Florida Atlantic Authors & Artists

(Full Text)
K. N. Hoque, F. Presuel-Moreno, M. Nazim, "Accelerated Electromigration Approach to Evaluate Chloride-Induced Corrosion of Steel Rebar Embedded in Concrete," Advances in Materials Science and Engineering, 2023.

(full-text)
M. C. Kobold, P-PJ Beaujean, "Acoustic error approximation due to Gouy phase in the sea," AIP Advances, vol. 13, no. 7, 2023.

(full-text)
M.J. Lashaki, S. Kamravaei, Z. Hashisho, J.H. Phillips, D. Crompton, J.E. Anderson, M. Nichols, "Adsorption and Desorption of a Mixture of Volatile Organic Compounds: Impact of Activated Carbon Porosity," Separation and Purification Technology, vol. 314, p. 123530, 2023. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.seppur.2023.123530

(abstract)
V. Suthakaran, R. Thomas, M. Guirard, D. Meeroff, M.J. Lashaki, "Algae-Derived Activated Carbon Materials for Phosphorus Removal from Surface Waters," presented at the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Annual Meeting, Orlando, 2023.

(abstract)
B.Nutter, A.A. Hosseini, M.J. Lashaki, "Amine-Impregnated Mesoporous Silica Materials for Biogas Upgrading," presented at the AIChE Annual Meeting, Orlando, 2023.

(full-text)
D. Dieujuste, A. K. Alamouti, H. Xu, and E. Du, "Amplitude-Modulated Electrodeformation to Evaluate Mechanical Fatigue of Biological Cells," JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments), p. e65897, 2023.

E. Du and Y. Qiang, "Amplitude Shift Keying Modulated-Electrodeformation: Quantify Fatigue of Red Blood Cells due to Cyclic Stretching and Cyclic Hypoxia," in 2023 SEM Annual Conference and Exposition on Experimental and Applied Mechanics, Jun. 5, 2023, Orlando, FL, USA.

Y. Li, N. Challamel, and I. Elishakoff, "Analytical calculation of static deflection of biperiodic stepped Euler-Bernoulli beam," International Journal of Structural Stability and Dynamics, vol. 23, no. 16-18, article 234009, 2023.

(full-text)
X. Jin, Z. Huang, Y. Wang, Z. Huang, and I. Elishakoff, "Automatedly Distilling Canonical Equations from Random State Data," Journal of Applied Mechanics, vol. 90, paper 081007, 2023.

S. Carbone et al., "Behavior of a forest of NiFe nanowires in KOH and NaCl solution for water electrolysis," Electrochemica Acta, vol. 467, p. 143120, 2023.

(full-text)
 I. Goldstein, S. Alyas, W. Asghar, A. Ilyas, "Biosensors for Isolation and Detection of Circulating Tumor Cells (CTCs) in Point-of-Care Settings," Micromachines, vol. 13, no. 5, p. 540, 2023.

(full-text)
M. Rajkumar, S. Nagarajan, M. Arockiasamy, "Bridge Infrastructure Management System: Autoencoder Approach for Predicting Bridge Condition Ratings," ASCE Journal of Infrastructure Systems, vol. 29, no. 1, pp. 04022042, 2023. [Online]. Available: ASCE Library. https://doi.org/10.1061/JITSE4.ISENG-2123

(full-text)
I. Elishakoff, C. Chotpatthamanon, and J. N. Reddy, "Buckling of a column made of functionally graded material with high order polynomial mode shape," Mathematics and Mechanics of Solids, vol. 28, no. 8, pp. 1745-1759, 2023.

(full-text)
X.-X. Liu, L.-W. Bai, X.-M. Ren, B.-B. He, and I. Elishakoff, "Combined active learning Kriging with optimal saturation nonlinear vibration control for uncertain systems with both aleatory and epistemic uncertainties," International Journal of Non-Linear Mechanics, vol. 148, article 104267, 2023.

(full-text)
M. Strozzi, I. E. Elishakoff, M. Bochicchio, M. Cocconcelli, R. Rubini, E. Radi, "A comparison of shell theories for vibration analysis of single-walled carbon nanotubes based on an anisotropic elastic shell model," Nanomaterials, vol. 13, no. 8, article 1390, 2023.

(full-text)
M. M. V. Lizancos, L. Castillo, and O. M. Curet, "Composite mixture and system for aquatic construction and environmental protection and methods of use," U.S. Patent Application No. .

(full-text)
A.A. Hosseini, M.J. Lashaki, "A Comprehensive Evaluation of Amine-Impregnated Silica Materials for Direct Air Capture of Carbon Dioxide," Separation and Purification Technology, vol. 325, p. 124580, 2023. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.seppur.2023.124580

(full-text)
S. Ali Faghidian and I. Elishakoff, "A consistent approach to characterize random vibrations of nanobeams," Engineering Analysis with Boundary Elements, vol. 152, pp. 14-21, 2023.

(Full Text)
K. N. Hoque, F. Presuel-Moreno, M. Nazim, "Corrosion of carbon steel rebar in binary blended concrete with accelerated chloride transport," Journal of Infrastructure Preservation and Resilience, vol. 4, no. 1, p. 26, 2023.

