Skip to Main Content
We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Faculty Resources & Services Guide

Linking in Canvas, PowerPoint, and Other Electronic Sources - USE A PERMALINK

Keys to linking to electronic resources:   

  • Copy a durable URL (or permalink) whenever possible.
  • Where is Permalink located?
    • When using OneSearch or the FAU Library Catalog, click on the title of the item. Look in the "Send to" section in the middle of the detail page for the book, journal, etc. Click on Permalink and copy it. This is the link to share and use to link back to the resource. 
    • This type of link denotes a durable URL (also may be referred to as a bookmark URL or permalink)
  • Check the link before copying it into Canvas to make certain you have copied the correct link for the item.

Example:
Book Title:   Cell Biology (2017)
Author:  Pollard, Thomas D.

Permalink URL:  https://fau-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01FALSC_FAU/pnquja/alma990362784950306568 

Linking to Specific Types of Library Electronic Resources

Due to copyright and other barriers, please do NOT embed a PDF file or other full-text sources (e.g., e-book or journal article) directly into Canvas.

See some options available to provide access to a materials from FAU Libraries in these tabs.

Watch our video on how to Add a Library Content Item to Canvas.

It's easy to find, copy, and paste a Permalink from FAU Libraries' OneSearch or Library Catalog results. Watch our video.

Link to Catalog Record:   

  • Choose the Library Catalog tab from the top of the blue search box on the library home page.
  • Use the search box to search for the title of the item in the Library Catalog (or search by subject, author, etc.)
  • Within the Library Catalog, click on the title of the item in the catalog.
  • Look in the "Send to" section in the middle of the detail page for the book, journal, etc. Click on Permalink and copy it. This is the link to share and use to link back to the resource. 
  • This type of link denotes a durable URL (also may be referred to as a bookmark URL or permalink)
  • Paste this link into your learning tool. This will take users back to the catalog entry. 

library catalog ebook preview

Link to an E-book Instructions:   

  • Choose the Library Catalog tab from the top of the blue search box on the library home page.
  • Within the Library Catalog, click on the title of the ebook.
  • Look in the "Send to" section in the middle of the detail page for the book, journal, etc. Click on Permalink and copy it. This is the link to share in Canvas and use to link back to the resource. 
  • This type of link denotes a durable URL (also may be referred to as a bookmark URL or permalink)
  • Ebook interfaces vary depending upon the vendor.
  • There may be a limit on the number of persons who may use an ebook at one time. Ebook connections may automatically timeout if ebook is not being used, allowing other user(s) to log in and use it.
  • Printing or saving a limited number of pages of an ebook may be allowed.
  • If available, users can create an account using their FAU email address, then log in to highlight, create notes, or do other activities within the ebook.

library catalog ebook preview

Link to a Database:

  • Choose the Databases tab from within the blue search box on the library home page.
  • Either type in the database name in the search box and click "Enter" on your keyboard or click on the magnifying glass to the right of the search box. You may also click on "Browse Databases by title" directly beneath the search box to see the list of all database titles.
  • Locate the database to which you want to link; click on the share icon  to the right of the database title.
  • Copy and past the link into Canvas, your web browser, or any other app you like.. 
  • Links copied in this manner already contain the Off Campus Connect URL, so they can be directly pasted into a Canvas page or other tool.

databases tab

Link to a Journal:

  • Choose Journals from the tab at the top of the blue box on the library home page.
  • Enter enter the journal name in the search box.
  • Click on the name of the journal in the results list.
  • Look in the "Send to" section in the middle of the detail page for the book, journal, etc. Click on Permalink and copy it. This is the link to share and use to link back to the journal. 
  • This type of link denotes a durable URL (also may be referred to as a bookmark URL or permalink)
  • Paste this link into your learning tool. This will take users back to the catalog entry. 

NOTE: You will be searching for the title of a journal. If you wish to search for a specific title or an article by topic, you often will obtain faster results by using OneSearch for your search.

Journals tab

Link to a specific article:

  • Due to copyright and other barriers, DO NOT embed PDF file or other full-text source directly into Canvas.
  • Provide a direct link to the full text of an article subscribed to by FAU.
  • Use the permalink for the article, when available.
  • If unavailable, right click on the hyperlinked title to the article and copy the hyperlink, then paste it into your teaching aid. 

