EUH 6939: The Mind of Europe, 1300-1550

The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. The Avalon Project will no doubt contain controversial documents. Their inclusion does not indicate endorsement of their contents nor sympathy with the ideology, doctrines, or means employed by their authors. They are included for the sake of completeness and balance and because in many cases they are by our definition a supporting document.

A digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world.

This is a database of thousands of prints and book illustrations from early modern Britain in fully-searchable form. The image records have been organized in such a way that copies and variations of the same print are gathered together within a single record. Prints can be searched for by producer, by name of person depicted, and by subject, and it is possible to combine various search criteria. The subject search is based on a systematically organized thesaurus arranged by topic, based on and largely compatible with ICONCLASS. Other information included: links to other websites of historical prints and information on history, genres, and techniques of print-making. Led by Professor Michael Hunter from the School of History, Classics and Archaeology at Birkbeck, University of London, bpi1700 is a collaboration between Birkbeck and technical staff at the Centre for Computing in the Humanities at King’s College, London. The project has also involved the Department of Prints and Drawings at the British Museum, and the Department of Word and Image at the Victoria and Albert Museum.

"Latin Texts of Early Modern Europe. Our successive projects are dedicated to building a digital library of the humanistic Respublica Litterarum."

Contains the principal records of clerical careers from archives in England and Wales. Covers clerical lives from the Reformation to the mid-nineteenth century.

Is part of the larger Bodleian Libraries’ collections are extraordinary and significant—both from a scholarly point of view and as material that has an historic and aesthetic richness that holds value for non-academic users. In an effort to make portions of our collections open to a wide variety of users from around the world for learning, teaching and research, the Bodleian Libraries have been digitizing library content for nearly twenty years. The result is over 650,000 freely available digital objects and almost another 1 million images awaiting release.

Copies of correspondence and other records of the Codrington family pertaining to the West Indies and numerous estates owned by the family throughout the Caribbean region. Records date from 1272 to 1899.

This is the essential guide through the history of London: some 1200 printed and hand-drawn maps charting the development of the city and its immediate vicinity from around 1570 to 1860. The maps were collected, mainly during the first half of the nineteenth century, by the fashionable society designer, Frederick Crace.

Primary (and secondary) sources on medieval and renaissance military history. Includes the Crusades, Hundred Years' War, Anglo-Norman Warfare, and the Vikings and Norse. [Note: temporarily unavailable March 2012, but links to an archived site]

The Text Creation Partnership is quickly arriving at a major milestone: starting January 1, 2015, all restrictions will be lifted from EEBO-TCP Phase I, which consists of the first 25,000 texts transcribed and encoded by the TCP from 2000-2009. These 25,000 (plus a few hundred) texts will be freely available to anyone wishing to use them, and there will no longer be any restrictions on sharing these files. They will be licensed under the Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication (CC0 1.0 Universal), which will be indicated in the header of each text.

Is comprised of four distinct, interoperable projects: a digital edition of the 1561 Agas woodcut map of London; an Encyclopedia and Descriptive Gazetteer of London people, places, topics, and terms; a Library of marked-up texts rich in London toponyms; and a versioned edition of John Stow’s Survey of London. These four projects draw data from MoEML’s five databases: a Placeography of locations (e.g., streets, sites, playhouses, taverns, churches, wards, and topographical features); a Personography of early modern Londoners, both historical and literary; an Orgography of organizations (e.g., livery companies and other corporations); a Bibliography of primary and secondary sources; and a Glossary of terms relevant to early modern London. All of the files in our databases use a common TEI tagset that enables us to work with primary and secondary texts simultaneously.

A gateway site for any one interested in studying the early modern period (c.1500-1800CE)

The Text Creation Partnership is quickly arriving at a major milestone: starting January 1, 2015, all restrictions will be lifted from EEBO-TCP Phase I, which consists of the first 25,000 texts transcribed and encoded by the TCP from 2000-2009. These 25,000 (plus a few hundred) texts will be freely available to anyone wishing to use them, and there will no longer be any restrictions on sharing these files. They will be licensed under the Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication (CC0 1.0 Universal), which will be indicated in the header of each text.

A "collaborative database on the published sources of English medieval legal documents." Links to online sources are provided when available.

Subset of the larger EuroDocs site, focusing on the medieval period.

Provides access to scholarly digital repositories and other portals dealing with all facts of European history, from ancient to modern times. Browse by country, language, subject, time period, type of resources. Types of resources: dictionaries, drawings, interviews, letters, maps, pamphlets, photos, posters, sheet music, more.