(full-text)
G. Sklivanitis, E. A. Alwan, E. W. Burger, L. Beckwith, A. Madanayake, D. A. Pados, J. L. Volakis, J. A. Sanchez, U. Silva, Md K. Islam, R. Azarderakhsh, M. Muralkrishan, A. Hore and R. Rastogi, "Covert and quantum-safe tunneling of multi-band military-RF communication waveforms through non-cooperative 5G networks," in Proceedings IEEE MILCOM, Boston, MA, Oct. 30 – Nov. 3, 2023.

A. Zilouchian, A. Abtahi, and N. Romance, "Curriculum Development in Renewable Energy and Sustainability," in 2023 ASEE Annual Conference & Exposition, June 2023.

(full-text)
B. Alsharif, A. S. Altaher, A. Altaher, M. Ilyas, and E. Alalwany, "Deep Learning Technology to Recognize Sign Language Alphabet," Sensors, vol. 23, no. 7970, pp. 1-20, 2023.

S. Davidashvilly, M. Cardei, M.D. Hssayeni, C. Chi, B. Ghoraani, "Deep Neural Networks for Wearable Sensor-Based Activity Recognition in Parkinson's Disease: Investigating Generalizability and Model Complexity," Accepted in BioMedical Engineering OnLine, 2023.

A. Torabi, G. Sklivanitis, D. A. Pados, E. S. Bentley, J. Suprenant, and M. J. Medley, "Demo: Interference-avoiding RFSoC-based MIMO links," in Proceedings IEEE MILCOM, Boston, MA, Oct. 30 – Nov. 3, 2023.

W. Cheng, W. Cheng, Z. Ni, E. Engeberg, and X. Zhong, "Design of a Low-Cost Wireless Charging Station Based on the Robotic Vision System," in 2023 IEEE 20th International Conference on Smart Communities: Improving Quality of Life using AI, Robotics, and IoT (HONET), Boca Raton, USA; DOI: 10.1109/HONET59747.2023.10374567.

N. Wen, E. Qian, and Y. Kang, "Development and Characterization of laponite-enhanced tannic acid-based hydrogels," Materials Letter, vol. 339, p. 134116, 2023.

J. Laumeyer, H. Rhodes, W. Johnson, K. Wolf, M. Serrano, A. DePietro, A. Ahmed, J. VanZwieten, and Y. Tang, "Development and Testing of a Small WEC for Numerical Simulation Validation," in Proceedings of the 2023 UMERC Conference, Durham, NH, October 4-6, 2023.

(Full Text)
N. Ramnauth, E. Neubarth, A. Makler-Disatham, M. Sher, S. Soini, V. Merk, W. Asghar, "Development of a microfluidic device for exosome isolation in point-of-care settings," Sensors, vol. 23, no. 19, p. 8292, 2023, [Online]. Available: https://doi.org/10.3390/s23198292.

P. Ghazvini, C. Pena, A. Abraham, and M. Kim, "Dual-tracer laser-induced fluorescence thermometry for understanding bubble growth during nucleate boiling," in ASME Heat Transfer Conference, Washington DC, July 10-13, 2023.

M. Ghazvini and M. Kim, "Dual-Tracer Laser-Induced Fluorescence Thermometry for Understanding Bubble Growth during Nucleate Boiling," in American Society of Thermal Fluid Engineers 8th Thermal and Fluids Engineering Conference, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, March 26-29, 2023.

A. Abraham, M. Ghazvini, and M. Kim, "Dual-tracer laser-induced fluorescence thermometry for understanding bubble growth during nucleate boiling," in Florida Undergraduate Research Conference, FL, USA, 2023.

M. A. De Rosa, I. Elishakoff, A. Onorato, and M. Lippiello, "Dynamic analysis of a Timoshenko–Ehrenfest single-walled carbon nanotube in the presence of surface effects: The truncated theory," Applied Mechanics, vol. 4, pp. 1100-1113, 2023.

H. K. Lopez, A. Zilouchian, and A. Abtahi, "Dynamic Battery Type Detection Using Neural Networks," in 2023 IEEE 20th International Conference on Smart Communities: Improving Quality of Life using AI, Robotics and IoT (HONET), pp. 1-5, IEEE, December 2023.

(full text)
S. Naderi, D. A. Pados, G. Sklivanitis, E. S. Bentley, J. Suprenant, and M. J. Medley, "Dynamic interference-avoiding MIMO links," in Proceedings IEEE MILCOM, Boston, MA, Oct. 30 – Nov. 3, 2023, pp. 606-611.

(full-text)
R. Banerjee, S. O. Papkov, T. P. Vo, and I. Elishakoff, "Dynamic stiffness formulation for a micro beam using Timoshenko-Ehrenfest and modified couple stress theories with applications," Journal of Vibration and Control, vol. 29, no. 1-2, pp. 428-439, 2023.

(full-text)
Y. Li, N. Challamel, and I. Elishakoff, "Effective mass and effective stiffness of finite and infinite metamaterial lattices," Archive of Applied Mechanics, vol. 93, pp. 301-321, 2023.

(Full Text)
M. Lin, J. Doulgeris, U. K. Dhar, T. E. O’Corner, I. D. Papanastassiou, C. T. Tsai, and F. D. Vrionis, "Effect of graded posterior element and ligament removal on annulus stress and segmental stability in lumbar spine stenosis: A finite element analysis study," Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology, vol. 11.

