Law / Government / Professional Organizations

Federal, State, and Local Education Agencies

Education agencies can provide many sources of information such as:

Standards
Programs
Reports
Statistics and Data

U.S. Department of Education
more...less...
USDOE home page provides links to programs, news, policy and research.
Cognia Cognia is the largest community of education professionals in the world. We are a non-profit, non-partisan organization that conducts rigorous, on-site reviews of a variety of educational institutions and systems to ensure that all learners realize their full potential.
Florida Department of Education
Florida Department of Education - K - 12 Private Schools
Palm Beach County School District
Broward County Public Schools
Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Martin County School District

State and Local Teacher Organizations

State and Local Teacher Organizations

National Teacher Organizations

Professional organizations can be valuable sources on the following:

Networking and Mentoring
Internships and Co-Ops
Scholarships
Conferences and Professional Development

National Teacher Associations

American Association of Physics Teachers
American Federation of Teachers The American Federation of Teachers was founded in 1916 to represent the economic, social and professional interests of classroom teachers. It is an affiliated international union of the AFL-CIO.
National Council of Teachers of English The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.
National Education Association
National Alliance of Black School Educators
National Education Association (NEA) Black Caucus

Legal & Governmental Resources for Educators

Teacher education is heavily influenced by legislative and legal action. See the following links for direct sources of laws and legislation.

Online Sunshine - Official Internet Site of the Florida Legislature Find information on Florida laws and statues, as well as bills, committees and other actions of the State of Florida Legislature.
Education Law - Legal Information Institute, Cornell University
more...less...
A brief description of the federal laws, statues, and Supreme Court decisions regarding education.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is an online research platform that provides multidisciplinary periodicals, government documents, international resources, case law, and more. With HeinOnline, users can access more than 3,200 scholarly journals, all dating back to the first issue published. In addition, there is coverage of U.S. government publications, and the archive of case law consists of federal, state, and overseas cases; international resources address many countries, regions, and international organizations.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information. Funded by statewide allocation.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window Provides the tools for searching the Congressional Record, finding members of Congress, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, and searching Congressional hearings, the Federal Register, the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Congressional committee schedules, Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Westlaw enables students and faculty to research law-related issues. This comprehensive collection of legal content includes expert's analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, treatises and full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.

Statistical Sources for Education

The Condition of Education This website is an integrated collection of the indicators and analyses published in The Condition of Education 2000–2015. Some indicators may have been updated since they appeared in print.
Digest of Education Statistics The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
Education Data (U.S. Census Bureau) The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment, to school costs and financing. We collect information from individuals regarding their school experiences, and directly from schools or the government agencies that help manage them. The Census Bureau is also helping educate the public about our census and survey programs, and providing materials to educators who teach statistics. These data are used to keep track of changing educational qualifications of the population by age, sex and race, and other characteristics, and are used by schools, governments, businesses and the public.
Florida Department of Education
IPEDS: Intergrated Postsecondary Education Data System IPEDS gathers information from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs. The Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, requires that institutions that participate in federal student aid programs report data on enrollments, program completions, graduation rates, faculty and staff, finances, institutional prices, and student financial aid.
The National Center for Education Statistics The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) located within the U.S. Department of Education and Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary Federal entity for collecting and analyzing date related to education.

SREB Factbook on Higher Education This link opens in a new window Open Access One of the nation's most comprehensive collections of data on higher education.

Statistical Abstract of the United States - archival (Census.gov) The Census Bureau provides historical volumes of the Statistical Abstract in PDF form, with Excel tables available for more recent years.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States.

U.S. Census Bureau Data Population, education, housing, economic, and geographic data and statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Free Newsletters/Websites for Education

Last updated on Oct 14, 2024 6:21 PM - Guide Creator(s)

EDF 2005: Introduction to the Teaching Profession