Represents the outcome of an international collaborative research project for the collection, archiving and dissemination of data on European fiscal history across the medieval, early modern and modern periods. This material is available free of charge to academics and students, in order to fulfil three main aims: To conserve the data underlying previous published and unpublished research, in order that subsequent researchers do not have to re-collect data in order to verify older calculations; to disseminate this data and in doing so encourage new research, and to continue to preserve new data relating to state finance as it becomes available.

This website has primary sources along with some explanatory notes. Primary sources appear in RED. Be sure to scroll to the bottom to look at the citation for the primary source. There is a search box at the top right where you can search keywords for your topic.

Presents a selection of primary source texts illustrative of various aspects of medieval urban life. Texts are grouped under four headings: community, economy, government and lifecycle.

The Hanover Historical Texts Collection makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses.

The Hanover Historical Texts Collection makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses.

Euro Docs are an open access sources through BYU. All links are connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

Provides information about and for historians. It publishes details of university lecturers in the UK and the Republic of Ireland (Teachers), current and past historical research (Theses), digital history projects (Projects), new books and journals from a range of leading publishers (Books, Journals) and sources of funding available for researchers (Grants). The database also provides details of history libraries and collections and digital research tools for historians. It currently holds more than 75,000 records, and new material is added regularly.

A research project creating a comprehensive account of parliamentary politics in England, then Britain, from their origins in the thirteenth century. Unparalleled in the comprehensiveness of its treatment, the History is generally regarded as one of the most ambitious, authoritative and well-researched projects in British history.

Euro Docs are an open access sources through BYU. All links are connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

Euro Docs are an open access sources through BYU. All links are connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is organized as three main index pages, with a number of supplementary indices. Each individual section is still large - an organizational goal here is to avoid incessant "clicking" to get between pages and to information.

Archive of primary texts relating to all major world religions and many other spiritual practices, including all major scriptures.

Here you can learn about Islamic medicine and science during the Middle Ages and the important role it played in the history of Europe.

Provides subject-oriented links to other websites offering primary sources of the medieval period.

A Cooperative Digitization Project of Heidelberg University Library and the Institute for Art History of Heidelberg University - supported by German Research Foundation.

The letters of William Herle, intelligencer and diplomat for the Elizabethan court, offer a unique resource for Early Modern studies. Written over the period 1559-88, Herle's previously unedited, unpublished and overlooked letters are richly textured. They offer a fascinating insight into the information networks and patronage systems of the political administration, as well as valuable material for religious, social, economic and cultural history. This edition has been designed as a hypertext archive in order to maximise the ability to access and retrieve information from the corpus.

This site includes a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London in a fully digitised and searchable format.

digital documents in the sphere of historic book resources (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents). These historical resources, otherwise scattered in various digital libraries around the world, are now available under a single digital library interface. The service provides seamless access to more than 5 millions of digital images."

Manuscripta mediaevalia currently makes more than 90,000 documents on Western manuscripts available, mainly in German libraries. For research, use the targeted search in over twenty search fields, leaf through the holdings of individual library locations or combine both research entries.

British History Online contains primary and secondary sources for the history of the British Isles. To date, British History Online has digitised more than 1,000 volumes, including such central resources as the Journals of the Houses of Commons and Lords and The National Archives' Calendars of State Papers (including the State Papers Domestic, Foreign and Colonial, the Treasury Books and Papers and the Letters and Papers of Henry VIII). The majority of this material is freely available, but there is an element of subscription content (principally the Calendar of State Papers, Domestic, the Calendar of Close Rolls and the Parliament Rolls of Medieval England).

Contains 215 medieval or Renaissance manuscripts that date between the 11th and 17th centuries. This database contains item-level descriptions for each of the manuscripts and enables keyword searching as well as several different ways to browse the collection contents.

This section includes a selection of medieval primary texts, translated into English by Graham A. Loud (Professor of Medieval History, University of Leeds). Almost all of the texts selected and edited for this project appear in English translation for the first time, and in some cases, the translation here is entirely new and has been made without reference to previous versions. These texts should be regarded very much as works in progress. They are made publicly available for study and teaching, but any use made of them should be properly acknowledged, and any quotation in print confined to short extracts only. The copyright remains with the author of these translations.

Digitized manuscripts from the NYPL.

Excellent site dedicated to the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600CE. Includes a separate section of primary sources, which can be browsed by title/author/community/region/century. Search function also available.

List of online exhibitions; browse by name or historical period. Includes selections dating from 1066 through the 20th century.

Main archive for sources of the history of Scotland as a separate kingdom, her role in the British Isles, and the links between Scotland and other countries over the centuries.

Subject-oriented links to medieval primary sources.

A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization. Browse by author/title/genre/language.

