LibGuides: EUH 6939: The Mind of Europe, 1300-1550: Indexes/Databases & Journals

academic journals

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:

Databases
A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:

Electronic Journals
An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

Indexes and Databases are collections of academic journals and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Below are a list of FAU Indexes and Databases that cover matters relating to The Mind of Europe, 1300-1550.

(For a brief description of the resource just hover your courser over the link.)

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 130,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
English Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Open Access
A catalog of materials printed from the beginning of print until 1800 in Great Britain, its territories, and in English from around the world.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
Open Access
This bibliographic database is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. This database is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, and contains more than 32,000 entries.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to six (6) simultaneous users.
Indexes journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in a companion database America: History and Life).

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to one (1) user
Contains records describing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine and allied historical fields. Citations reflect the contents of more than 1,000 journals, and partial contents of several hundred more.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a large and growing resource of essential medieval and early modern sources online.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to one (1) user
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
Special Collections at FAU Libraries This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Directory of non-circulating collections of rare books, pamphlets, letters, manuscripts, music scores, sheet music, music recordings, artists, books, artwork, photographs, faculty papers and university records found in the FAU Libraries' Special Collections Department. Includes materials in the Marvin & Sybil Weiner Spirit of America Collection, Recorded Sound Archives, and the Arthur and Mata Jaffe Center for Book Arts.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals will be useful both for the novice historian and the advanced academic researcher.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries exploring human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The videos cover Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically. To see if we have access to an electronic journal that is not listed below, click here to search. Electronic Journal Search

Below are a list of Academic Journals that cover the area of The Mind of Europe, 1300-1550.

(For a brief description of the resource just hover your courser over the link.)

Theses and Dissertations

Find theses and dissertations from FAU and other colleges and universities!

Dissertations & Theses @ Florida Atlantic University This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window

FAU Faculty Theses & Dissertations

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials