.
Index to Attorney General Opinions, 1975-1981, and A Citator to Sections of the Florida Constitution and Florida Statutes Cited This resource is through the State Library and Archives of Florida - Florida Public Documents Collection.

Index to Opinions Issued and Published by the Attorney General of Florida, 1975-1977, and A Citator to Sections of the Florida Statutes and the Florida Constitution Cited (Could not locate a web link for these items, but if you need it for your research you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Last updated on Mar 21, 2024 11:03 AM