Online Medieval Source Bibliography This database provides a searchable bibliography of texts - from private letters, wills, and household accounts to literary works, philosophical treatises, chronicles, court proceedings, church records, and a host of other documents - that were written in the Middle Ages and are now available in printed or online editions and translations.

Website dedicated to historic designed landscapes and will include records of over 7,000 historic gardens in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales as well as articles and features on historical styles and designs. Browse by period. Summary, description, references, some images for individual properties.

Parliamentary Archives of the United Kingdom holds several million historical records relating to Parliament. This Archive web sites offers access to Portcullis, an online catalog describing 3 million items. These include records of the Houses of Lords and Commons: acts of Parliament, committee papers, Hansard, journals, judicial records, peerage claim records, etc. A fire in 1834 burned down the Houses of Parliament; consequently, this archive has no House of Commons records prior to this date, except for manuscript journals and minutes and printed journals of this House. They also do not have records of government departments; these are at the National Archives/Public Records Office.

At the University of Texas Austin. A large map collection with digitized historical maps of Europe.

Since planning began in 1985, the Perseus Digital Library Project has explored what happens when libraries move online. Two decades later, as new forms of publication emerge and millions of books become digital, this question is more pressing than ever. Perseus is a practical experiment in which we explore possibilities and challenges of digital collections in a networked world. For the mission of Perseus and its current research, see here.

The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.

Project Gutenberg: "A major source of historical electronic texts that can be searched by author or title.

A ‘reading experience’ means a recorded engagement with a written or printed text - beyond the mere fact of possession. A database containing as much information as possible about what British people read, where and when they read it and what they thought of it will form an invaluable resource for researchers of book history, cultural studies, sociology and family history, to name but a few. The mission is to accumulate as much data as possible about the reading experiences of British subjects from 1450 to 1945.

Fordham University has put together a webpage with links to various resources on the European Confirmation.

THIS EXHIBITION presents Renaissance editions of Dante's Divine Comedy from the John A. Zahm, C.S.C., Dante Collection at the University of Notre Dame, together with selected treasures from The Newberry Library. The Zahm collection ranks among the top Dante collections in North America. Purchased for the most part by Zahm in 1902 from the Italian Dantophile Giulio Acquaticci, the 15th- and 16th- century imprints presented here form the heart of Zahm's collection, which totals nearly 3,000 volumes, including rare editions and critical studies from the Renaissance to the present. The nine incunable editions and nearly complete series of 16th-century imprints featured in this exhibit constitute essential primary sources for both the history of Dante's reception during the Renaissance and the early history of the printed book.

Reviews in History was launched in 1996, and publishes reviews and reappraisals of significant work in all fields of historical interest.

Little is known about slavery in 18th-Century Britain. This project at University of Glasgow will create a database of searchable information about those who sought to escape bondage. Not all of the the people who ran away from their masters in Georgian Britain were of African descent, and a small number were Native Americans or were from the Indian sub-continent. While some were not slaves, many were described by their masters in terms of slavery.

Database contains all people known to have been accused of witchcraft in early modern Scotland, nearly 4,000, where, when accused, how tried, what their fate was, and info on a wide range of themese relating to social and cultural history. Supporting material with introduction to the topic, further reading section, links to other sites.

The TEAMS Middle English Texts Series (METS) is published for TEAMS (The Teaching Association for Medieval Studies) in association with the University of Rochester by Medieval Institute Publications, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan. The texts are made available here by permission of the Executive Committee of TEAMS and The Medieval Institute at Western Michigan University.

This documentary sources database provides access to 200 volumes of documents from the Medici Granducal Archive (Archivio Mediceo del Principato). Documents include letters and biographical records of the Medici Family from 1537-1743. Keyword search, or select document groups based on topic including "Art Collecting" and "Painting."

Several hundred images from the British Library's collections arranged by decade in this interactive resource. One to 10 images per decade from 1215-2008. Thumbnails enlarge and have introductions that describe images briefly and place them in historical context. Five thematic timelines, in addition: politics/power/rebellion; literature/music/entertainment; everyday life; sacred texts; medicine/science/technology. Can select two time lines at once and compare them. Create your own customized timelines.

Contains more than 3,000 books, manuscripts, and related materials. The collection focuses on witchcraft as as theology and as religious heresy.

WEME is a digital exploration of the nano-histories: a way to study the history of early English witching. Using WEME’s resources, you can use a time line, map, search box, or filter to explore almost three thousand individual multi-dimensional nano-histories of and align them, using digital technologies, to create a composite of the true and terrible stories of the early English witches.

Collection of manuscripts, books and visual resources. Select a date range of interest, then use limiters to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.