Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - With Image and Video Link
Request to borrow books, journals, or other items not available at FAU!
ebooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Well over 60,000 E-Books covering a full range of subjects.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic books purchased mostly by the FAU Libraries, with some of the collection purchased with student tech fees.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in business, law, medicine, humanities, science, and social science disciplines. Also, includes some e-books published by Springer.
Search Library Catalogs
Find materials from all Florida public colleges and universities. Use UBorrow to request materials.
Search WorldCat to locate books and other materials in libraries throughout North America and the world. Use interlibrary loan to request items found in WorldCat.
WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat is now available on the new WorldCat Discovery platform. A comprehensive catalog with over 179 million bibliographic records representing library collections from around the world. The catalog includes books, print journals, DVDs, historic photos, video games, musical scores, newspapers, webpages and other items.
Books Available in the Library
Qualities of Effective Teachers, 3rd Edition by James H. Stronge
Every teacher seeks to be an effective teacher. Every teacher wants to have a positive, remarkable, and lasting influence on students' lives. But what makes for an effective teacher? What role does teacher preparation play in teacher effectiveness? What do effective teachers do during planning, instruction, and assessment? How do they create a learning environment that engages and supports students? And how do effective teachers interact with their students to promote the best opportunities and results for all? In Qualities of Effective Teachers, 3rd edition, James H. Stronge explores these questions and more as he synthesizes the literature on teacher effectiveness. The result? A research-based framework for effective teaching that addresses: Professional knowledge Instructional planning Instructional delivery Assessment Learning environment Professionalism Stronge also examines characteristics of effective teachers of at-risk students and high-ability students. To bridge the gap between research and practice, he includes checklists of skills and positive qualities associated with effective teacher performance as well as red flags that indicate that teachers may not be reaching their full potential in the classroom. This resource is for any educator interested in improving teaching. It offers research-based advice for teachers who wish to improve their own performance, as well guidance for teacher leaders and supervisors, school administrators and department heads, staff development specialists, teacher and administrator educators, human resource specialists, and education policymakers and their staffs. Anyone who has a vested interest in students and their success can gain valuable insight and practical tools to ensure positive outcomes for all students. New to the 3rd edition: Introduction of the Framework for Effective Teaching and its six domains--professional knowledge; instructional planning; instructional delivery; assessment; learning environment; professionalism Chapter vignettes updated to illustrate the domains of the Framework for Effective Teaching Updated reference charts at the end of chapters, keyed to the subdomains of the Framework for Effective Teaching and expanded to include references for 21 century teachers Twenty-nine sidebars interspersed throughout chapters that provide state-of-the-art supplementary text on effective teaching practices and research findings Updated Teacher Skills Assessment Checklist, keyed to the domains of the Framework for Effective Teaching Updated Part 2 presents positive qualities and red flags associated with effective teachers, keyed to the domains of the Framework for Effective Teaching More than 1,000 entries in the References
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required)
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Better Than Carrots or Sticks by Dominique Smith; Douglas Fisher; Nancy Frey
Classroom management is traditionally a matter of encouraging good behavior and discouraging bad by doling out rewards and punishments. But studies show that when educators empower students to address and correct misbehavior among themselves, positive results are longer lasting and more wide reaching. In Better Than Carrots or Sticks longtime educators and best-selling authors Dominique Smith, Douglas Fisher, and Nancy Frey provide a practical blueprint for creating a cooperative and respectful classroom climate in which students and teachers work through behavioral issues together. After a comprehensive overview of the roots of the restorative practices movement in schools, the authors explain how to* Establish procedures and expectations for student behavior that encourage the development of positive interpersonal skills;* Develop a nonconfrontational rapport with even the most challenging students; and* Implement conflict resolution strategies that prioritize relationship building and mutual understanding over finger-pointing and retribution.Rewards and punishments may help to maintain order in the short term, but they're at best superficially effective and at worst counterproductive. This book will prepare teachers at all levels to ensure that their classrooms are welcoming, enriching, and constructive environments built on collective respect and focused on student achievement.
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required)
Publication Date: 2015-08-17