C. Pena, A. Abraham, M. Ghazvini, and M. Kim, "The effect of surface orientation on local heat transfer mechanisms during bubble growth," in 13th Broward Student Research Symposium, FL, USA, 2023.

(full-text)
M. O. Ayanoglu, L. A. Carlsson, and E. Du, "Effects of void content on the moisture uptake and mechanical strength of a glass/epoxy composite," Journal of Composite Materials, vol. 57, no. 2, pp. 325-336, 2023.

(full-text)
W. Asghar, R. El Assal, and U. Demirci (Editors), "Emerging Technologies in Biophysical Sciences: A World Scientific Reference," vol. 2: "Emerging Technologies for Fertility," World Scientific Publishing Company, 2023.

(full-text)
Y. Alotaibi and M. Ilyas, "Ensemble-Learning Framework for Intrusion Detection to Enhance Internet of Things’ Devices Security," Sensors, vol. 23, no. 5568, pp. 1-20, 2023.

A. Makler, W. Asghar, "An exosomal miRNA biomarker for the detection of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma in patient plasma," in NanoFlorida International Conference, Orlando, FL, March 3-5, 2023.

(full-text)
  A. Makler, W. Asghar, "Exosomal miRNA Biomarker Panel for Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma Detection in Patient Plasma: A Pilot Study," International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2023.

M. Ghazvini et al., "Experimental study of bubble growth on novel fin structures during pool boiling," International Journal of Multiphase Flow, vol. 168, p. 104568, 2023.

I. Elishakoff and A. Dancygier, "An explicit solution to a game-theoretic bankruptcy problem," SN Business & Economics, vol. 3, no. 9, article 167, 2023.

(full-text)
J. Y. T. Chan, M.D. Hssayeni, T., Wilcox, B. Ghoraani, "Exploring the Feasibility of Tensor Decomposition for Analysis of fNIRS Signals: A Comparative Study with Grand Averaging Method," Frontiers in Neuroscience, vol. 17, p. 1180293, August 2023.

(full-text)
N. D. Anh, N. N. Linh, T. T. Long, N. C. Thang, A. T. Nguyen, and I. Elishakoff, "Extension of dual equivalent linearization to analysis of deterministic dynamic systems. Part 1: Single-parameter equivalent linearization," Nonlinear Dynamics, vol. 111, no. 2, pp. 997-1017, 2023.

(full-text)
M. Dao, Y. Qiang, E. Du, and S. Suresh, "Fatigue of Human Red Blood Cells in Health and Disease," in 15 International Conference on Fracture (ICF15), Jun. 11-16, 2023, Atlanta, GA, USA.

M. Lin, R. Paul, M. Abd, J. Jones, D. Dieujuste, H. Chim, and E. Engeberg, "Feeling the Beat: A Smart Hand Exoskeleton for Learning to Play Musical Instruments," Frontiers in Robotics and AI, vol. 10, 2023, [Online]. Available: https://doi.org/10.3389/frobt.2023.1212768.

L. Stawikowska and E. Engeberg, "Flexible Magnetic Skin Sensor Array for Torsion Perception," in 2023 Florida Conference on Recent Advances in Robotics, Tampa, USA; DOI: https://doi.org/10.5038/SWID5066.

(Full Text)
Y. Zhu, L. Xie, T. C. Su, "Flow Characteristics on the Leeside of a Geotextile Mattress with Floating Plate," Ocean Engineering, vol. 265, p. 112624.

H. Mahfuz, V. Lambert, and F. Clements, "Functional Nanocomposites in the Development of Flexible Armor," International Journal of Molecular Science, vol. 24, p. 5067, 2023, [Online]. Available: https://doi.org/10.3390/ijms24065067.

(full-text)
M. O. Ayanoglu, V. Saseendran, and L. A. Carlsson, "Geometrical imperfection sensitivity on in-plane compressive modulus and strength of honeycomb core and deviations from isotropy," Journal of Composite Materials, vol. 57, no. 24, pp. 3853-3864, 2023.

S. Fung, C. Nichols, E. Weinberg, Y. Tang, J. VanZwieten, and G. Alsenas, "Hardware-in-the-Loop Simulation of Ocean Current Turbines for Grid Integration," in Proceedings of the 2023 UMERC Conference, Durham, NH, October 4-6, 2023.

(full-text)
S. Yu, W. Asghar, "Home-Based Semen Analysis," in “Emerging Technologies in Biophysical Sciences: A World Scientific Reference”, vol. 2: "Emerging Technologies for Fertility," (Edited by W. Asghar, R. El Assal, U. Demirci), World Scientific Publishing, USA, 2023.

(abstract)
S. Seamone, O. Odeh, M. Porter, D. Syme, and O. Curet, "Hydrodynamic interactions between shape and substrate could provide a stabilizing effect in the vertical position of river stingrays," Bulletin of the American Physical Society.