To search for a specific article:

  • OneSearch is the default search when logging into the library's home page. If it is not already chosen, then choose OneSearch tab from the top of the blue search box on the library home page.
  • Within OneSearch, type the title of the article you are searching for, and enclose it within quotation marks (e.g., "tom sawyer").
  • Typically, your article will show up within the first few items listed on the results page. Click on the title of the article.
  • Look in the "Send to" section in the middle of the detail page for the book, journal, etc. Click on Permalink and copy it. This is the link to share in Canvas and use to link back to the resource. 
  • This type of link denotes a durable URL (also may be referred to as a bookmark URL or permalink).

article snip showing permalink information

If unable to locate the specific article using above method:

  • Do a search for the journal in which the article appears. (see tab in this section for details)
  • Click on the title of the journal.
  • Scroll down to "View Online" and "Full text availability" to see the year/volume/issue of the journal where the article should be found in the list of available databases and coverage dates.
  • Choose the database that includes the year your article was published and click on it.
  • Search for your article by date, issue, or via search box (if available within that journal).

Link to Streaming Video from FAU Libraries:

  • ​Choose the Library Catalog tab from the top of the blue search box on the library home page.
  • Use the search box to search for the title of the item in the Library Catalog (or search by subject, author, etc.)
  • From within the Library Catalog, click on Permalink and then copy the Permalink.
  • Paste the Permalink into Canvas
  • NOTE: Embedded streaming videos may experience some access lag time, so it is recommended to hyperlink to FAU streaming videos instead of embedding them.

Link to Streaming Video from Alexander Street Press videos:

  • Search for the video within the Alexander Stress Press video site.
  • Near bottom of search page, see instructions on how to make a clip or playlist, searching, etc.
  • Click on the title of the video you wish to see.
  • Below the playing screen for the video, click on .
  • Copy the Permanent link to share on Canvas.
  • NOTE: Embedded streaming videos may experience some access lag time, so it is recommended to hyperlink to Alexander Street Press streaming videos instead of embedding them in Canvas.

Linking to Other Types of Resources & Troubleshooting

Due to copyright and other barriers, please do NOT embed a PDF file or other full-text sources (e.g., e-book or journal article) directly into Canvas.

See some options available to provide access to other materials in these tabs:

Link to Digital Collections:

  • Locate the items you wish to link to from within the Digital Library Collection.
  • Copy the PURL (permanent URL) from beneath the item's title. 
  • If you have questions or cannot find the PURL, contact Joanne Parandjuk (jparandj@fau.edu) of Digital Collections to obtain a PURL  for the item you wish to link.

Link to an RSS Feed From an Electronic Journal:

Troubleshooting:

Compatibility:

  • According to FAU OIT's Canvas FAQs, Canvas can be used with the last two versions of every browser release.  Instructors are highly recommended to have the latest updates of their preferred browsers and also have the most up-to-date Flash plug-in.
  • Canvas supports these popular web browsers and versions of Flash (as of October 18, 2016):
    • Internet Explorer 11 and Edge.
    • Chrome 52 and 53
    • Safari 9 and 10
    • Firefox 48 and 49 (Extended Releases are not supported)
    • Flash 22 and 23 (used for recording or viewing audio/video and uploading files)
    • Respondus Lockdown Browser (supporting the latest system requirements 

Authenication to Use FAU Online Resources

FAU Libraries uses two authentication systems to verify that users have permissions to access our electronic resources.

See our information on the Off Campus Connect page (or click below) to learn more about the new OpenAthens and legacy EZproxy systems.

Off Campus Connect

Subtitle
Access to our licensed Electronic Resources off campus
Many of the electronic resources offered by the FAU Libraries are restricted to currently registered students, staff, and faculty of the University. When connecting to these services from off campus you are required to let the system know you are currently affiliated with FAU. Please click on the OpenAthens link below to log into OpenAthens in order to access our licensed resources.
OpenAthens (New)


Click here to login into OpenAthens
OpenAthens is replacing EZproxy as the primary tool to access licensed electronic resources off-campus.
Most licensed resources are now available in OpenAthens
Please visit the FAU Libraries OpenAthens' Homepage to learn more about this new service and if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us via our OpenAthens contact form.
EZproxy (Legacy)


Click here to login into EZproxy
EZproxy is now being replaced with Openathens as the primary tool to access our Electronic Resources off-campus.
We are transitioning from EZproxy to OpenAthens. It is recommended to use OpenAthens when possible.
If you are unable to connect through EZproxy, please fill out the Off Campus Connect (EZproxy) issues form.

Proxy URL Link Maker for [OpenAthens] and for [EZproxy]

Occasionally, you may find a link that does not have a working Permalink. When this occurs, you may contact your Liaison Librarian for assistance, or use the following Link Generators.

Use Link Generator for OpenAthens.

Use Link Maker for EZproxy to easily add the Off Campus Connect prefix to the front of a permalink to an ebook, electronic journal, DOI, or other digital object.   

Link Maker can also be used to create links to online resources to use course management software, web pages, online syllabi, and other online platforms. These links will allow seamless off-campus access.

HINT: Make certain that the link you add to the box includes http:// or https://. 

Last updated on Nov 5, 2024 10:28 AM