Law / Government / Professional Organizations

State and Local Teacher Organizations

State and Local Teacher Organizations

Professional organizations can be valuable sources on the following:

National Teacher Associations

American Association of Physics Teachers
American Federation of Teachers The American Federation of Teachers was founded in 1916 to represent the economic, social and professional interests of classroom teachers. It is an affiliated international union of the AFL-CIO.
National Council of Teachers of English The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.
National Education Association
National Alliance of Black School Educators
National Education Association (NEA) Black Caucus

Education agencies can provide many sources of information such as:

U.S. Department of Education
more...less...
USDOE home page provides links to programs, news, policy and research.
Cognia Cognia is the largest community of education professionals in the world. We are a non-profit, non-partisan organization that conducts rigorous, on-site reviews of a variety of educational institutions and systems to ensure that all learners realize their full potential.
Florida Department of Education
Florida Department of Education - K - 12 Private Schools
Palm Beach County School District
Broward County Public Schools
Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Martin County School District

Teacher education is heavily influenced by legislative and legal action. See the following links for direct sources of laws and legislation.

Online Sunshine - Official Internet Site of the Florida Legislature Find information on Florida laws and statues, as well as bills, committees and other actions of the State of Florida Legislature.
Education Law - Legal Information Institute, Cornell University
more...less...
A brief description of the federal laws, statues, and Supreme Court decisions regarding education.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is an online research platform that provides multidisciplinary periodicals, government documents, international resources, case law, and more. With HeinOnline, users can access more than 3,200 scholarly journals, all dating back to the first issue published.
In addition, there is coverage of U.S. government publications, and the archive of case law consists of federal, state, and overseas cases; international resources address many countries, regions, and international organizations.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window Provides the tools for searching the Congressional Record, finding members of Congress, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, and searching Congressional hearings, the Federal Register, the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Congressional committee schedules, Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Westlaw enables students and faculty to research law-related issues. This comprehensive collection of legal content includes expert's analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, treatises and full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.

Last updated on Feb 28, 2024 12:39 PM - Guide Creator(s)