(full-text)
S. Nagarajan, I. Srikanth, S. Khamaru, M. Arockiasamy, "Imaging and Laser Scanning–Based Noncontact Deflection Monitoring Technique for Timber Railroad Bridges," ASCE Practice Periodical on Structural Design and Construction, vol. 28, no. 1, pp. 04022072, 2023. [Online]. Available: ASCE Library. https://doi.org/10.1061/PPSCFX.SCENG-1188

(Full Text)
A. Hasankhani, Y. Tang, and J. VanZwieten, "Integrated Path Planning and Tracking Control through Proximal Policy Optimization, with Application to a Marine Current Turbine," Applied Ocean Research, vol. 137, pp. 103591, 2023, DOI: 10.1016/j.apor.2023.103591.

(Full Text)
J. Doulgeris, M. Lin, W. Lee, K. Aghayev, I. D. Papanastassiou, C. T. Tsai, and F. D. Vrionis, "Inter-Specimen Analysis of Diverse Finite Element Models of the Lumbar Spine," Bioengineering, vol. 11, no. 1, p. 24.

I. Elishakoff, M. Eisenberger, and A. Mercer, "Interesting Engineering Optimization Project Assignments in the Strength of Materials or Machine Design Courses," Optimization and Engineering, pp. 1-12, 2023.

I. Elishakoff and N. Yvain, "Interval quadratic equations: A review," Applied Math, vol. 3, pp. 909-956, 2023.

(Abstract)
E. Jagodinski, X. Zhu, and S. Verma, "Inverse identification of dynamically important regions in turbulent flows using three-dimensional convolutional neural networks," Physical Review Fluids, vol. 8, p. 094605, 2023, DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevFluids.8.094605.

(abstract)
A.A. Hosseini, M.J. Lashaki, "Investigating the Potential of Amine-Impregnated Mesoporous Silica Materials as an Alternative CO2 Adsorbent for Space Life Support Applications," presented at the AIChE Annual Meeting, Orlando, 2023.

(Full Text)
M. Dhanak, S. Verma, P. G. Hughes, A. L. Ching, A. Lo, C. Clay, et al., "The Laboratory Characterization of Fugitive Aerosol Emissions From a Standard Jet Nebulizer With and Without a Filtered Mouthpiece," Cureus, vol. 15, no. 12, 2023.

(Abstract)
S. Ma, L. Xie, T. C. Su, "Laboratory study on bearing behaviors of tripod caisson foundations subjected to eccentric lateral load in silty clay," Frontiers of Structural and Civil Engineering, April 2023, DOI: 10.1007/s11709-023-0933-6.

(full-text)
A. Torabi, G. Sklivanitis, D. A. Pados, E. S. Bentley, J. Suprenant, and M. J. Medley, "Last one standing: Building a wireless link that survives in challenging environments," in Proc. IEEE SoutheastCon, Orlando, FL, Apr. 13-16, 2023, pp. 670-676.

M. Sadoughipour, J. VanZwieten, Y. Tang, and L. Almeida, "Measurement-based global ocean current energy resource assessment," in Proceedings of the 2023 UMERC Conference, Durham, NH, October 4-6, 2023.

(full-text)
Method and apparatus for robust low-cost variable-precision self-localization with multi-element receivers in GPS-denied environments," D. A. Pados, G. Sklivanitis, and K. Tountas, U.S. Patent No. 11,719,780, August 8, 2023.

A. Ratanpara and M. Kim, "Microfluidic Analysis of Seawater-based Concrete Solution for Carbon Capture and Storage," in American Society of Thermal Fluid Engineers 8th Thermal and Fluids Engineering Conference, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, March 26-29, 2023.

(full-text)
S. Mazokha, F. Bao, G. Sklivanis, and J. O. Hallstrom, "MobLoc: CSI-Based Location Fingerprinting With MUSIC," in IEEE Journal of Indoor and Seamless Positioning and Navigation, vol. 1, pp. 231-241, 2023, doi: 10.1109/JISPIN.2023.3336609.

(Abstract)
S. Fung, Y. Tang, J. VanZwieten, and G. Alsenas, "Modeling and Real-Time Simulation of Ocean Current Turbines for Grid Integration," in Proceedings of the 2023 IEEE Power & Energy Society General Meeting (PESGM), Orlando, FL, July 16-20, 2023.

(full-text)
N. R. Silva, B. T. Rosson, "Modeling partially yielded regions of W-Shapes using a second-order stiffness reduction over the element length," presented at the Annual Stability Conference, Structural Stability Research Council North American Steel Construction Conference, Charlotte, North Carolina, April 2023.

(full-text)
R. Assis, G. Conant, B. Holland, D. A. Liberles, M. M. O’Reilly, A. E. Wilson, "Models for the retention of duplicate genes and their biological underpinnings," F1000Research, vol. 12, p. 1400, 2023.

(full-text)
S. O. Oseni, C. Naar, M. Pavlovic, W. Asghar, J. Hartmann, G. Fields, N. Esiobu, and J. Kumi-Diaka, "The molecular basis and clinical consequences of chronic inflammation in prostatic diseases: Prostatitis, benign prostate hyperplasia, and prostate cancer," Cancers, 2023.

(Full Text)
B. G. Duersch, S. A. Soini, Y. Luo, X. Liu, S. Chen, and V. Merk, "Multimodal Imaging of Nitrogen-fixing Cyanobacteria in the Near-native State," Microscopy and Microanalysis, vol. 29, no. 1, pp. 1953-1954, 2023, DOI: 10.1093/micmic/ozad067.1011.

