LibGuides: Florida Statutes and Laws of Florida: Laws of Florida

Laws of Florida (1997 - Current)

Laws of Florida - arranged chronologically A verbatim publication of the general and special laws enacted by the Florida Legislature in a given year and published each year following the legislature's regular session. It presents the laws in the order in which they are numbered by the Secretary of State, as well as resolutions and memorials passed by the legislature. Source: Florida Senate Glossary
more...less...
The website opens up in the current year, with a drop-down box to the right marked YEAR - you can select from 1997 - current year)

Florida Territory, 1822-1845

Acts of the Legislative Council of the Territory of Florida (1822-1845) This collection of documents comes from the State Library and Archives of Florida Website.

TERRITORIAL LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL RECORDS, 1822-1845

Territorial Legislative Council Records, 1822-1845 Florida became a United States territory in 1821 but did not become a state until 1845. During the territorial years, Florida's government derived its authority from the federal government rather than a state constitution, and many of its key officers were appointed rather than elected. The legislature initially consisted of only 13 members in one chamber, all chosen by the President of the United States. Florida voters began choosing their legislators in 1826, and in 1838, Congress established a second legislative chamber, the Florida Senate. By the time Florida became a state in 1845, the territory's two-house legislature had grown to almost 50 elected representatives. This collection contains more than 3,000 records documenting the work of Florida's territorial legislators, from their first meeting in Pensacola in 1822 to their final meeting in Tallahassee in 1845, after which a new state government took control of Florida's affairs.

Laws of Florida, 1845+

Laws of Florida - arranged chronologically A verbatim publication of the general and special laws enacted by the Florida Legislature in a given year and published each year following the legislature's regular session. It presents the laws in the order in which they are numbered by the Secretary of State, as well as resolutions and memorials passed by the legislature. Source: Florida Senate Glossary
more...less...
The website opens up in the current year, with a drop-down box to the right marked YEAR - you can select from 1997 - current year)
Laws of Florida (1921-1996) Acts and Resolutions of the General Assembly of the State of Florida
Acts & Resolutions of the General Assembly of the State of Florida (Laws of Florida) (1845-1996) Digitized by the State Library of Florida and the Florida State University College of Law & Research Center
Florida Summaries of General Legislation (1970-1994) Compiled by the Florida State University College of Law Legal Research Center with financial support from the law libraries of Ave Maria School of Law, Barry University, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, Florida Coastal School of Law, Florida International University, Florida State University, Nova Southeastern University, St. Thomas University, Stetson University, Thomas M. Cooley Law School, University of Florida, and the University of Miami. Not for Commercial Use.
Index to Laws of Florida, Special & Local Laws, 1945+ This resource is distributed through the State Library and Archives - Florida Public Documents Collection. You will find two links: (1) 1845 - 1970 and (2) 1971 - 2022

Florida Historical Legal Document

Florida Historical Legal Documents (University of Florida) The Florida Historical Legal Documents collection includes the Laws of Florida Territory (1822-1845) and the Florida Constitutions of 1838, 1865, 1868, and 1885.

Records of the States of the United States of America: Florida (FAU does not have the following items in their holdings, but if you need to request them through Interlibrary Loan.

- legislative records such as the journals of the Legislature (1822-1869, 1912)
- ordinances & statutory law (1821-1877)
- Duval's Compilation of Public Acts (1839)
- Thompson's Digest (1847)
- constitutional records (1810-1868)
- administrative records (1827-1850)
- executive records (1845-1874)
- Supreme Court Record Book (1825-1845)
- legislative/executive records (1764-1783)
- records of the rudimentary State (1810-1817)
- other material regarding Florida history

Last updated on Sep 11, 2024 1:49 PM