(Full Text)
S. Soini, S. Feliciano, B. Duersch, V. Merk, "Nanocrystalline Iron Hydroxide Lignocellulose Filters for Arsenate Remediation," RSC Sustainability, 2023, [Online]. Available: https://doi.org/10.1039/D3SU00326D.

S. Wiskoff, A. Ratanpara, M. Kim, "Natural seawater for carbon capture and storage with waste concrete catalysts," in Florida Undergraduate Research Conference, FL, USA, 2023.

(Full Text)
M. Lin, R. Paul, X. Liao, J. Doulgeris, E. L. Menzer, U. K. Dhar, et al., "A New Method to Evaluate Pressure Distribution Using a 3D-Printed C2-C3 Cervical Spine Model with an Embedded Sensor Array," Sensors, vol. 23, no. 23, p. 9547, 2023.

J. Brennan, M. L. Lu, and Y. Kang, "A New Model of Esophageal Cancers by Using a Detergent Free Decellularized Matrix in a Perfusion Bioreactor," Bioengineering, vol. 10, no. 1, p. 96, 2023.

J. P. Marcheggiani and S. Glegg, "Noninvasive Measurement Methods for Transient Flows in Wind Tunnels," AIAA Journal, vol. 61, no. 5, pp. 2208-2216, 2023.

(full-text)
S. A. Faghidian, K. K. Żur, and I. Elishakoff, "Nonlinear flexure mechanics of mixture unified gradient nanobeams," Communications in Nonlinear Science and Numerical Simulation, vol. 117, article 106928, 2023.

N. Yvain and I. Elishakoff, "Novel Method to deal with interval quadratic equations via sign-variation analysis," Journal of Applied Mathematics and Physics, vol. 11, pp. 3212-3250, 2023.

(Full Text)
B. Ondes, C. Sultan, A. Hasankhani, J. VanZwieten, and N. Xiros, "Nu-Gap Metric Based Multi-Model Predictive Control of an Ocean Current Turbine System with Blade Pitch Failures," Ocean Engineering, vol. 278, p. 114201.

M. Hafez, M. Ghazvini, P. Mandin, and M. Kim, "Numerical investigation of three-dimensional flow over dual particles during settling," Powder Technology, vol. 426, p. 118617, 2023.

(Full Text)
D. Raja Somu, T. Cracchiolo, E. Longo, I. Greving, and V. Merk, "On stars and spikes: Resolving the skeletal morphology of planktonic Acantharia using synchrotron X-ray nanotomography and deep learning image segmentation," Acta Biomaterialia, vol. 159, pp. 74-82, 2023, DOI: 10.1016/j.actbio.2023.01.037.

M. Ghazvini et al., "Optimization of MLP neural network for modeling effects of electric fields on bubble growth in pool boiling," Heat and Mass Transfer, https://doi.org/10.1007/s00231-023-03434-z, 2023.

S. Fung, J. VanZwieten, Y. Tang, and T. Hong, "OTEC Resource Assessment of Gulf of Mexico and Surrounding Area," in Proceedings of the 2023 UMERC Conference, Durham, NH, October 4-6, 2023.

(Abstract)
R. Deshmukh, V. J. Shinde, and J. J. McNamara, "Parametric Analysis of Structural Response in the Presence of Shock Boundary Layer Interaction," in AIAA AVIATION 2023 Forum, 2023.

K. Ostapchuk, E. Bethke, M. Kim, "Particle-particle interaction and agglomeration characteristics during gravitational settling," in Florida Undergraduate Research Conference, FL, USA, 2023.

(abstract)
D. Pados, G. Sklivanis, K. Tountas, "Patent PCT US20220260663A1 Method and Apparatus for Robust Low-Cost Variable-Precision Self-localization with Multi-Element Receivers in GPS-denied Environments."

(full-text)
R. Saem Aldahr and M. Ilyas, "Patient-Specific Preictal Pattern-Aware Epileptic Seizure Prediction with Federated Learning," Sensors, vol. 23, no. 6578, pp. 1-34, 2023.

(full-text)
D. Liu, E. Kaisar, Y. Yang, P. Yan, "Physical Internet-enabled E-grocery Delivery Network: A Load-dependent Two-echelon Vehicle Routing Problem with Mixed Vehicles," International Journal of Production Economics, vol. 254, Article No. 108632, 2023. [Online]. Available: ScienceDirect. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijpe.2022.108632

A. Tavakoli, J. Hashemi, M. Najafian, and A. Ebrahimi, "Physics-based modelling and data-driven optimisation of a latent heat thermal energy storage system with corrugated fins," Renewable Energy, vol. 217, p. 119200, 2023.

(full-text)
M. A. Leavitt, W. Asghar, S. M. A. Iqbal, L. Acosta, I. Mahgoub, and S. Du, "Pilot Validation of a Flexible Wearable Belt with Integrated Sensors to Alert for Heart Failure Congestion: A Collaboration between Nursing and Engineering," in Southern Nursing Research Society, 37th Annual Conference, Orlando, FL, March 2, 2023.

(Full Text)
A. Nair, A. Kazemi, O. Curet, and S. Verma, "Porous cylinder arrays for optimal wake and drag characteristics," Journal of Fluid Mechanics, vol. 961, p. A18, 2023, DOI: 10.1017/jfm.2023.255.

(full-text)
E. Du, D. Dieujuste, J. Liu, and Y. Qiang, "Portable electrical impedance-based blood testing device for diagnosis and monitoring sickle cell disease," US Patent App. 18/118,277, 2023.

(Abstract)
B. Ondes, C. Sultan, and J. VanZwieten, "Power Generation Maximization Control Framework for Ocean Current Turbine Farms," in Proceedings of the ASME 2023 Energy Sustainability (ES2023), ES2023-106960, Washington DC, July 10-12, 2023.

H. Pimentel, A. McKinney, E. Henderson, J. Frankenfield, P. P. Beaujean, and M. Dhanak, "A Power Takeoff Device for a Small Marine Hydrokinetic Turbine Deployed from an Unmanned Floating Platform," in OCEANS 2023-MTS/IEEE US Gulf Coast, pp. 1-6, IEEE, September 2023.

(Full Text)
H. Hou, Q. Longyang, H. Su, R. Zeng, T. Xu, Z. H. Wang, "Prioritizing environmental determinants of urban heat islands: A machine learning study for major cities in China," International Journal of Applied Earth Observation and Geoinformation, vol. 122, p. 103411, 2023. [Online]. Available: ScienceDirect. DOI: [DOI Number]

E. De La Uz and V. Merk, "Provisional Patent: Chitin aerogels and mineralized aerogels derived from biomass," Attorney Docket No. 11605-053PV1.

R. Bachoo and I. Elishakoff, "Random vibrations of laminated planar frames," Journal of Sound and Vibration, vol. 562, article 117860, 2023.

(abstract)
Y. Qiang, D. Dieujuste, J. Liu, O. Alvarez, and E. Du, "Rapid electrical impedance detection of sickle cell vaso-occlusion in microfluidic device," Biomedical Microdevices, vol. 25, p. 23, 2023.

(Full Text)
A. Hasankhani, Y. Tang, and J. VanZwieten, "Reinforcement Learning for Underwater Spatiotemporal Path Planning, with Application to an Autonomous Marine Current Turbine," in Proceedings of the 2023 American Control Conference (ACC), San Diego, CA, USA, pp. 3715-3721, May 31-June 2, 2023.

(Full Text)
M. Lin, R. Paul, U. K. Dhar, J. Doulgeris, T. E. O’Connor, C. T. Tsai, and F. D. Vrionis, "A review of finite element modeling for anterior cervical discectomy and fusion," Asian Spine Journal, vol. 17, no. 5, p. 949, 2023.

(full-text)
R. Adams, Z. Cain, R. Assis, M. DeGiorgio, "Robust phylogenetic regression," Systematic Biology, doi:syad070, 2023.

(full-text)
S. Yildirim, K. Pelekanakis, G. Sklivanitis, D. A. Pados, P. Paglierani, R. Petroccia, J. Alves, F. Molfese, and F. Cuomo, "Secret underwater acoustic key generation challenged by Eve's simulator," IEEE Journal of Oceanic Engineering, pp. 1-18, Aug. 2023. doi: 10.1109/JOE.2023.3281978.

P. An, P. Beaujean, M. Dhanak, Z. Micallef, "Sensor Bias Error Estimation for Terrain-Aided Navigation using Low-Cost AUVs," in Proceedings of the OES/IEEE Oceans’ 2023, pp. 1-7, Limerick, Ireland, Jun. 5-8, 2023.

I. Andrianov and I. Elishakoff, "Shamrovskii’s version of the refined dynamical plate theory," in Mechanics of Heterogeneous Materials, H. Altenbach, G. Bruno, V. A. Eremeyev, M. Yu. Gutkin, W.H. Mueller, Eds., Berlin: Springer, 2023, pp. 23-33.

I. Elishakoff, B. Ducreux, and N. Yvain, "Sharp bounds for natural frequencies of beams with uncertain spring coefficients," AIAA Journal, vol. 61, no. 10, pp. 4623-4631, 2023.

(full text)
O. Matney, P. Wilmoth, S. Markowitz, C. Rieth, B. Gil, J. Hermans, G. Sklivanitis, and D. A. Pados, "Simulation and experimental evaluation of wireless remote controlled underwater vehicles" in Proc. 8th National Workshop for REU Research in Networking and Systems (REUNS 2023), Washington, DC, Oct. 23–26, 2023.

(full-text)
S. Mazokha, S. Naderi, G. Orfanidis, G. Sklivanitis, D. A. Pados, and J. Hallstrom, "Single-sample direction-of-arrival estimation for fast and robust 3D localization with real measurements from a massive MIMO system," in Proc. IEEE ICASSP 2023 (Intern. Conf. on Acoust., Speech, and Signal Proc.), Rhodes, Greece, June 4-10, 2023, pp. 1-5.

A. L. McKinney, H. Rienzo, H. Pimentel, J. Frankenfield, P. P. Beaujean, and M. Dhanak, "Site Selection for Field Testing of a Marine Hydrokinetic Turbine Platform to Serve as a Floating Unmanned Mobile Recharging Station for Aerial Drones," in Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), April 2023.

(full-text)
J. Hermans, G. N. Sklivanitis, and D. A. Pados, "SoC-based implementation of a multipath-resilient broadband OFDM system," in Proceedings Forum Acusticum, 10th Convention of European Acoustics Assoc., Torino, Italy, Sept. 11–15, 2023.

M. Awasthi, W. J. Devenport, and S. Glegg, "Sound radiated by three-dimensional discontinuities immersed in a turbulent boundary layer," Journal of Sound and Vibration, vol. 547, p. 117529, 2023.

(Full Text)
A. Hasankhani, Y. Tang, J. VanZwieten, and C. Sultan, "Spatiotemporal Optimization for Path Planning, with Application to an Ocean Current Turbine," IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology, vol. 31, no. 2, pp. 587-601, 2023, DOI: 10.1109/TCST.2022.3193637.

(Full Text)
H. Hou, H. Su, C. Yao, Z. H. Wang, "Spatiotemporal patterns of the impact of surface roughness and morphology on urban heat island," Sustainable Cities and Society, vol. 92, p. 104513, 2023. [Online]

(Full Text)
G. Dong, S. Chen, K. Liu, W. Wang, H. Hou, L. Gao, F. Zhang, H. Su, "Spatiotemporal variation in sensitivity of urban vegetation growth and greenness to vegetation water content: Evidence from Chinese megacities," Science of The Total Environment, vol. 905, p. 167090, 2023. [Online]. Available: ScienceDirect. DOI: [DOI Number]

(Full Text)
H. Koh, B. T. Rosson, H. B. Blum, "Stability analysis of stiffness reduction models on rotary- and non-rotary straightened W-shapes," Journal of Constructional Research, vol. 208, no. 1, pp. 108024, Sep. 2023. [Online].

(Full Text)
P. Murdy, S. Hughes, D. A. Miller, F. J. Presuel-Moreno, and G. T. Bonheyo, "Static and Fatigue Characterization of Large Composite T-Bolt Connections in Marine Hygrothermal Environments," Journal of Marine Science and Engineering, vol. 11, no. 12, p. 2309.

W. Q. Zhu, M. L. Deng, and G. Q. Cai, "Stochastic Averaging Method and its Applications," Volumes I and II, Scientific Publisher, Beijing (in Chinese), 2023.

(full-text)
H. Mahfuz, L. A. Carlsson, O. Masory, T. Langston, V. P. Correia, and T. Irons, "Structural modification of UHMWPE fiber through hybridization and CNT reinforcement for ballistic applications," Journal of Applied Polymer Science, vol. 57, no. 2, e54035, 2023.

(Full Text)
B. G. Duersch, Y. Luo, S. Chen, S. A. Soini, D. M. Raja Somu, V. Merk, "Synchrotron-based X-ray fluorescence microscopy mapping the ionome of a toxic freshwater cyanobacterium," Environmental Pollution, vol. 334, p. 121781, 2023, [Online].

(full-text)
W. Asghar, "System and Method for Sperm Selection from Semen Samples," Provisional Patent Application No. 63/515,174, July 24, 2023.

(abstract)
A. Faghidian and I. Elishakoff, "The tale of shear coefficients in Timoshenko-Ehrenfest beam theory: 130 years of progress," Meccanica, vol. 58, pp. 97-108, 2023.

K. Ostapchuk, M. Hafez, and M. Kim, "Three-Dimensional Investigation of Particle Agglomeration during Gravity Settling," in American Society of Thermal Fluid Engineers 8th Thermal and Fluids Engineering Conference, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, March 26-29, 2023.

A. Ratanpara et al., "Towards green carbon capture and storage using waste concrete based seawater: A microfluidic Approach," Journal of Environmental Management, vol. 345, p. 118760, 2023.

S. Glegg, "Turbulent boundary layer induced vibration of a rough panel," Journal of Sound and Vibration, vol. 545, p. 117444, 2023.

(full-text)
M. Uddin, G. Garcia, and O. Curet, "Underwater collision avoidance using undulating elongated fin propulsion," Ocean Engineering, vol. 285, 115335, 2023.

(full-text)
S. Lapardhaja, K. Yagantekin, M. Yang, T. A. Majumder, X. D. Kan, M. Badhrudeen. "Unlocking potential capacity benefits of electric vehicles (EVs) with adaptive cruise control (ACC)," in Transportmetrica B: Transport Dynamics. Vol 11, Issue 1, pp. 1894-1911. https://doi.org/10.1080/21680566.2023.2271668

(full-text)
G. Sklivanis, J. A. Sanchez Viloria, K. Tountas, D. A. Pados, E. S. Bentley, and M. J. Medley, "Unsupervised training dataset curation for deep-neural-net RF signal classification," in Proc. SPIE 12522, Big Data V: Learning, Analytics, and Applications, 125220C, 13 June 2023. [Online]. Available: https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2665151

(full-text)
R. Koszalinski, R. Tappen, B. Ghoraani, E. Viera, O. Marques, B. Furht. "Use of Sensors for Fall Prediction in Older Adults: A Scoping Review," Computers, Informatics, Nursing (CIN), August 2023.

D. Datta et al., "Using machine learning to identify patient characteristics to predict mortality of in-patients with COVID-19 in south Florida," Frontiers in Digital Health, vol. 5, p. 1193467, 2023.

I. Elishakoff, "Was Stephen Timoshenko Right about the Jewish Scientists in Germany?" ZAMM: Zeitschrift für angewandte Mathematik und Mechanik, vol. 103, article e202300341, 2023.

(full-text)
R. Thomas, M. Guirard, M.J. Lashaki, "Waste-Derived Activated Carbon Adsorbent Materials for Landfill Gas Purification," presented at AWMA 116th ACE, Orlando, 2023.

A. Ratanpara et al., "Wettability alteration mechanisms in enhanced oil recovery with surfactants and nanofluids: A review with microfluidic applications," Energies, vol. 16, no. 24, p. 8003, 2023.

Y. H. Alotaibi and M. Ilyas, "Enhancing IoT Attacks Detection Through Ensemble-Based Multiclass Attacks Classification," in IEEE 20th International Conference on Smart Communities: Improving Quality of Life Using AI, Robotics, and IoT (HONET 2023), Boca Raton, Florida, December 4-6, 2023.

M. Alanazi, B. Alsharif, A. S. Altaher, A. Altaher, and M. Ilyas, "Multi-Dataset Human Activity Recognition: Leveraging Fusion for Enhanced Performance," in IEEE 20th International Conference on Smart Communities: Improving Quality of Life Using AI, Robotics, and IoT (HONET 2023), Boca Raton, Florida, December 4-6, 2023.

B. Alsharif, M. Alanazi, and M. Ilyas, "Machine Learning Technology to Recognize American Sign Language Alphabet," in IEEE 20th International Conference on Smart Communities: Improving Quality of Life Using AI, Robotics, and IoT (HONET 2023), Boca Raton, Florida, December 4-6, 2023.

B. Alsharif, M. Alanazi, A. S. Altaher, A. Altaher, and M. Ilyas, "Deep Learning Technology to Recognize Sign Language Alphabet Using Multi-Focus Image Fusion Technique," in IEEE 20th International Conference on Smart Communities: Improving Quality of Life Using AI, Robotics, and IoT (HONET 2023), Boca Raton, Florida, December 4-6, 2023.

A. Alqahtani and M. Ilyas, "Using Deep Learning LSTM and CNN with Word Embedding for the Detection of Offensive Text on Twitter," in Proceedings of the 14th International Conference on Society and Information Technologies (ICSIT 2023), Orlando, Florida, March 28-31, 2023.

T. Alsolami, G. Balhareth, and M. Ilyas, "Survey of Security in IoT in eHealthcare," in Proceedings of the 14th International Multi-conference Complexity, Informatics, and Cybernetics (IMCIC 2023), Orlando, Florida, March 28-31, 2023.

G. Balhareth, T. Alsolami, and M. Ilyas, "IoT Big Data Privacy Using Blockchain Technology: A Survey," in Proceedings of the 14th International Conference on Society and Information Technologies (ICSIT 2023), Orlando, Florida, March 28-31, 2023.

A. Alrefaei, Y. Alotaibi, and M. Ilyas, "Detection Techniques on the Internet of Things (IoT): A Survey of Current Challenges and Open Issues," in Proceedings of the 14th International Multi-conference Complexity, Informatics, and Cybernetics (IMCIC 2023), Orlando, Florida, March 28-31, 2023.

S. Mazokha, F. Bao, G. Sklivanis, and J. O. Hallstrom, "MobLoc: CSI-Based Location Fingerprinting With MUSIC," in IEEE Journal of Indoor and Seamless Positioning and Navigation, vol. 1, pp. 231-241, 2023, doi: 10.1109/JISPIN.2023.3336609.

S. Naderi, D. A. Pados, G. Sklivanis, E. S. Bentley, J. Suprenant, and M. J. Medley, "Dynamic Interference-Avoiding MIMO Links," in MILCOM 2023 - 2023 IEEE Military Communications Conference (MILCOM), Boston, MA, USA, 2023, pp. 827-832, doi: 10.1109/MILCOM58377.2023.10356343.

E. Alwan et al., "Covert and Quantum-Safe Tunneling of Multi-Band Military-RF Communication Waveforms Through Non-Cooperative 5G Networks," in MILCOM 2023 - 2023 IEEE Military Communications Conference (MILCOM), Boston, MA, USA, 2023, pp. 83-88, doi: 10.1109/MILCOM58377.2023.10356300.

A. Torabi, G. Sklivanis, D. A. Pados, E. S. Bentley, J. Suprenant, and M. J. Medley, "Interference-Avoiding RFSoC-based MIMO Links," in MILCOM 2023 - 2023 IEEE Military Communications Conference (MILCOM), Boston, MA

154. O. Matney, P. Wilmoth, S. Markowitz, C. Rieth, B. Gil, J. Hermans, G. Sklivanis, and D. A. Pados, "Poster: Simulation and Experimental Evaluation of Wireless Remote Controlled Underwater Vehicles," in Proceedings of the Twentyfourth International Symposium on Theory, Algorithmic Foundations, and Protocol Design for Mobile Networks and Mobile Computing (MobiHoc '23), Association for Computing Machinery, New York, NY, USA, 2023, pp. 595–597. [Online]. Available: https://doi.org/10.1145/3565287.3617988

(full text)
M. Ilyas, "Smart Cities: Challenges and Opportunities," The Journal of Systemics, Cybernetics, and Informatics, vol. 21, no. 4, pp. 1-6, 2023.